? Snickers fell out of remission--need dosing advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Snickers and Chrissy

Member Since 2019
Hi, this is Chrissy and Snickers, returning members who have fallen out of remission after about 3.5 years. I’ve updated our signature and the link to the our current spreadsheet, so I think everything should be good. But please let me know if I’ve missed anything.

Posting today because I need dosing advice from more knowledgeable members than me :) I’ve reviewed the protocols but am still not sure whether to go up, down, or stay where I’m at a while longer.

First thing’s first. Snickers’ original diagnosis was 11-06-19. She went into remission 02-05-20. Fell out of remission 10-15-23.

Here are the basics.

Insulin: Lantus

Needle: U-100 BD Ultra-Fine needles, 3/10 ml, 31 gauge, with ½ unit markings

Meter: Relion Premier Classic for every day, Alpha Trak 3 for vet.

I recently did a curve for my vet with the AT3 and one for myself at the same time with Relion. Just a note for when you see it in the spreadsheet. I did not poke her twice, just used the same drop of blood for both meters.

Protocol: TR

Snickers’ Age: 11 years old

Food: Low-carb and no-carb wet food only

Why do I think Snickers fell out of remission?

I know everyone will ask about her teeth, but the few teeth she has have been checked and are okay. Initially Snickers’ BG numbers were fluctuating from normal on some days to high on others, back to normal, without any insulin. I have some of this in my spreadsheet, but not all of it. She was also eating and drinking like normal.

Because of this, we waited to start any insulin. Snickers had recently had surgery to remove a mast cell tumor, and the vet and I wanted to see if her BG numbers would drop as she felt better. But they didn’t.

However, I must say that I think she was falling out of remission before the surgery. I could be wrong, but I don’t think that’s what pushed her out. I had a higher spot check the week before her surgery, followed by a normal one. I think the higher BG was me catching the high end of a fluctuation.

I think her fall out of remission was two-fold. 1) She is overweight. Our fault obviously for feeding her too much, even though it was LC wet. She’s back on a diet and slowly losing weight. It’s in my spreadsheet.

2) Undiagnosed form of spinal arthritis, known as spondylosis deformans. There was a month-long period where she stopped jumping and was really depressed. Took her to the vet and discovered her arthritis. Started her on Solensia, and it’s really helped! We also got her pet stairs, so she can go up and down easily. She’s a way happier kitty and more like her old self. Only had two shots of Solensia so far.

I think the combination of being overweight and the physical and emotional stress of her arthritis is what threw her out of remission.

I was scared to start her on insulin again because it’s been so long, so did a couple of really tiny doses at first. You’ll see in my spreadsheet. We’re currently on .75 units of Lantus, and she’s doing great! I’m just not sure if I should go up or down or stay where we’re at.

I’ve reviewed both protocols but get a little confused at these two sections of the TR protocol where it says:

“When your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.”

versus

“Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.”

Her numbers are mostly dark greens with a few blues, but more between 78-99 rather than 50-80. Which makes me think I should go up .25 to 1 unit. Or am I wrong and I should go back down to .5 since she’s mostly under 100? Or do I just hang out at .75 a while longer?

I know we’re not supposed to stay at any one dose for too long because of glucose toxicity, but what if it’s the perfect dose?

Help, please. All this uncertainty is eating my brain right now. Many smiles and purrs to all who answer. Thank you!
 
Sorry to see you and Snickers coming back for more than just a visit!

I'd actually wonder if the arthritis may be a big factor causing the diabetes to flare up. Arthritis is an inflammatory condition. Any inflammation or infection is a stress to the system. The stress causes a hormonal response that raises blood glucose.

The bit about holding the dose for 10 cycles is for a cat that is new to lower numbers. It doesn't really apply for your kitty.

When a cat is in normal range numbers, glucose toxicity is not an issue. Remember, it means that the cat's body is treating higher numbers as though they were the new normal. If Snickers wants to treat an 85 like normal, that's just fine!! How does what you're seeing compare to shat Snicker's spreadsheet looked like previously?

I don't think I would raise the dose by 0.25u. If you were to raise it at all, I would fatten the dose. Frankly, I would rather see you hold the dose for a week and if Snickers is mostly in normal range numbers, then reduce the dose.

If @Wendy&Neko or @Marje and Gracie are around I'd see what they think.
 
Sorry to see you and Snickers coming back for more than just a visit!

I'd actually wonder if the arthritis may be a big factor causing the diabetes to flare up. Arthritis is an inflammatory condition. Any inflammation or infection is a stress to the system. The stress causes a hormonal response that raises blood glucose.

The bit about holding the dose for 10 cycles is for a cat that is new to lower numbers. It doesn't really apply for your kitty.

When a cat is in normal range numbers, glucose toxicity is not an issue. Remember, it means that the cat's body is treating higher numbers as though they were the new normal. If Snickers wants to treat an 85 like normal, that's just fine!! How does what you're seeing compare to shat Snicker's spreadsheet looked like previously?

I don't think I would raise the dose by 0.25u. If you were to raise it at all, I would fatten the dose. Frankly, I would rather see you hold the dose for a week and if Snickers is mostly in normal range numbers, then reduce the dose.

If @Wendy&Neko or @Marje and Gracie are around I'd see what they think.
Hi, thanks so much for your reply! I appreciate your input. What you said makes a lot of sense. I have looked at Snickers' old spreadsheets and her numbers were mostly 70s and 60s with a few 80s and 50s before she went into remission. I haven't seen any 60s with her yet, and just a few 70s.

Also, last time she dropped dosages very quickly. We did like four days at one unit, but she dropped too low so we went down to .5, were there like two days, then basically stayed at .1 for several weeks until she officially went into remission.
 
Hello and welcome back, sorry you have to be here. Here's hoping for a short stay.

You have any theories why the diarrhea and constipation? Just wondering if there is yet another possibility for an inflammatory condition.

Ignoring the blue numbers on the 8th, which were with an AT, is today's PMPS the first blue in 5 days? I guess we could say 6 days if you factor that late shot on the 6th, and it was just a 101. Any theories why the higher blue today?
 
Hello and welcome back, sorry you have to be here. Here's hoping for a short stay.

You have any theories why the diarrhea and constipation? Just wondering if there is yet another possibility for an inflammatory condition.

Ignoring the blue numbers on the 8th, which were with an AT, is today's PMPS the first blue in 5 days? I guess we could say 6 days if you factor that late shot on the 6th, and it was just a 101. Any theories why the higher blue today?
Hi, thanks for your help.

Yes, the 124 I pulled from her this evening is the first blue in a few days aside from that 101. I think she's still dealing with some constipation. This is just something that happens with Snickers from time to time. I gave her some Miralax yesterday and today, so hoping that helps. She seems completely fine otherwise.

As for the diarrhea, I'm not positive, but I think that maybe it was her Instinct Original Rabbit. I only say this because she hadn't had it in a while, like a month or longer, because she got really tired of eating it all the time, hence the Tiki Cat fish she now eats.

But I know you shouldn't give fish every day, so I gave her that can of rabbit. It's hard to find poultry free foods, so I wanted to reintroduce it. However, because she hadn't had it for so long, I think it threw her tummy off. I gave her some more the other day, but less, and she seemed better. No more diarrhea, just the constipation. I might try getting her some pumpkin, the kind without the sugar.
 
Oh, I just realized her allergies have been bothering her and I forgot to give her her allergy pill this morning. She only takes it when her allergies flare up (sneezing, etc., similar to people allergies).

So I gave her her pill after dinner with a little treat. The allergies could explain her higher BG this evening. Coupled with the constipation. I'll see how her numbers are in the morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top