So stressed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sammysmom

Member Since 2013
I have tried to set up a spreadsheet but have had trouble but let me explain my problem because I am completely freaked out. We ran a full glucose curve yesterday after giving .5 units of prozinc for the first time in about four weeks after getting normal numbers. His numbers never went below 200 yesterday and lowest was 221 +9. Today gave the same .5 unit dose as he was 375 pre shot. + 3 was 209 and +4 was 158. I'm so scared I gave him some food but his numbers are dropping so fast and I have karo syrup ready but I'm really scared.
 
If you want to send me a pm, I can help you set up your spreadsheet. (Look for the PM button at the bottom of this post. Write your message and choose Submit(

158 is a good number and still high enough for a +4. Check again at +6 and see if he is heading further down. We really do not worry until you see a 40-50. Even if he goes into that range, your first response is just to feed him some regular low carb food and test again in 20 minutes to see if he is headed up a bit.

Scary to see a good number after you have seen 300s and 400s, isn't it? He is responding well to a little bit of insulin and both of you are doing great. Take a breath and do a little celebrating for a nice number. Then print off the Hypo information at the top of this page, just in case you need it sometime.
 
Don't be scared! 158 is a beautiful number. All you need to do is get a +5 test, and see if he continues to drop lower. The food you just gave will slow things down. Hold off on the karo.
Carl
 
Thank you I am just worried that he is dropping much more quickly than yesterday and yesterday at +9 was the lowest number and so i was worried that if he continued to drop this quickly until then we would be in big trouble
 
<iframe src="https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BySsgsKUwAIOd0t1VUtvcWRrMVk/preview" width="640" height="480"></iframe>

I am not sure if this worked but here is the spreadsheet link for Sammy. It is missing the number I just got now though +5 134. Did I do this correctly?
 
checking


Almost - you need to publish it to the web and share it with others.

How to code it for display, minus the extra spaces.
[ Url = weblink] text to display [/ url ]
 
ok I think i got it! but just as a little background, Sammy had a urethral blockage in the midde of january and had to be hospitalized. While he was there they could not get him to eat so they started giving him 1 unit (instead of the 2 we were giving him) twice a day. When Sammy came home he was still eating very little so we continued with the one unit twice a day. Suddenly, the day I tested him (first day on this spreadheet) he was look lathargic and we had a number of days with lowish numbers. When we started getting higher numbers again the vet told us we needed to try .5 unit of insulin but not until we could monitor him all day. Which was yesterday. She said not to give any insulin in the evening since we would not be able to stay up all night to watch. I would love advice or suggestions from you all, I know his numbers are wonky. Thanks,

Angie
 
Great job on the spreadsheet!! Nice numbers today too..
So... Can you now start posting in the lantus tight regulation forum? http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9. This will get far more eyes on your spreadsheet and more advice.

Also I am thinking if you test an hour before shot time and if its under 200 then let that forum know ( put "newbie 1st time shooting low?" in your subject line) and they can help advise and help you decide what to do next.
Wendy
 
Spreadsheet works and Sammy's numbers look very nice! If he were mine, I would continue with the .5 for a few more cycles to see if he settles in and his numbers gradually go down a little more. For reference, you are looking for a smile curve with ProZinc. To be considered regulated, he would be in the 200s+ at preshot and go down to double digits at nadir (but not below 40) So he is close to that. We call a cat in remission when they range from 40-120 (without insulin) for 2 weeks, with the majority of the time in double digits.

The most important numbers are preshots (to be sure it is safe to give the dose you are considering) and nadir (the lowest point of the cycle - usually around +6) which tells you how low the insulin took him and how well the dose is working. The rest of the tests are good data but not imperative. I personally think staying up all night to watch him is a bit much. Getting a test right before bed to be sure he is not going down rapidly and setting the alarm around that +6 time is plenty of monitoring, IMHO.

Wendy, Sammy is on ProZinc, not Lantus.
 
So would you give the .5 dose in the pm if numbers were in the 200s? Or just continue to trial the once a day with just the am dose?
 
I have to admit that I didn't notice you were dosing in the am only. I was thinking you were giving .5 2X day. It would certainly be better to dose twice a day. The problem with ProZinc once daily is that it only lasts about 12 hours, and then he is higher the second 12 hours. So you dose in the am, he does okay during the day, skip at night and he is higher during the night and higher the next am. He didn't go too low today; he stayed in very nice safe numbers.

You have a couple choices. You could split your dose and give .25 twice daily. (You have to eyeball half of the .5 which isn't easy. Lots of PZI members use U100 needles and a conversion chart: Conversion chart Then you can give smaller doses like .1, .2, .4 units. Ideally, it would give him enough insulin overnight to give you an amps of +200, rather than the 300+ you are getting. You could give the .5 twice daily, but it is a little scarier, especially that first dose overnight. (It's harder to monitor at night, though I still thinking staying up all night is overkill.) He should be fine as he didn't go too low today, but since it's early days with the insulin, I would be reluctant to try that until you have some more data. If you give the .25 twice daily for a few cycles and he is higher than you would like, you can always increase by .25 to .5

How about coming over to the PZI forum and geting some advice there? There aren't as many people as here on Health, but everyone uses or has used your insulin. Here is the site: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=24 Just go up to the top of your post and copy the url. Then start a new topic on PZI with a title something like "dosing advice needed" In the box, paste the url from here. That will get everyone up to date on your post.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top