Snickers and Chrissy
Member Since 2019
Hi, this is Chrissy and Snickers, returning members who have fallen out of remission after about 3.5 years. I’ve updated our signature and the link to the our current spreadsheet, so I think everything should be good. But please let me know if I’ve missed anything.
Posting today because I need dosing advice from more knowledgeable members than me
I’ve reviewed the protocols but am still not sure whether to go up, down, or stay where I’m at a while longer.
First thing’s first. Snickers’ original diagnosis was 11-06-19. She went into remission 02-05-20. Fell out of remission 10-15-23.
Here are the basics.
Insulin: Lantus
Needle: U-100 BD Ultra-Fine needles, 3/10 ml, 31 gauge, with ½ unit markings
Meter: Relion Premier Classic for every day, Alpha Trak 3 for vet.
I recently did a curve for my vet with the AT3 and one for myself at the same time with Relion. Just a note for when you see it in the spreadsheet. I did not poke her twice, just used the same drop of blood for both meters.
Protocol: TR
Snickers’ Age: 11 years old
Food: Low-carb and no-carb wet food only
Why do I think Snickers fell out of remission?
I know everyone will ask about her teeth, but the few teeth she has have been checked and are okay. Initially Snickers’ BG numbers were fluctuating from normal on some days to high on others, back to normal, without any insulin. I have some of this in my spreadsheet, but not all of it. She was also eating and drinking like normal.
Because of this, we waited to start any insulin. Snickers had recently had surgery to remove a mast cell tumor, and the vet and I wanted to see if her BG numbers would drop as she felt better. But they didn’t.
However, I must say that I think she was falling out of remission before the surgery. I could be wrong, but I don’t think that’s what pushed her out. I had a higher spot check the week before her surgery, followed by a normal one. I think the higher BG was me catching the high end of a fluctuation.
I think her fall out of remission was two-fold. 1) She is overweight. Our fault obviously for feeding her too much, even though it was LC wet. She’s back on a diet and slowly losing weight. It’s in my spreadsheet.
2) Undiagnosed form of spinal arthritis, known as spondylosis deformans. There was a month-long period where she stopped jumping and was really depressed. Took her to the vet and discovered her arthritis. Started her on Solensia, and it’s really helped! We also got her pet stairs, so she can go up and down easily. She’s a way happier kitty and more like her old self. Only had two shots of Solensia so far.
I think the combination of being overweight and the physical and emotional stress of her arthritis is what threw her out of remission.
I was scared to start her on insulin again because it’s been so long, so did a couple of really tiny doses at first. You’ll see in my spreadsheet. We’re currently on .75 units of Lantus, and she’s doing great! I’m just not sure if I should go up or down or stay where we’re at.
I’ve reviewed both protocols but get a little confused at these two sections of the TR protocol where it says:
“When your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.”
versus
“Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.”
Her numbers are mostly dark greens with a few blues, but more between 78-99 rather than 50-80. Which makes me think I should go up .25 to 1 unit. Or am I wrong and I should go back down to .5 since she’s mostly under 100? Or do I just hang out at .75 a while longer?
I know we’re not supposed to stay at any one dose for too long because of glucose toxicity, but what if it’s the perfect dose?
Help, please. All this uncertainty is eating my brain right now. Many smiles and purrs to all who answer. Thank you!
Posting today because I need dosing advice from more knowledgeable members than me
First thing’s first. Snickers’ original diagnosis was 11-06-19. She went into remission 02-05-20. Fell out of remission 10-15-23.
Here are the basics.
Insulin: Lantus
Needle: U-100 BD Ultra-Fine needles, 3/10 ml, 31 gauge, with ½ unit markings
Meter: Relion Premier Classic for every day, Alpha Trak 3 for vet.
I recently did a curve for my vet with the AT3 and one for myself at the same time with Relion. Just a note for when you see it in the spreadsheet. I did not poke her twice, just used the same drop of blood for both meters.
Protocol: TR
Snickers’ Age: 11 years old
Food: Low-carb and no-carb wet food only
Why do I think Snickers fell out of remission?
I know everyone will ask about her teeth, but the few teeth she has have been checked and are okay. Initially Snickers’ BG numbers were fluctuating from normal on some days to high on others, back to normal, without any insulin. I have some of this in my spreadsheet, but not all of it. She was also eating and drinking like normal.
Because of this, we waited to start any insulin. Snickers had recently had surgery to remove a mast cell tumor, and the vet and I wanted to see if her BG numbers would drop as she felt better. But they didn’t.
However, I must say that I think she was falling out of remission before the surgery. I could be wrong, but I don’t think that’s what pushed her out. I had a higher spot check the week before her surgery, followed by a normal one. I think the higher BG was me catching the high end of a fluctuation.
I think her fall out of remission was two-fold. 1) She is overweight. Our fault obviously for feeding her too much, even though it was LC wet. She’s back on a diet and slowly losing weight. It’s in my spreadsheet.
2) Undiagnosed form of spinal arthritis, known as spondylosis deformans. There was a month-long period where she stopped jumping and was really depressed. Took her to the vet and discovered her arthritis. Started her on Solensia, and it’s really helped! We also got her pet stairs, so she can go up and down easily. She’s a way happier kitty and more like her old self. Only had two shots of Solensia so far.
I think the combination of being overweight and the physical and emotional stress of her arthritis is what threw her out of remission.
I was scared to start her on insulin again because it’s been so long, so did a couple of really tiny doses at first. You’ll see in my spreadsheet. We’re currently on .75 units of Lantus, and she’s doing great! I’m just not sure if I should go up or down or stay where we’re at.
I’ve reviewed both protocols but get a little confused at these two sections of the TR protocol where it says:
“When your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.”
versus
“Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.”
Her numbers are mostly dark greens with a few blues, but more between 78-99 rather than 50-80. Which makes me think I should go up .25 to 1 unit. Or am I wrong and I should go back down to .5 since she’s mostly under 100? Or do I just hang out at .75 a while longer?
I know we’re not supposed to stay at any one dose for too long because of glucose toxicity, but what if it’s the perfect dose?
Help, please. All this uncertainty is eating my brain right now. Many smiles and purrs to all who answer. Thank you!