so many questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelsi Rae

Member Since 2019
Maddie's diabetes diagnosis is getting overwhelming. We were diagnosed last week and switched her over to Fancy Feast Pates. While it's cheaper than the diabetic purina food, it's still costing us a lot more than we're used to. Is Friskies ok? And would switching her from Fancy Feast to Friskies affect her blood sugar?

I'm also wanting to start home testing and her vet recommended the Alfatrak 2. When I asked about human meters she said she doesn't recommend them because they can give false readings and read too low...but 50 dollars for 50 test strips isn't something that I think I'm going to be able to afford, depending on how often we're going to need to test her. So between the food and the home testing I'm already feeling the financial drain...and we haven't even started insulin yet.

I could use some advice and encouragement. Are Friskies and a human meter ok? I'm torn between wanting to do what's best for my girl and needing to stay within my financial means, and it's breaking my heart.
 
We feed a variety of low-carb wet food, including Friskies; I've done a price comparison, and Friskies classic pates are both low in carbs and by far the most economical at around $0.11 per ounce. The next least expensive is Fancy Feast, coming in at around $0.21 per ounce. So yes, if you can't afford Fancy Feast, you can get by on Friskies. The important thing is that you feed low-carb wet food.

As far as the meters, a lot of people here use human meters; I didn't see where you're from, but in the US, the Relion meter from WalMart is the least expensive, and the test strips are actually affordable.
 
Hi and good morning Kelsi Rae. Yes, Friskies pates are fine, just no varieties with sauces or gravies. Check the food chart here to review the flavors and the carb content: FOOD CHART
When we first arrived here and found the food chart, I downloaded the PDF file to my Kindle Fire, then took it to the store with me so that I was certain to get the correct varieties. I checked both brands again, and it seems the FF carb content may be a little bit lower than the Friskies, but not enough that I would be concerned with. They are all below 7% carb.

Regarding the meter question, many of us do use a human meter, just for the reason you state: the cost of strips. You can find the Relion Prime at Walmart, very affordable meter and strips. It does take a larger blood sample however, than the previous Relion Confirm or Micro that many of us used for the smaller blood sample needed. Those models were phased out at Walmart. The Relion Confirm was manufactured by Arkray, and Walmart just put their brand on it. You can get that meter and strips from adwdiabetes.com, it is the Arkray Glucocard01, but you would have to be vigilant about having enough strips on hand, ordering online before you run out.
Some members have tried the new Walmart Premier BLU model, but I haven't really seen that they have been pleased with it so far. Others do use the AlphaTrak2 but buy Freestyle Lite strips at a lower cost and are very happy with the results. @JanetNJ has done a comparison between the AT strips and the Freestyle strips and they are remarkably close.
For right now, it might be best just to get the Relion Prime, so that you can begin testing as soon as possible. Changing the diet can lower the BG and you need to know by just how much to keep kitty safe. Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets, some cotton balls to back the ear when poking and some Neosporin or Equate pain relieving ointment (not cream) to rub on the ear after the test. A treat for a reward is a must, successful test or not. A little chunk of boiled or baked chicken breast might be an option for you.
Start now conditioning kitty for testing, choose a testing station that is comfortable for both of you, with good light. Take kitty there, rub the ears, and give a treat. Do this as often as you can.
Review the testing tips HERE There are also lots of videos on YouTube and @JanetNJ has an excellent video in her signature.
I know it's overwhelming, there is so much to read and learn, but I assure you, this is manageable. You are not alone in this new venture, we are here to help.
 
Hi and welcome
If you do get a alpha trac the freestyle strips made by abbot are very similar and eBay is a good source -
just my 2 cents:cat:
 
Thank you all!

I bought the Relion Prime and she tested at 210. Last week when they tested her at the vet her BG was 237 so it seems to be pretty close, unless her numbers have changed over the course of the week. Does it matter what time I test? Or how often? We aren't on insulin yet, I'm going to take her back in soon, hopefully this week.
 
Until you start insulin, there's no real need to test, but it's a good time to practice. You might want to start thinking now about when you'll be administering the insulin - generally this is 12 hour intervals, e.g., 8 AM and 8 PM. That's when you'll be testing her once she starts on insulin - just before she gets her shots.

Once she starts on insulin, in addition to the pre-shot tests, you should plan to test her a few times in between shots, for a couple of reasons - 1) to make sure her BG numbers aren't dropping too low, and 2) to get a good sense of when her nadir occurs (that is, when her BG is the lowest). For the longer-acting insulins like Lantus, this is usually quite consistent, and you'll learn to test her around that point if at all possible.
 
I'm glad you bought the human meter. Our protocols are based on human meter readings.. your vet is incorrect saying they give false readings.....on the whole they are very reliable and are as reliable as pet meters.
I think it is a good idea to test each day until you start the insulin to get an idea how Maddie is going with the switch to low carb food. Test at different times of the day to get an overall idea of how she is going. One thing I would do once or twice over the next week is test before you feed in the morning....then feed.....then two or three hours later test again. If the BSL is lower than the earlier one, the pancreas is trying to do its job..
I would not wait a month either to begin the insulin if the reading are above normal which are 50 to 120 with a human meter or approx 68 to 150 on a pet meter. Hopefully your vet will prescribe one of the long acting insulins such as Lantus, levemir or prozinc.
Keep asking questions.
Bron
 
Thank you all!

I bought the Relion Prime and she tested at 210. Last week when they tested her at the vet her BG was 237 so it seems to be pretty close, unless her numbers have changed over the course of the week. Does it matter what time I test? Or how often? We aren't on insulin yet, I'm going to take her back in soon, hopefully this week.
Great job learning to test
 
28ecb8dd.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top