Socks 5/11 AMPS 236

Status
Not open for further replies.

damacha

Member Since 2013
Well, since I'm headed out for a ten hour shift, I'm just going to shoot .25. Hopefully it's better than nothing.

Gave .75 12 hours ago.

How long does it take for food to start making a difference in numbers? He is such a wiggle worm when he's hungry.
 
Food can take 30 minutes to start having an effect on the BG numbers.

Think of treating for a hypo and feeding high carb food and karo syrup. Then people are advised to retest in 30 minutes, because that is how long it takes to see some food effect.
 
Yeah, I was just about to ask you guys the same thing. I guess I should go back up to 1 unit. It seems like I'm going in circles.

I have not had a chance to test for ketones, and I know I should, but I haven't been able to catch him in or near the act.

I will go back up to 1 unit as soon as I have a chance to monitor him, which would probably be Sunday, possibly Monday. I just don't know where to go from there, as 1.25 units is clearly too much.
 
I'd hold the dose at one unit for 3 cycles and try very hard to get a midcycle number in the daytime. (I know you got messed up last night,but when you get back on track.)It doesn't look like he is bouncing, but sure would like to have that possibility eliminated before you increase again. If he is still high, I' d go back up to 1.25.

Things change. Because it gave you low numbers before doesn't necessarily mean it will again. I think it very important that you get him out of the reds and blacks.

You are getting regular ketone tests?
 
I tested him for ketones yesterday, was negative. I try to test whenever I can, but sometimes he sneaks off to use the litter box and I don't catch him in time.

I was just looking back at my SS and I was giving him 2 units for a while, I was thinking the highest I went was 1.25 when he almost went hypo. Which makes me wonder why that happened when he never really went very low on the 2 unit doses.

I just tested him at +3.5 from his pm shot (which was a few hours late to get back onto schedule) and he's gone from 475 pmps to 505. Looking at his SS that seems to be a trend recently, how long is it supposed to take for the numbers to start going down after the shot?
 
damacha said:
...I was just looking back at my SS and I was giving him 2 units for a while, I was thinking the highest I went was 1.25 when he almost went hypo. Which makes me wonder why that happened when he never really went very low on the 2 unit doses....

If the 2 units dropped him fast at any point, or brought him down much lower than he was accustomed, compensatory hormones may have kicked into gear and dumped stored sugar into the body.
 
Better amps this morning. Maybe he is settling into this dose.

Re the ketones. You can put some saran wrap in his litter box in the area where he usually goes. Then he may get some urine on it and you can test from there.
 
These numbers are just so weird lately. I'm wondering if maybe he's been getting a lot of fur shots, but I check for wetness and haven't noticed any, even smelled him the other day, lol. My technique hasn't really changed either.

Maybe it's the insulin? I may have left it out for a second time a week or so ago. It was cold though, so I wasn't quite sure. He has been having some ugly numbers for a while though, even before I may have left it out.

I don't have any dry food out, but he does go back to his unfinished portions of canned food I give him throughout the day. But he gets Wellness Turkey which should be like 4% carbs or something like that.

I've thought about switching to raw food, but both the cats throw up occasionally, with the other one being a gorge-as-fast-as-I-can-then-throw-it-all-up eater, so I was thinking cleaning raw food puke off carpet might be kind of a nightmare.

I would say there aren't any stresses, other than testing and shooting, that would influence his numbers, no kids or strange people staying over. His daily routine is pretty much as it always is.

The 5 P's seem normal, and he isn't drinking unusually heavily, his coat is nice and shiny and soft, and he hasn't lost or gained much weight, other than a minor fluctuation. So from the outside he seems to be pretty healthy and in good shape.

The other cat makes the testing for ketones a bit more difficult as well. I wouldn't be able to know who it was I was testing if I left saran wrap on the litter.

+7 today and he is pretty much at his amps number.

If he wasn't getting insulin, or the insulin was ineffective due to it being left out, would he have any of these <400 numbers or would he stay at >500 or is it hard to say?

Okay sorry, that was kind of long-winded.
 
Well, I like your amps better - the first non red/black in a while. It's impossible to tell whether he was lower at +5/6. So hard to be sure it is flat.

Re the insulin, i don't know. In general, people figure they have bad insulin if the numbers look worse.

I'd give him at least one more cycle at this dose, getting numbers whenever you can,
 
pmps 354, so doesn't seem to have gone up much from +7, just gave him 1 unit and will do every 2 or 3 tests today.

On a somewhat related note, as I was getting the air bubbles out, the needle slipped from my hand and landed in me so I may have just gotten a dose of my own medicine you could say. Guess I'll use it as an excuse to go out and buy a bunch of candy bars, lol. And I'm going to be checking my BG along with his tonight haha.
 
Always nice to have a reason for extra chocolate!

Nice that he surfed all day and didn't get an ugly number for pmps. Hopefully as he settles in, the numbers will improve.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top