? So frustrated and scared---numbers all over the place

Status
Not open for further replies.
Thank you. I started to realize this a few weeks after he was first diagnosed, that my stress levels will certainly affect him. I hope you baby is doing well.

Magellan is doing very well he is otj off the juice aka no longer using insulin. He is still diabetic gets tested and gets no kibble. But he is very healthy, he has his 5 P's in place. Playing, preening, pooping, peeing and purring a lot of use this as a gage to track how or fur children are doing. Welcome to being a helicopter parent keep your chin up, stand your ground and trust your guts.
 
Magellan is doing very well he is otj off the juice aka no longer using insulin. He is still diabetic gets tested and gets no kibble. But he is very healthy, he has his 5 P's in place. Playing, preening, pooping, peeing and purring a lot of use this as a gage to track how or fur children are doing. Welcome to being a helicopter parent keep your chin up, stand your ground and trust your guts.


I see you feed every 6 hrs (I feed every 12) currently my man is controlled by food (FF classic 1 can 2x/day) & Glypizide. Should I be feeding more often? Will this keep sugar levels more even? Thanks
 
Did your vet do a blood test to check Thomas' potassium levels? If not, then I strongly recommend you speak to your vet immediately about continuing the supplement and ask to have blood work done IMMEDIATELY. Too much potassium is bad news for the heart. If it were my cat I would not give the supplement until I was sure that her blood work indicated she needed it (and I'd do regular bloodwork thereafter to make sure her potassium levels stayed in the normal range). I know you're already scared and I don't want to alarm you further but I would not be doing right by you or your cat if I didn't draw attention to this.

WRT the way the Lantus dose was ramped up in such large increments - and so fast! - plus (I am assuming) prescribing a potassium supplement without first doing any bloodwork my opinion is that the person most in danger of killing your cat is your current vet. If I were in your shoes I would leave for another practice. The door wouldn't hit me on the way out.

I am very, very glad that you have found FDMB. The members here will help you to turn things around. Be sure to post about anything which concerns you about Thomas' health, medications, supplements, etc. There are many highly knowledgeable members here with a wealth of experience to share, and from whom you will be able to learn so much.

To close on a forward-looking, positive note here is Tootsie's story:




Maybe your current vet should watch the above. (It wouldn't do her any harm to read the attached PDF either.)

I can imagine there have been a lot of tears shed in your house recently. I'm glad that some of them are now hopeful ones, and I hope that some smiles will follow very soon. Things are going to get better for you and Thomas! They certainly got better for myself and Saoirse when I became a member here just shy of two years ago. :) (And what I learned here helped me to keep my cat safe.)

:bighug::bighug::bighug:


Mogs
.

OMG I just watched that video and it made me cry! Dust Bunny has an improperly healed pelvis (thank you stupid vets refusing to Xray when she was little), so IDK if I could spot it in her since she is already weak there. Her front paw is twisted sideways as well so seeing it in the front would be pretty impossible as well. We are pretty sure that she was either thrown from a vehicle or possible had gotten caught in the motor fan of the pepsi vending machine I found her in. Poor thing was only about 8 weeks old.

I too do not trust my current vet as she has already told me to stop home testing. My BF doesnt agree that I deviate from the vets advice (we have even had fights about it), but I have already had pushy vets cause her pelvis and I do not want that type to cause her death. I have requested to see the other vet at the office since she was actually the first vet I saw there and was the one who actually listened to me about Dust Bunnys pelvis. I have an appointment with her May 21 but I am looking into other vets atm as well. My landlord has 3 kittys too and raves about her vet so I will be calling him today.
 
OMG I just watched that video and it made me cry! Dust Bunny has an improperly healed pelvis (thank you stupid vets refusing to Xray when she was little), so IDK if I could spot it in her since she is already weak there. Her front paw is twisted sideways as well so seeing it in the front would be pretty impossible as well. We are pretty sure that she was either thrown from a vehicle or possible had gotten caught in the motor fan of the pepsi vending machine I found her in. Poor thing was only about 8 weeks old.

I too do not trust my current vet as she has already told me to stop home testing. My BF doesnt agree that I deviate from the vets advice (we have even had fights about it), but I have already had pushy vets cause her pelvis and I do not want that type to cause her death. I have requested to see the other vet at the office since she was actually the first vet I saw there and was the one who actually listened to me about Dust Bunnys pelvis. I have an appointment with her May 21 but I am looking into other vets atm as well. My landlord has 3 kittys too and raves about her vet so I will be calling him today.

I can relate---have had several arguments with my sister about the same thing,,,,very frustrating. And it's starting to appear (to me anyhow) that many vets are using human protocols for treatment/dosing, which I do not understand, as they are 'veterinarians' :) I certainly hope you can either find one you trust, or use all the insight of the experienced people on these boards. Wishing you and Dust Bunny the best outcome!
 
I see you feed every 6 hrs (I feed every 12) currently my man is controlled by food (FF classic 1 can 2x/day) & Glypizide. Should I be feeding more often? Will this keep sugar levels more even? Thanks

Hi. I'm not sure if this question was meant for me, but I'm not experienced enough yet to give advice on your question. But I feed Thomas FF classic 3/4 can in the AM and PM, and a small amount before bedtime.
 
Magellan is doing very well he is otj off the juice aka no longer using insulin. He is still diabetic gets tested and gets no kibble. But he is very healthy, he has his 5 P's in place. Playing, preening, pooping, peeing and purring a lot of use this as a gage to track how or fur children are doing. Welcome to being a helicopter parent keep your chin up, stand your ground and trust your guts.

That is so great to hear---so happy for you both! Helicopter parent,,,,I have a lot of lingo to learn :)
 
Hi Jacqui,

I hope that you are feeling a bit brighter and a little more optimistic about things today. :) We all know only too well how scary it can be at the beginning. :bighug:



You'll find lots of info about Lantus in the stickies at the top of the Lantus & Levemir support group's board. Here's a link for you:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-glargine-levemir-detemir.9/


Mogs
.

Yes I am for the most part, thank you. But this morning Thomas was more weak again in his legs, and his front left leg seems worse (kind of buckling at the wrist). He seems very annoyed and frightened with this also :(
On a good note though (sort of lol), the new meter appears to be more accurate than the first one, but he's still high. AMPS 313 +4.5 317,,,,not sure what's going on with that. I have an insane schedule today so as soon as I can I am going to fill in a sheet from my log book and get it posted. Yes, it is scary---I'm sure everyone has felt this, but I just wish I could hold him and kiss him and make it all go away for him.
 
I too do not trust my current vet as she has already told me to stop home testing. My BF doesnt agree that I deviate from the vets advice (we have even had fights about it)

I have been in that same boat myself, and my older son, who, incidentally, is not particularly "animal-oriented", argued constantly with me about not following that vet's advice. Thank heavens I now have a vet who supports me! He is glad I am a "hands-on" client and recognizes that I have the knowledge and ability to do home testing, curves, dose adjustments, diet changes, etc. And I got to hear that oh-so-sweet "You were right, I was wrong" from my I-think-I'm-smarter-than-Mom son, lol!

And it's starting to appear (to me anyhow) that many vets are using human protocols for treatment/dosing, which I do not understand, as they are 'veterinarians' :)

The protocols are very similar. Diabetes is diabetes, regardless of the species of animal; the causes, actions and reactions are the same. I just wish more vets would recommend and support regular home testing. Would any of those vets inject their diabetic child with insulin without first testing to make sure it's safe? I don't think so. It's the best way to ensure your kitty's safety, as well.

:):cat::):cat:
 
:) Unfortunately, he is very private about using his 'bathroom' and I haven't been able to get a test. I did hear about a meter that can test for ketones. Has anyone used this method?

Thanks!
I have never used one, but I do know that the test strips for these meters are very expensive. One suggested method for collecting urine for ketone testing is to fill a small litter box with plain aquarium gravel, the kind that's really just natural pebbles, then when he urinates you can drain off the urine. And you can rinse the gravel and reuse it!
 
I have been in that same boat myself, and my older son, who, incidentally, is not particularly "animal-oriented", argued constantly with me about not following that vet's advice. Thank heavens I now have a vet who supports me! He is glad I am a "hands-on" client and recognizes that I have the knowledge and ability to do home testing, curves, dose adjustments, diet changes, etc. And I got to hear that oh-so-sweet "You were right, I was wrong" from my I-think-I'm-smarter-than-Mom son, lol!

Well I know my Landlords vet lets her be very hand on but she has also worked with him for 20 years. I dislike vets that treat me like I know nothing. I may not have a degree but I have taken care of MANY sick kitties. I always find the sick ones and I can never say no if they need help. Just cant ever find a vet that listens to my concerns and actually addresses them. I did have one vet that I LOVED and would let me do my own pill feeding and at home care but he passed away before I got Dust Bunny.
 
I dislike vets that treat me like I know nothing. I may not have a degree but I have taken care of MANY sick kitties
I SO agree! And let's face it, NO ONE knows your kitty as well as you do. When vets don't listen to or disregard an owner's input, they are doing their patient a grave (and possibly deadly) disservice.

Sorry you lost your good vet. I hope you find another one who will work with you. I interviewed mine over the phone before I even made my first appointment, no sense in wasting my time and his if he was not going to be supportive of the (well-established) methods I was using. @BJM's Vet Interview Topics (in her Signature, look under Notes to Share) were a huge help!
 
I hope that you are feeling a bit brighter and a little more optimistic about things today. :) We all know only too well how scary it can be at the beginning. :bighug:

For Jacqui.
For ALL of us who go through times of uncertainty while doing this sugar dance!
Believe in yourself.jpg
 
I SO agree! And let's face it, NO ONE knows your kitty as well as you do. When vets don't listen to or disregard an owner's input, they are doing their patient a grave (and possibly deadly) disservice.

Sorry you lost your good vet. I hope you find another one who will work with you. I interviewed mine over the phone before I even made my first appointment, no sense in wasting my time and his if he was not going to be supportive of the (well-established) methods I was using. @BJM's Vet Interview Topics (in her Signature, look under Notes to Share) were a huge help!
I have been searching everywhere all morning for that! The link in the FAQ is broken... actually all of them are. I posted about it in the tech support forum but was still searching. and I cant get to her signature because her profile is set to private :(

nvm all that.... I got it. Took some back ally bypassing but I did it! YAY!!!
 
I have been in that same boat myself, and my older son, who, incidentally, is not particularly "animal-oriented", argued constantly with me about not following that vet's advice. Thank heavens I now have a vet who supports me! He is glad I am a "hands-on" client and recognizes that I have the knowledge and ability to do home testing, curves, dose adjustments, diet changes, etc. And I got to hear that oh-so-sweet "You were right, I was wrong" from my I-think-I'm-smarter-than-Mom son, lol!



The protocols are very similar. Diabetes is diabetes, regardless of the species of animal; the causes, actions and reactions are the same. I just wish more vets would recommend and support regular home testing. Would any of those vets inject their diabetic child with insulin without first testing to make sure it's safe? I don't think so. It's the best way to ensure your kitty's safety, as well.

:):cat::):cat:
I absolutely agree,,,they would not do it with their 'human' children. However, I read on one of the research hospital clinicals that a cat's metabolism is about twice as fast as a humans, so when a a vet (like mine) advised once daily dosing, this would most likely not work for a cat. Sigh,,,so much to learn :(
 
I have never used one, but I do know that the test strips for these meters are very expensive. One suggested method for collecting urine for ketone testing is to fill a small litter box with plain aquarium gravel, the kind that's really just natural pebbles, then when he urinates you can drain off the urine. And you can rinse the gravel and reuse it!

Ok---now THAT he might step into,,,,the saran wrap did not go over well and he peed on his bed blanket :( I have to go (get taken at the moment) to Petsmart today or tomorrow so will see if they have some there. Thank you!
 
I have been searching everywhere all morning for that! The link in the FAQ is broken... actually all of them are. I posted about it in the tech support forum but was still searching. and I cant get to her signature because her profile is set to private :(

nvm all that.... I got it. Took some back ally bypassing but I did it! YAY!!!

I was wondering if it was just my computer because I couldn't get some links to work either,,,now I know lol.
 
Well I know my Landlords vet lets her be very hand on but she has also worked with him for 20 years. I dislike vets that treat me like I know nothing. I may not have a degree but I have taken care of MANY sick kitties. I always find the sick ones and I can never say no if they need help. Just cant ever find a vet that listens to my concerns and actually addresses them. I did have one vet that I LOVED and would let me do my own pill feeding and at home care but he passed away before I got Dust Bunny.

Couldn't agree more---I had over 157 ferals at one time at our farm. I had kittens in my crib when I was born (my mom loved animals also). So I too, although no degree, have a lot of animal experience, and we see them EVERY day, not just during exam time when they're not even acting like themselves. I used to get upset with myself that my guys should be going to regular check ups, tests, etc., but then realized if I hadn't rescued them, they would've stayed in the wild and probably not have lived past 5 yrs old,. So I now feel that even though many of them can't be seen by vets, they have more than many cats will ever have---they are loved, spoiled, warm, safe, and will never have to fear abuse again. And I do the best I can when they have a health issue,,,,in the end, that's all any of us can do.
 
She recommended one 525 mg tablet daily, but I've only been giving him half a tablet. So yes, I am scared, but am going to stop the potassium and just keep him on the Zobaline
If you find out he does, indeed, need a potassium supplement, you might be interested in this one. Ask you vet what she thinks. My vet recommended it for my kitty, and it's much easier than a pill, just mix it into his food. He also doesn't mind the taste, I think he likes it.

https://www.chewy.com/vetoquinol-renal-k-powder-dog-cat/dp/109760

It's actually cheaper at allivet.com, and it also comes in a gel but the powder is the most cost-effective.

Yes, it took me to Merck Diabetes Manual,,,,thank you.
The third one on that list should be Vet Interview Topics.
 
I have never used one, but I do know that the test strips for these meters are very expensive. One suggested method for collecting urine for ketone testing is to fill a small litter box with plain aquarium gravel, the kind that's really just natural pebbles, then when he urinates you can drain off the urine. And you can rinse the gravel and reuse it!

@Bobbie And Bubba uses a ketone meter. Maybe she can tell you the pros and cons. One of the associate vets in the office I go to said ketones don't show up in blood. I just held my tongue.
 
Somewhere you asked me where I live now. I can't find that but we moved to the Poconos in 2009. 12 miles north of Scranton.
 
Hey there, yes I use a ketone meter, the Precision Xtra (Abbott) I get the ketone strips from Canada,that's the cheapest place I found them. Bubba is also very private with his LB habits and I couldn't always catch him in the box since he spends a lot of time in his "man cave" (aka the basement). The meter is great! When I am getting a blood sample for his BG test, I use the same sample of blood and just have both meters ready to do so I only have to prick him once.

Here's the thing with the meter. It is geared for human blood. When using for our kitties, ketones do not show up unti l 2.4 . If you get one and need more information let me now and I will send what I have.
 
Hadn't realized you couldn't get to my signature with the current setttings! I'll fix that when I get home to my PC.
All my links should show up in the signatuure displayed for this post. Have a read, maybe save a few that seem helpful, such as the Secondary Monitoring Tools, which can give you some clues to what is going on even if you can't get a blood test, particularly dehydration checks and food/water iintake/output.
 
Although Saoirse's not been a ketone-prone cat (anti-jinx) I bought a blood beta-ketone meter to monitor her through her recovery after an operation she had recently. The strips aren't cheap but I am delighted that I invested in the meter; it's so much more straightforward and reliable when ketone testing is really critical - and it was much less stressful for my beloved little patient. Like Bobby, I just incorporated the blood ketone tests into our normal testing sessions. Highly recommended.


Mogs
.
 
Funny, when I told the vet the next day what happened, she had said 'he wasn't hypo, that's a normal number'. I felt like 'did she hear what I told her?" He was walking/wobbling around like a drunk, meowing at me, and acting like he hadn't a clue what he wanted to do next. He was off and I knew it, regardless of the number. And yes, this was after he was pushed to 6u after being on 5 for only 4 days, then 5.5 for only four days (she wanted me to up one whole unit, but I refused and went in .5 unit increment, but it was still too much too fast apparently.) I had asked her several times about the Lantus 'depo', but have yet to receive an answer. It's sad, as she is really good with other things, but I'm just not comfortable with her assessment and recommendations on this.

I am so happy to hear Saoirse came out okay from his hypo, and hope he is doing well.


I think your vet is "unfamiliar" with Feline Diabetes. I and my cats have been harmed in the past by vets who are not up to snuff with specific conditions. Thank goodness for the information available here. I hope you can find a more informed vet. From what I have read, this one seems dangerous.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top