Socks pmps 515, +1.5 432, +4 189, +5 134, +6 128, +8 76

Status
Not open for further replies.

damacha

Member
This cat is killing me, if he doesn't start to go back up soon I'm going to go crazy. I just want to go to sleep so bad :sad:. I wonder if I should have just gone with 1 unit instead of 1.25.

He's going a bit lower than I feel comfortable with. I would probably feel a bit more comfortable if his numbers were a little more consistent, but he's been all over the place, so I don't know if he's going to keep going down or he has peaked.

I'll be checking again in half an hour for +9, and see where to go from there.
 
44 @ +9.5

Fed some Friskies 16% carb and he's chowing down on it right now.

Starting to get a bit worried, he isn't acting abnormal though.

Going to post in Health for more views since it's so early.
 
Wow! You had a night. Great job feeding that low number and getting him back up again without syrup or high carbs. He is not likely to jump back up from the 80 super fast. Can you take a break for a couple hours?

A hard night, but it gives us great info. He drops with the 1.25 over 400 points so we will asumme his pancreas kicks in. Now what to do about that. Yea, it'd be nice if you could catch the point when he is over 200, but it "should" be at least a few hours
 
Whew! Hard night for you; hope you're getting some sleep.

Good job handling the low numbers.

Data is helpful:
With ps of 515, he dropped 462 points. Makes me think some of those red & black pre-shots could be counter-regulatory hormones kicking in to keep him from hypo. To me, this suggests a "less is more" scenario - lower amounts of insulin.

Actually, looking over the spreadsheet and taking that kind of drop into consideration, I'm wondering if much smaller doses might help level him out.

For ProZinc, if you use U-100 syringes and a conversion chart, you can dose as small as 0.2 units. The formula is U-100 syringe marking * U-40 concentration of 0.4 = U-40 dose
 
I think it's worth a try, BJ. We tried on 5/5, giving .5 units on a pink at pmps. He jumped back up to the blacks. But maybe we should try for a few cycles.

I was suggesting she try to " chase" the numbers on these long cycles when the pancreas seems to kick in and then shoot less once he reaches 200. But her schedule makes that difficult.
 
Well i got a few hours of sleep waking up in between to get some tests in to catch his numbers rising, think i waited a bit long but he isn't super high. I just have him .5 units for 335 @ +16.5 from yesterday's pm shot. Hope you guys think that is a good dose.

I'll have to talk to the very to get some u-100's since I need a prescription, I mentioned them last time but she just explained to me that it doesn't work for my insulin, but I'll take the conversion chart with me next time.

Any suggestions on dosing? I definitely don't want to give 1.25 again, maybe even thinking of as close to. 75 as I can get.

I don't want to have to go through that again any time soon, lol.
 
I like trying the lower dose for a few cycles and see what happens. It didn't work that well the one time we tried it, but that was just one time and he might still be reacting to a number in the earlier dose. BJ likes that idea and I am happy to go for it. If you can't do .75 easily, go with .5

One other thing. How about instead of feeding him often (we have tried that and gotten no great results) maybe at preshot and then around that 5-7 mark? Or if you want, make the dose change first and then make this change after a few more cycles so you can isolate the one change at a time.

I have no magic here (unfortunately) I thought the low numbers were his pancreas but maybe he is reacting to a high dose and bouncing. The only way I know to do this dance is to try something and if it doesn't work, try something else. He doesn't seem to bounce like we see in other cats - he has a long cycle and then jumps right back up. That being his pattern, maybe it is not his pancreas jumping in. Maybe the dose is too high.

We will see how chasing the dose worked since you did that today. Maybe the .5 will keep him in good numbers for a while. Let's see.
 
Yikes! Sorry you had to do such fancy dancing last night.

I don't think that you are going to see any true results from today's dose, I suspect with the huge drop Socks had that you will be dealing with a bounce for the next few cycles, so hold steady, the bounce will clear and then we can see how chasing the numbers is working.

I agree with lowering the dose but I think we should wait until the bounce clears to determine what dose.

Good job last night. :-D
 
Do you guys think it's time to take him to a specialist? I was hoping he would show some better numbers, but he doesn't seem to be cooperating much. Or should I just try him at .75 units for a few cycles and see where he goes from there? Also, how many cycles should it take with a lower dose before we see if it's helping?
 
That didn't come out the way I meant to say it.

I agree with the .5 unit dose.

The dose we should wait and see about is the dose after the bounce clears a dose probably lower than .5u. Sorry if I confused you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top