Some Advice Please?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Can I get someone to look at Rusty's spreadsheet and tell me what you think? I am still pretty new at this, and am still trying to figure out what really affects his BG levels. A few times over the past few days his BG was below 200, so we didnt give him a shot. He has never went hypo, and I don't want him to. I will update the sheet when I get home, because I havent updated since Saturday.
I am also looking into ordering him the methyl B, he is not completely walking down on his hocks, but he is about halfway to it, or should I wait to see if it improves on its own, since his BG#s seem to be improving?
 
Hi,

Have you considered lowering the dose so you can shoot morning and evening? He's getting good duration but he still goes high when you have to skip a shot so, maybe he will be flatter if you can give less twice per day. This might allow him to stay in the better numbers longer.

It's just a thought :)

Best,
Pam & Layla
 
Hi Michele,

I agree with Pam. You are getting a great response from PZI. Ideally, you want a dose that you can give in the morning and evening. Every time you skip, you run the risk of a high amps. I would reduce to .5 in the am and pm for a few days to see what that will do. Be sure to get the nadir (midcycle) numbers as often as possible so you can see how it is working.

I would be very encouraged with his numbers, Michele. I think you just need a little tweaking downward.
 
Hi Michelle,

I totally agree with Pam and Sue on reducing the dose and was going to also suggest shooting 0.5u bid.

If you are using the U40 syringes, it's exactly halfway between the 0 line and the 1u line - you will have to eyeball it as IIRC there are no U40s with 1/2u markings.

If you are using the U100 3/10 syringes with the 1/2 unit marks and the U40 to U100 conversion table, a 0.5u dose would be measured as halfway between the 1.0u and 1.5u lines.
 
I agree with the others on trying a lower dose for a few days and seeing where that takes you. There are a couple in the PZI forum doing smaller (sometimes called micro) doses with good results.
 
Thanks everyone, this morning's number was 141, do I still need to give him .5 unit? I am about to leave for work, so I wont be here to keep an eye on him, that is the reason that I cant get the midcycle #s also.
He is running and playing this morning with his brother and sister. So I know that he feels good!
 
I don't think I would give him any insulin. I know we said not to skip shots, but if you aren't going to be around...

Even if you get a highish number tonight - which is likely after 24 hours without insulin, I would try the .5 units..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top