So close to No Shot - what to do?

Darwin H.

Member Since 2018
I've reduced his daily to 1.5 twice and his numbers are getting some better and he is gaining weight back and not peeing so much.. Now I am perplexed when like today his PM BG is 124 and no shot under 120. If I go NS I am sure it will be too high in the AM so might I go .5 or ??
 
You should be reducing his dose to 1.25 units. He earned a reduction by going below 90 a couple days ago. When you have to keep skipping, it’s a sign the dose could be too high. If you could monitor tonight, you could try a 0.5 unit dose tonight, then back to 1.25 units tomorrow.
 
Thanks Wendy. I was thinking along those lines so I will give him .5 tonight and monitor with a BG in a few hours and reduce to 1.25 going forward. Thanks!
 
update. +3 and he tested 49 so I gave him some kibble snacks. He seems fine. Tomorrow down to 1.25.
 
Had a nice to see BG reduction this morning to 267. Lets hope it continues with the lowered 1.25 dosage. Slow but sure.
 
Back
Top