Snickers still not well.

Status
Not open for further replies.

DreMeister

Member Since 2016
Getting tired of this. She throws up, we take her to vet, they run tests, can't find anything wrong, we bring her home, good for a couple days, then back to throwing up. She can't hold anything down. Don't know whether to inject her or not since she can't hold food down. She even throws up the medicine we give her to keep her from throwing up. She doesn't sleep much, lays around, looks depressed. I guess back to vet today. I'm at my wits end. Wife and I talked about just letting her go, she's not a happy cat anymore. I just don't want to give up quite yet, but I ain't far from it. Vet bills mounting. This is an every 2-3 day event. We can't get any sleep at night with her incessant meowing. About at our wits end.
 
i hate to pepper you with questions when you're stressed out, but trying to figure this out. something has got to be wrong with her. i know how frustrating this can be and how sometimes we wonder will it ever end.

1. did vet do ultrasound at all? i'm thinking stomach, abdomen, etc. to see if anything funny looking
2. xrays perhaps? if kitty is constipated, things back up and they just keep puking
3. could it be food-related, not only in terms of what she is eating, but how quickly. can i ask why she is fed twice a day? i leave food out for my cat to graze. being diabetics, these cats are very hungry until they are properly regulated, as they are not able to get the nutrient load very easily. perhaps kitty is so hungry she eats too much too fast? please tell me you are not feeding her dry food-?
 
i hate to pepper you with questions when you're stressed out, but trying to figure this out. something has got to be wrong with her. i know how frustrating this can be and how sometimes we wonder will it ever end.

1. did vet do ultrasound at all? i'm thinking stomach, abdomen, etc. to see if anything funny looking
2. xrays perhaps? if kitty is constipated, things back up and they just keep puking
3. could it be food-related, not only in terms of what she is eating, but how quickly. can i ask why she is fed twice a day? i leave food out for my cat to graze. being diabetics, these cats are very hungry until they are properly regulated, as they are not able to get the nutrient load very easily. perhaps kitty is so hungry she eats too much too fast? please tell me you are not feeding her dry food-?
No vet hasn't done an ultrasound. All they do is feel around her abdomen, give her some fluids, give her an antibiotic shot and an anti nausea shot and send her home. She's good for a couple days then it starts all over again. She eats some in morning and evening for her shots, and gets a little snack a few times a day. She goes poop and pee, but that stops when she pukes food and water back up. She gets friskies pates, and some turkey. When she gets sick, wife gives her boiled chicken but she can't hold that down either. This is every few days. Our vet could retire on our vet bills!
 
(also you might want to consider seeing another vet, even just for a consult/2nd opinion. bring copies of all tests for a consult at a new vet for another perspective)
They don't give us copies of tests, and we have a vet at the other end of town but kitty squalls so much wife would rather only have to drive her 3 blocks instead of across town. I would like another vet!
 
Thanks for all of your help. I'll have to check back later, I gotta go to a funeral this afternoon. Forgot to mention last time at vet her BS was over 600.
 
I don't have any personal experience with this sort of thing. But a few questions, sorry, I know you must be stressed right now.

Firstly are you testing blood glucose at home? Sickness can be a symptom of her BG being to low. Looking back through your previous posts it seems that Snickers is only getting her BG checked at the vets, and that they have been upping the dose based on those results, this could result on kitty being on too much insulin. You should be aware that due to vet stress the BG can be elevated at the vet's office, for example, last time I took George to the vet his BG was in the 60's at home and up at 180 at the vet.
Too much insulin can result in high numbers.

What are the meds that you have been given for the sickness? I understand that some come in an injectable form, perhaps that might help if he is not able to keep the meds down.
Does he seem to be in pain? Meatloafing?
Have they done a test for pancreatitis? Have you read Marje's Primer on Pancreatitis, does any of it ring true?
If you have results for BW, could you post them up?



I would demand the results of the tests, you are entitled to them, you have paid for them.
 
They don't give us copies of tests, and we have a vet at the other end of town but kitty squalls so much wife would rather only have to drive her 3 blocks instead of across town. I would like another vet!

dont worry - all you do is ask for copies of all the tests. the tests belong to you and they cannot withhold them. usually vets dont automatically give out copies, but when you ask for them they're happy to comply.

OR you can set up appt with a different vet, and then tell your 1st vet to email/fax/whatever the copies of tests directly to the 2nd vet. i've done that as well.
 
They did thyroid panel last week, I guess it was ok they never told us the results.

Request copies of all test results. Sometimes vets say everything is normal, then it turns out things were not normal.
The reason I asked about the thyroid is because one of my cats had the same symptoms you describe when she was borderline hyperthyroid.
 
i was just looking through some of your old posts and this jumped out at me and got me wondering if she's got some kind of infection or something wrong going on in her mouth/throat area. you said, back in april, " She has had dental problems before and had 4 more teeth pulled in January. She hasn't been the same since."

maybe its already been discussed since then, but i wonder if her vomiting might be related to something gone amiss in her mouth/throat area-? just a thought.
 
The vet should give you copies of anything you ask for -- you paid for the labs.

Is your kitty refusing food except for after the vet's given an anti-nausea med?

I would ask the vet to do a test for pancreatitis as this is very common in diabetic cats. The test you want is either a Snap fPLI which can be done in the office if the vet has the test materials or a Spec fPLI where the sample needs to be sent to an IDEXX lab.

Jen's point above is very good. Did the vet happen to get post-extraction x-rays? When teeth are pulled it's essential to get x-rays afterward in order to make sure that all of the roots have been pulled. If anything has been left behind, it can be a source of pain, infection, etc.

I would really encourage you to home test and start a spreadsheet. One thing that a spreadsheet can tell you is if there is a dramatic change in numbers. A dramatic change can be indicative of an infection or inflammation. Likewise, low numbers could cause a cat to vomit and if you're not testing, you won't know what's going on. High numbers at the vet's office could be stress related and stress elevates blood glucose. If you're getting inflated numbers when your kitty is at the vet's office and the vet raises the dose in response, once Snickers is back home in her safety zone, numbers may be considerable lower and you could be inadvertently overdosing your cat.
 
The vet should give you copies of anything you ask for -- you paid for the labs.

Is your kitty refusing food except for after the vet's given an anti-nausea med?

I would ask the vet to do a test for pancreatitis as this is very common in diabetic cats. The test you want is either a Snap fPLI which can be done in the office if the vet has the test materials or a Spec fPLI where the sample needs to be sent to an IDEXX lab.

Jen's point above is very good. Did the vet happen to get post-extraction x-rays? When teeth are pulled it's essential to get x-rays afterward in order to make sure that all of the roots have been pulled. If anything has been left behind, it can be a source of pain, infection, etc.

I would really encourage you to home test and start a spreadsheet. One thing that a spreadsheet can tell you is if there is a dramatic change in numbers. A dramatic change can be indicative of an infection or inflammation. Likewise, low numbers could cause a cat to vomit and if you're not testing, you won't know what's going on. High numbers at the vet's office could be stress related and stress elevates blood glucose. If you're getting inflated numbers when your kitty is at the vet's office and the vet raises the dose in response, once Snickers is back home in her safety zone, numbers may be considerable lower and you could be inadvertently overdosing your cat.
Kitty wants to eat, just can't keep it down. Water either. I don't think they've ever x rayed after dental work, at least I've never been charged for it. Testing at home is another thing. Bad enough trying to give her shots, it's like trying to wrestle with a P.O.d porcupine.
 
I just checked here as I have a few moments before I have to leave. Wife came home and I explained what was going on. She called vet to have kitty go back AGAIN. She asked about the test results that we were never told of, and vet said, oh? Well her renal enzymes were elevated, and now they're gonna x ray her. They keep thinking she has something stuck in her guts, but she does go poop. I told her, from reading here, to have them check her mouth again. We brought her back from the brink before, I sure hope they can finally figger something out although I'm not looking forward to a kidney disease diagnosis. Thank you all again. I'll post when I find out something, but she's gonna be staying at vet hospital at least for tonite.
 
Kidney values being elevated can explain a great deal. Please get copies of the labs. There are people here who are experienced with interpreting kidney values. If your vet doesn't recognize that elevated kidney values cause a cat to be nauseated, that's a problem. If the kidney issues aren't being treated, that's a problem.

Most of our cats were PO'd porcupines at the beginning of this journey. However, I had a cat whose numbers could start out at 400, drop into the 40s at mid-cycle, and shoot back to the 400s by her evening shot. If I only relied on tests at the vet's office or on fructosamine levels, I'd have killed by by overdosing based on the high numbers versus the nadirs (low numbers). Cats are smart. They can be trained. They also know that what you're doing allows them to feel better.
 
I just checked here as I have a few moments before I have to leave. Wife came home and I explained what was going on. She called vet to have kitty go back AGAIN. She asked about the test results that we were never told of, and vet said, oh? Well her renal enzymes were elevated, and now they're gonna x ray her. They keep thinking she has something stuck in her guts, but she does go poop. I told her, from reading here, to have them check her mouth again. We brought her back from the brink before, I sure hope they can finally figger something out although I'm not looking forward to a kidney disease diagnosis. Thank you all again. I'll post when I find out something, but she's gonna be staying at vet hospital at least for tonite.

please keep us posted if you can. sending well wishes your way.

i have read that it is possible to still poop though constipation is present. stuff can still be stuck in the guts.

helping our furry friends can be overwhelming. hang in there!
 
i have read that it is possible to still poop though constipation is present. stuff can still be stuck in the guts.
I have also read this.

Pancreatitis can cause the symptoms you are mentioning. Do read the Primer on Pancreatitis that Gill linked above.

Ask for copies of all the labs for the previous several months. Many people here are good at evaluating labs and could help you.

I agree rechecking the dental sites would be very smart, but if there is vomiting present it's likely something more than just a dental infection. It could be an infection + something else, however.

We are masters at teaching people how to test their cat's blood sugar at home - even the reluctant cats. Most of them are reluctant, but I have yet to see anyone not be able to master it. There are a lot of people's tips on helping people hometest successfully:
Testing & Shooting Tips: here and here ; Preventing Overdoses

Sending all the healing power of FDMB your way. I hope Snickers does well overnight!
 
Well wife said vet called and said x-ray didn't show anything, she said she didn't think kidneys were acting up, but now are going to test for pancreatitis tomorrow as they cannot pin it on anything else. I looked at the treatments for pancreatitis here, there's so many ya might as well toss a deck of cards in the air and pick the first on that hits the ground. So how does one keep kitty healthy if diagnosed with it? Gotta deal with this and my 87 yr old Mom with congestive heart failure. If it ain't one thing it's another.
 
Life is like that - seems like many things get thrown at you at once.

If it's pancreatitis, there are supportive things you can do to help the cat feel better. We used Vit B12 injections, pain relief (buprinorphin), anti-nausea meds (we used Cerenia, many people like Ondansetron) and appetite stimulants (cypro or mirtazapine) for punkin. It's not quite as dismal as you're perceiving it to be, but different vets choose different treatments.
 
If you have funds, I would highly recommend an ultrasound. My kitty’s labs were fairly normal (although her liver enzymes were elevated but they had been on and off since kitten hood). Nothing on the X-rays. The ultrasound indicated thickening in the intestines and inflammatory bowel disease.

I know your girl doesn’t like the car ride but I’d find another vet if it were my kitty. A vet should thoroughly discuss with you all findings. I never even have to ask my vet for copies of the vet visit or labs.....it’s automatic.

Sending healing thoughts for your Snickers.
 
If you have funds, I would highly recommend an ultrasound. My kitty’s labs were fairly normal (although her liver enzymes were elevated but they had been on and off since kitten hood). Nothing on the X-rays. The ultrasound indicated thickening in the intestines and inflammatory bowel disease.

I know your girl doesn’t like the car ride but I’d find another vet if it were my kitty. A vet should thoroughly discuss with you all findings. I never even have to ask my vet for copies of the vet visit or labs.....it’s automatic.

Sending healing thoughts for your Snickers.
My wife took her there today, so I'm going by what she said, that they'll test for pancreatitis tomorrow, how I don't know but it involves making her drink barium. Good luck with that. She turned into a hissing lunatic this morning when my wife tried to give her a syringe plunger of anti vomit medicine down her throat. Wish us luck!
 
i'm very confused.

there was talk of labwork that showed elevated renal levels, but then your wife got the impression that there is no renal trouble-? ("she said she didn't think kidneys were acting up")

testing for pancreatitis involves drawing blood and checking pancreatic enzymes. i know from experience.

an ultrasound can show if something looks funny with the pancreas. again, i know from experience.

i have no idea what the barium swallow is about. that sounds like a GI test to me.

it sounds like you still have not received or seen copies of all the labwork and tests that you have paid good money for. and your cat is still sick.

i'm not sure where the communication breakdown is, but i still encourage you to seek out a consultation with another practice.
 
That is used for contract x-rays to look for problems/obstructions i the GI tract. The barium if opaque to x-rays. One syringes the barium solution and then periodically take x-rays and the barium solution pases through the GI tract. It is not really to diagnose pancreatitis.
http://veterinarymedicine.dvm360.co...form-positive-contrast-gastrointestinal-study
http://www.online-vets.com/contrast_1.html
I guess I need to talk to them myself. The information trickle down from vet to wife to me is missing a lot.
 
i'm very confused.

there was talk of labwork that showed elevated renal levels, but then your wife got the impression that there is no renal trouble-? ("she said she didn't think kidneys were acting up")

testing for pancreatitis involves drawing blood and checking pancreatic enzymes. i know from experience.

an ultrasound can show if something looks funny with the pancreas. again, i know from experience.

i have no idea what the barium swallow is about. that sounds like a GI test to me.

it sounds like you still have not received or seen copies of all the labwork and tests that you have paid good money for. and your cat is still sick.

i'm not sure where the communication breakdown is, but i still encourage you to seek out a consultation with another practice.
No the vet said she had elevated kidney enzymes but thought she didn't have kidney disease, or at least that's what my wife said. Someone somewhere is getting info all mixed up it seems. I thought they allegedly said pancreatitis was a last ditch diagnosis, but if' they're doing a barium thing to check for blockage, then someone's left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing. That and the fact they have several vets in this office and kitty doesn't get the same one 2wice. Guess I gotta go in after work and find out what the hell's going on!
 
So I stopped by on my way home from work. They were still waiting for barium to finish going thru her system and take the last picture. So far only thing was intestinal thickening in one area, "attributed to vomiting." I said what about the elevated kidney, or I should say renal, enzymes. Yeah, they can raise with "vomiting and dehydration." I asked about pancreatitis. "Well, that's kinda difficult to diagnose in cats, but, she has diabetes which can make her sick." No sh*t. They supposedly did an ultrasound yesterday and didn't find anything out of the ordinary. I said, well something's going on! We bring her here, she gets treatment for high glucose, vomiting, and all around lethargy. We take her home and a week later she's back in here with the same stuff. We're getting tired of cleaning up puke all over. "Well, she is diabetic, that causes problems." I am not satisfied with these answers. They said for pancreatitis we can feed her a bland diet. That's it?? I've spent about 2 grand there since January, and that doesn't include the Lantus and syringes we get from them. I did get to see her, poor thing was shaking all over. I'll have my wife try and get all the test results when she picks up kitty hopefully tomorrow. If we get her home and it starts all over again, I'm taking her to another vet whether misses likes it or not!
 
I would get the written results for the blood tests, ultrasound, barium study and any other test theys they performed and post them here.
I always get the test results from my cats. I have my vet email them to me so they are already in digital form so easier to post.
Vomiting will likely show up in liver enzymes but I do not know about kidney values. I do not know if intestinal thickening can be caused by vomiting.
 
So we got Snicky home. She still lays around a lot. They still say her "kidney enzymes" are high. Not much else came out of it. She has diarrhea somewhat. The vet put her on DM food and Hill's Kidney Diet food. Kitty is not fond of this food. Is there anything else along the lines of bland food we could try? Also I have all of the test results but don't know how to post them for people to look at. Thanx.
 
Kidney food is high carb... and if values are ok why did they give it?? (not that it helps)
I am wondering if onadestron would help with the nausea and instead of waiting for the nausea I would stay ahead of it--give 2-3x a day and see if it works--it does for 1 of mine--he pukes if not-
there are lots of diets home made and otherwise or a mix of both that others can help you with--
I have found Natures Variety pride seems pretty mild-
have they suggested some sq funds at home?
appetite stimulates with the nausea meds?
Just thinking out loud--I think anther vet is a good plan-- I am going to a specialist myself on Monday.... it is crazy ho some its will know right away and others never find a cause....prayers....:bighug::bighug:
would kitty eat some chicken or turkey? pumpkin is good for tummy:cat:
 
I'm late to reading this but you need copies of all labs. You are entitled as others have said. Tell them you need them in case you go to an ER or specialist. Thickening of the intestine in a spot can be benign or the beginning if something more serious. Dehydration can make them feel very sick. Did they send you home with sub-q fluids? While a tiny amount of pumpkin might help too much can cause constipation especially if not used to it. Have you tried Gerbers all meat baby food? Gerbers 2nds. Most cats love it and it's fine for short term use. It can also be finger or syringe fed.
 
So we got Snicky home. She still lays around a lot. They still say her "kidney enzymes" are high. Not much else came out of it. She has diarrhea somewhat. The vet put her on DM food and Hill's Kidney Diet food. Kitty is not fond of this food. Is there anything else along the lines of bland food we could try? Also I have all of the test results but don't know how to post them for people to look at. Thanx.

Curious about these 'kidney enzymes', and now that you have all the test results i assume that encompasses the kidney enzymes in question. What do the tests/labs say in regards to this?

And what is the actual diagnosis?
 
Ok, so we got Snicky home. She's doing good, at least for now. I am not happy with our vet(s). I have to bring up things like pancreatitis and the "kidney" enzymes. They gave us the DM food which she doesn't like, and said the Friskies pates are bad for her. We were feeding her that because she doesn't like the DM. What the heck are we supposed to feed her?? We are not giving her sq fluids at home. The Hill's Kidney Diet food she hates too. Somewhere here I read that it was high in carbs. What are they trying to do to her? We gave it to our outside ferals and they wouldn't eat it either. So right now she gets DM and boiled chicken. That she eats the crap out of. She's over her diarrhea. She's getting to the point of running away and hiding when it's shot time. I don't know what's going on with that. My wife got print-outs of the test results but I don't know how to get them to show up here. And it might as well be in Chinese as far as I can decipher the numbers. What am I looking for? I said the next time she starts going down hill again we're taking her to a new vet. I have to ask questions profusely to get info out of them. They are vague about their answers like we are being an annoyance. I know she is not a personable kitty and I hope they are not being rough on her when handling her. We sure are paying them well enough. I get ya well that could be and stuff like that. This forum is more help than they are! Thanx!
 
What is her creatinine and BUN? Was a urinalysis done and what was the USG? Any protein in the urine? My angel Tiffany did it like KD but I gave it to her. It led to IBD and then lymphoma. What stage kidney disease? Max jumped to stage 4 and tge lower phosphorus foods are too high in carbs so I use a phosphorus binder.
 
I'm so sorry to hear about Snickers. I feel for all of you more than you can possibly imagine. :bighug:

Your vets are talking through their fundaments if they are giving you a runaround like this over running diagnostics for pancreatitis. As others have advised above, the SNAP fPL or Spec fPL tests give results really quickly (SNAP gives yes/no result; Spec gives numeric result which can be a guide to severity).

I also recommend ondansetron for nausea (although Cerenia may help more with vomiting). The standard dose is 1mg twice a day, although Saoirse gets 2mg twice a day (10lb/4.5kg body weight).

Keep a log of how frequently Snickers poops and also do fecal exams to check firmness and colour of stools; constipation - even when mild - can cause lethargy, major discomfort, vomiting, and low mood (if Saoirse is any benchmark). As Elise suggests, pumpkin can help but introduce it very gradually; it doesn't agree with all cats. Psyllium husk is another fibre source but if you try this use it very sparingly as it can lead to very big poops on trace amounts. More info at felineconstipation.org.

Useful links for pancreatitis (and kidney-related nausea issues):

Nausea symptoms and treatments

IDEXX Pancreatitis Treatment Guidelines

If gut motility is a problem then brief treatment with metoclopramide (Reglan) can help to get things moving. (Doesn't do much for non-constipation-related nausea problems as cats don't have many of the receptors it targets and prolonged use can cause irreversible nervous-system-related side effects).

I hope things improve very soon for all of you and, based on your comments above, I think the smart money is on getting Snickers seen by a different vet.


Mogs

EDITED BST 14:35 Sunday 17 July - added hyperlinks.

(My head is an absolute mess at the moment; sorry I didn't put the links in last night.)

.
 
Last edited:
I am sorry to hear about Snickers too. If it's any consolation, our Leo detests OM and DM as well. Chicken resolves it for him as well. We get packages of chicken tenders or breasts and bake them. Then cut them into small pieces and make mini-bowls of chicken soup. Both inside cats think the chicken soup is 5 star cooking!
 
I'm so sorry to hear about Snickers. I feel for all of you more than you can possibly imagine. :bighug:

Your vets are talking through their fundaments if they are giving you a runaround like this over running diagnostics for pancreatitis. As others have advised above, the SNAP fPL or Spec fPL tests give results really quickly (SNAP gives yes/no result; Spec gives numeric result which can be a guide to severity).

I also recommend ondansetron for nausea (although Cerenia may help more with vomiting). The standard dose is 1mg twice a day, although Saoirse gets 2mg twice a day (10lb/4.5kg body weight).

Keep a log of how frequently Snickers poops and also do fecal exams to check firmness and colour of stools; constipation - even when mild - can cause lethargy, major discomfort, vomiting, and low mood (if Saoirse is any benchmark). As Elise suggests, pumpkin can help but introduce it very gradually; it doesn't agree with all cats. Psyllium husk is another fibre source but if you try this use it very sparingly as it can lead to very big poops on trace amounts. More info at felineconstipation.org.

Useful links for pancreatitis (and kidney-related nausea issues):

Nausea symptoms and treatments

IDEXX Pancreatitis Treatment Guidelines

If gut motility is a problem then brief treatment with metoclopramide (Reglan) can help to get things moving. (Doesn't do much for non-constipation-related nausea problems as cats don't have many of the receptors it targets and prolonged use can cause irreversible nervous-system-related side effects).

I hope things improve very soon for all of you and, based on your comments above, I think the smart money is on getting Snickers seen by a different vet.


Mogs

EDITED BST 14:35 Sunday 17 July - added hyperlinks.

(My head is an absolute mess at the moment; sorry I didn't put the links in last night.)

.
How nice. My wife told me this morning that the vet told her they were "out of options" regarding Snickers. What does that mean? Are they just gonna let her die?! I do believe a new vet is in order! As far as a test for pancreatitis, they did an ultrasound and never really said anything one way or the other. They could tell my wife it was a wrench and by the time she got home to tell me then it was a hammer. Severe communication break-down.
 
Last edited:
I am sorry to hear about Snickers too. If it's any consolation, our Leo detests OM and DM as well. Chicken resolves it for him as well. We get packages of chicken tenders or breasts and bake them. Then cut them into small pieces and make mini-bowls of chicken soup. Both inside cats think the chicken soup is 5 star cooking!
So is still feeding her the Friskies pates a good idea? She really likes that stuff. My wife just boils the chicken. We used to give her turkey lunch meat but have stopped now. At first the vet said it was ok, then now it's "you must stop giving her that."
 
What is her creatinine and BUN? Was a urinalysis done and what was the USG? Any protein in the urine? My angel Tiffany did it like KD but I gave it to her. It led to IBD and then lymphoma. What stage kidney disease? Max jumped to stage 4 and tge lower phosphorus foods are too high in carbs so I use a phosphorus binder.
Ok, from what I can get from the result print-outs, BUN was 40. CRE I guess is creatinine is 1.5. PHOS 6.3. No ketones. They said they did a urinalysis but I don't see USG anywhere. Don't see protein either. Thyroid panel was good. As far as Kidney disease, they never actually said she had it, more of a yeah, that could be. Pancreatitis.......yeah, might be maybe. And I'm bringing these questions up. It's like a combination to a safe they don't want me to know! They said they were all out of options with Snicky! I'm not satisfied with that answer of course!
 
Those are good kidney numbers so it's not CKD. The problem with lunch meats is tge garlic or onion which can cause Heinz body anemia. Boiled checken is good. Gerbers or Beechnut all meat baby food are good as they don't contain either. My cats have always liked Gerbers 2nds more and ham is a favorite.

The test for pancreatitis I would have run is not tge SNAP. Ask for the Spec fPL. it gas to be sent out tge lab your vets uses isn't IDEXX but I get the results in 24 hours. Ask for a script for ondansetron and some cerenia. They work for nausea. Mogs has given you good info to read. There is a good yahoo group for this.
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups...zZWMDdnRsBHNsawN2Z2hwBHN0aW1lAzE0Njg3Njg2OTc-
 
So was pancreatitis confirmed? My vet ran the PSL test. It was in normal range so he said Smokey didn't have it. Yet Smokey was sick with vomiting and not eating, oh and the really stinky poo. I pushed for more tests. Sent us to ER for ultrasound and showed pancreatitis was in full force.

Did they give you any meds for her? Definitely a new vet is in order. Smokey was on DM pate (there is a shredded one also but I think that's to high in carbs) he liked it for quite awhile. Then he stopped eating it. I just started it again and I put some bone soup I made in it http://www.ibdkitties.net/bone-broth/

I freeze it in a foam egg carton (take one "egg" out when needed) and I give him some daily. I only give him DM for one meal now so he won't tire of it. Have you tried Tiki Cat food. I only use the chicken flavors when his appetite is off. It's just shredded chicken, water and the necessary nutrients.

Hope you get answers soon and Snickers feels better.
 
"
So was pancreatitis confirmed? My vet ran the PSL test. It was in normal range so he said Smokey didn't have it. Yet Smokey was sick with vomiting and not eating, oh and the really stinky poo. I pushed for more tests. Sent us to ER for ultrasound and showed pancreatitis was in full force.

Did they give you any meds for her? Definitely a new vet is in order. Smokey was on DM pate (there is a shredded one also but I think that's to high in carbs) he liked it for quite awhile. Then he stopped eating it. I just started it again and I put some bone soup I made in it http://www.ibdkitties.net/bone-broth/

I freeze it in a foam egg carton (take one "egg" out when needed) and I give him some daily. I only give him DM for one meal now so he won't tire of it. Have you tried Tiki Cat food. I only use the chicken flavors when his appetite is off. It's just shredded chicken, water and the necessary nutrients.

Hope you get answers soon and Snickers feels better.
No pancreatitis was confirmed, nor kidney disease. No meds either. Just shoulder shrugs, a $500 vet bill, and out the door she goes. Still like to know what "out of options" meant. Is the Purina DM high in carbs? My wife seems to think so. I just feel so bad for our kitty! I don't feel they've helped much except getting her to stop vomiting. It'll only be a matter of time before something happens again I'm afraid. I've never seen Tiki Cat food around here. Maybe at pet stores?
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top