Socks PMPS 515

Status
Not open for further replies.

damacha

Member Since 2013
I am going to try as close to 1.25 as I can with Mary's tip from the other day. He had an ugly day today, staying in the reds as far as I know.
 
I would probably be able to Mon-Thur, but definitely not Fri-Sun. But I don't think I am fully understanding the concept. Using tonight as an example, I would test him to find out when his numbers start to rise again and then shoot a low amount, testing again to see when the numbers start to rise and shoot again? So, if he goes down to under 200 at +6 tonight, then heads back up at +8, then I shoot .25-.5? And repeat the process? Essentially doing nothing else but testing and shooting? lol.
 
Not quite. You'd wait through the regular 12 hour cycle. (it is not about shooting early at all). If ,after 12 hours, he is lower than 200 and you can't safely shoot, you monitor until he is over 200 and then shoot a small amount like the .25. It's a way to catch him after his pancreas quits and he starts climbing; it's a way to avoid skipping for a whole cycle when you get a preshot under 200. So those evenings when he was too low to shoot at pmps, it's a way for you to get some insulin in at some point and not having to skip completely.

Does that make sense? I don't think i am explaining it very well.
 
Okay, yeah I think I get it now. So say tonight, if he didn't go above 200 until +14, then I would shoot a small amount and adjust the next shot time to 12 hours from that. I could probably handle that during the week.

Also, I hope I am not doing any harm by injecting the insulin back in the vial while trying to get air bubbles out, I think I have read that you aren't supposed to do that with some. But I ALWAYS get these freaking air bubbles and they are a pain to get out. No amount of tapping on the syringe will make them go away.
 
Yes. Looking on your spreadsheet, see the pmps on 5/4 of 107. If you could have monitored and when he went over 200, shot a tiny amount, you could have avoided skipping for that whole cycle. Yes, the next preshot has to be 12 hours from that new time, but the hope is that you would be shooting much farther apart than 12/12 and that it wouldn't last long.

You can squirt the insulin out in the sink instead of back in the vial. Also, here's a thread with other ideas to get rid of bubbles:

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?p=382751
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top