Danica20
Member Since 2014
First I apologize for the upcoming rant. I need to unload on some people who will understand and I feel this is the right place to do it.
First off Pinky has been going through a diet change (which was not recommended by my vet) and her progress has been great! Her numbers are steadily decreasing and today was her first day on all wet food. Her number at her AM nadir today was 299. A week ago she was testing at well over 400.
Today she had a vet appointment. I brought her spreadsheet and I had some questions about her insulin. First we waited over a half and hour in the waiting room. Pinky gets stressed by dogs so I'm sure that did not help her glucose numbers. So finally we get to see someone. First it was a vet tech who asked about her diet. We said we were switching her to an all wet food diet. The vet tech said "that's good." This is the same practice that said over a week ago that a diet change "wasn't necessary" and could change her diet "if we wanted to." Frustration level rising.
The the vet comes it. She tested 329 there. Which makes sense. It was 6 hours after her shot and she's on novlin, which from everything I read only lasts around 8 hours in cats. She would be on the upswing of her curve at that time. Is this right or am I mistaken? So the vet tells us to increase her dosage by a 1/2 unit. It was there I brought out the spreadsheet and explained we were doing a diet change. I also inquired about other insulin's because I had researched online that novlin only works for 8 hours in cats, so there is 4 hours where she is unregulated. It was there we got the smirk. The vet claimed that "all of there animals here are on novlin" and that he's never heard that it only lasts 8 hours it cats. I asked about Lantus, PZI, and Levemir by name. He said he's never heard of Levemir, Lantus is no longer available and PZI is expensive. I told them cost is not an issue, I want what is best for Pinky. So at this point my frustration level in through the roof. I tried to explain to him my spreadsheet but I don't think he quite understood. It was the end of the day, we were the last appointment and I felt we were being rushed out. He then said he'd discuss this with the other vet we saw and have us call the other vet on Monday. He reiterated to up her insulin a 1/2 dose. Not one time did he ask what time I gave Pink her am dosage. Shouldn't that been his first question?
Today is Pinky's first day on an all wet diet. From what I understand I should wait to see what her levels look like before I raise her dosage. Is this correct? If I'm to follow the vet's advice Pink would be up to 2 1/2 units. Today was the first day she reached the 200s. Am I right to believe that if anything I should lower her dosage if she remains in the 200s? If someone could look at her spreadsheet and give me guidance. I'm so upset with my vet right now, it's beyond frustrating. If I hadn't found this place and done my own research, Pink would still be on a high carb diet and her numbers would be going up. The only reason her numbers are going down is because I took the bull by the horns and made the decision on my own to get her off the kibble. It doesn't seem wise to me to tell us to increase her insulin dosage when today is the first day she's gone to all wet. Am I mistaken? I also feel that my questions about Novolin were brushed off. I feel like today's vet trip was a colossal waste of time that only stressed out Pinky and myself. I felt like I was looked down upon as one of those people who do their research online and that they think they know better that the vet. Well Pinky's numbers speak for themselves. She's still has a ways to go but she's closer now that she was before. I am seriously thinking of pulling Pinky and her sister Harley from that vet. Am I overreacting? Deep breath. Thanks for reading.
First off Pinky has been going through a diet change (which was not recommended by my vet) and her progress has been great! Her numbers are steadily decreasing and today was her first day on all wet food. Her number at her AM nadir today was 299. A week ago she was testing at well over 400.
Today she had a vet appointment. I brought her spreadsheet and I had some questions about her insulin. First we waited over a half and hour in the waiting room. Pinky gets stressed by dogs so I'm sure that did not help her glucose numbers. So finally we get to see someone. First it was a vet tech who asked about her diet. We said we were switching her to an all wet food diet. The vet tech said "that's good." This is the same practice that said over a week ago that a diet change "wasn't necessary" and could change her diet "if we wanted to." Frustration level rising.
The the vet comes it. She tested 329 there. Which makes sense. It was 6 hours after her shot and she's on novlin, which from everything I read only lasts around 8 hours in cats. She would be on the upswing of her curve at that time. Is this right or am I mistaken? So the vet tells us to increase her dosage by a 1/2 unit. It was there I brought out the spreadsheet and explained we were doing a diet change. I also inquired about other insulin's because I had researched online that novlin only works for 8 hours in cats, so there is 4 hours where she is unregulated. It was there we got the smirk. The vet claimed that "all of there animals here are on novlin" and that he's never heard that it only lasts 8 hours it cats. I asked about Lantus, PZI, and Levemir by name. He said he's never heard of Levemir, Lantus is no longer available and PZI is expensive. I told them cost is not an issue, I want what is best for Pinky. So at this point my frustration level in through the roof. I tried to explain to him my spreadsheet but I don't think he quite understood. It was the end of the day, we were the last appointment and I felt we were being rushed out. He then said he'd discuss this with the other vet we saw and have us call the other vet on Monday. He reiterated to up her insulin a 1/2 dose. Not one time did he ask what time I gave Pink her am dosage. Shouldn't that been his first question?
Today is Pinky's first day on an all wet diet. From what I understand I should wait to see what her levels look like before I raise her dosage. Is this correct? If I'm to follow the vet's advice Pink would be up to 2 1/2 units. Today was the first day she reached the 200s. Am I right to believe that if anything I should lower her dosage if she remains in the 200s? If someone could look at her spreadsheet and give me guidance. I'm so upset with my vet right now, it's beyond frustrating. If I hadn't found this place and done my own research, Pink would still be on a high carb diet and her numbers would be going up. The only reason her numbers are going down is because I took the bull by the horns and made the decision on my own to get her off the kibble. It doesn't seem wise to me to tell us to increase her insulin dosage when today is the first day she's gone to all wet. Am I mistaken? I also feel that my questions about Novolin were brushed off. I feel like today's vet trip was a colossal waste of time that only stressed out Pinky and myself. I felt like I was looked down upon as one of those people who do their research online and that they think they know better that the vet. Well Pinky's numbers speak for themselves. She's still has a ways to go but she's closer now that she was before. I am seriously thinking of pulling Pinky and her sister Harley from that vet. Am I overreacting? Deep breath. Thanks for reading.