Sneakers- week of 7-30

Status
Not open for further replies.

hmjohnston

Member Since 2011
Okay... Still working on the light- more sprays in the back hall- might have to completely take everything out for a while :roll: . I found a black light bulb but that didn't show up anything- and I read on here I need the UV light...

She is, however, doing better. Peeing less- went 4 days without needing to change the pee-pad (Breeze system) instead of 2 1/2 to 3 days. And her food intake for the last three days is down by about 6 ounces- 20u BID but she has about half and half for blue and yellows. Still negative ketones. And she wags the tip of her tail when I talk to her lying on the floor. I used to be lucky to get her to open her eyes :lol: . And she goes out every morning to sit on the porch while I get ready for the day and have breakfast.

Fur shot this morning- at least half of the dose missed, so I re-shot 5u just so her depot wouldn't empty all the way out. Normally I wouldn't but she had given me a 131 AMPS :!: :mrgreen: , lowest she has ever been, and I figured her body would react by climbing the walls. That with the fur shot and I figured the 5u would barely make a dent.
 
Hi Heather -

I know everyone cringes when we say we gave more after a fur shot, but I've had to do it too. Nice thing about IAA (insulin resistant) kitties - they barely respond to any insulin, let alone the extra! I would just caution you to make sure it was a fur shot and not just wonky numbers. As many as I thought I'd given, there was only one time that it was on me, on him, and on the table! The rest I just chalk up to being his Acro numbers - and feeding the tumor.

Hoping for a good week for Sneakers!
 
That's an awesome PS, Heather.

I would not advise about shooting more on a fur shot for an acro, as I don't have experience. What you both say makes sense to me though.

But just be clear when you are doing that, and posting about it, that you mention she is an acro/IAA and you would not shoot "extra" insulin for a non-acro. Or something to that effect. As Lu-Ann said, it is hard to tell if you gave a fur shot or not, and even if there is insulin (wet) on their fur, you don't know what actually went in, so for "regular" FDs shooting more would not be a very good idea.
 
Yes, you both are right.

PMPS was 320- ouch! Although, since her feeder had not advanced to the empty bowl, I cannot say it was not food induced, either as it is supposed to turn to empty at 3:30.

And there was insulin- on her, on my hands, she smelled of it and a lot of it :lol: .

She jumped up on my stool this evening for skritches and is outside right now in the (somewhat) cool of the night :-D . If it wasn't for the oppressive 110 degree heat+humidity outside I think she would be more active.
 
Oh, gosh, yeah, you guys are right in the middle of this hot air mass. How many days have you had over 100? It seems like almost every time we are over 90 here, you are at or over 100 in that center of the country area. I hope you have AC!
 
Definitely have the AC! And, while I would normally keep it around 80 when i am not home I have it bumped down a little to keep Sneakers from being too hot with her condition. And our hot days will most likely continue through August and into September. My poor garden- the tomatoes are spindly little things with no new flowers :sad:

She gave me a 135 this morning at -1 to AMPS- big drop from yesterday PM but I think her shed wasn't entirely depleted for one, for two the 320 was probably part food and part bounce. She didn't wake me up ANY during the night to eat so she wasn't letting me sleep until her shot time. I gave her a teaspoon of FF and stumbled off to bed. By shot time she was 177. No skyrocket up with food now- plus all of her food is now 3% or lower. But she was down 6 oz yesterday- for the third day straight and had nothing overnight- so that is another 3 ounces. Only one can of FF this morning instead of two... I am liking the trend going on. She's starting to cut herself back now that her FD is showing good numbers :-D .

Spent 30 minutes outside on the porch last night and a good 20 this morning.
 
Looks like she is getting below renal threshold pretty consistently now. No wonder she feels a bit better now that she is getting more nutrition into the cells that need it.
 
Yes. If is wasn't so hot I think she might be more active right now as she moves more in the evenings/mornings now.

And she jumped up on the stool for attention- which she hasn't done since last year.
 
Looks like much better numbers. I wonder how much effect the temperature has on them? Grayson isn't so fond of the AC vent, but does love to hang out w/ Dom in front of the fan I sometimes run in front of the vent! When it's really hot, I'm hard pressed to find a vent WITHOUT a cat on it!!! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top