Sneakers 3-6 high numbers- cause?

Status
Not open for further replies.

hmjohnston

Member Since 2011
Okay... Sneakers is throwing me for a loop. She is giving me high numbers at shot time. My normal routine:

She gets me up early in the morning- I test for a fasting amount- it is usually been in the 300's- sometimes in the 200's (Sunday was NICE!). Then I test her at 6 before feeding her- usually high 300's, sometimes even 400's. Test at shot time and that is when she is in the 500's :shock: .
When I get home at 4:30 (+9) I test again- usually high. Then test at 6:30-ish when I feed her before shot time. Test again at shot time and wa-POW! high again.

No human food and she hasn't been getting outside. I am sure I don't have dry in the house but will make another check just in case I stashed a sample bag somewhere and forgot about it and she found it... But I don't think that is it. I will also check other food bags in the pantry just in case she decided to nibble some noodles or something. I haven't seen anything nibbled open and tracked but it won't hurt to check.

I've increased from 7.5u to 8u (in the 100u syringes)- do I need to skip .2 and do it by .4 increases?. I want to get her somewhat stable before I leave for Chicago in a couple of weeks. She will be tested and fed only 2x a day at the house by a friend and then boarded for the weekend until I can pick her up on Saturday so this isn't helping.

And to top it all of- this morning I rolled over to hit the alarm and knocked her off the bed :!: . She didn't appear to be hurt, let me feel her over, but I will keep an eye on her.

The way she is going now I don't think I have to worry about a hypo situation :lol: .

Thanks for advice.
 
Don't give us the U100 amount (At first I thought you went from 3 units to 7 overnight!) Give us the amount of ProZinc you are dosing - the U400 amount.

As I said in your earlier thread, I really don't know about Sneakers. Nothing seems to help. You had better numbers at lower doses, but we are nervous about reducing because she does throw ketones. The more insulin, it seems the worse the numbers. For awhile we attributed that to the dry food, but you have taken care of that. Carl should have internet today so I hope he can take a look. He will probably see something I don't.

If she is not getting any dry and she is not getting any people treats (?), I would consider another insulin.
 
What's my cutie pie been up to? Or should I say in to?
When you said you need to check the pantry on the noodle bag... haha_smiley

Every time you post a story it makes me laugh. In her picture she looks so innocent & cute. cat_pet_icon

You know I can't help with dosing. So I will just say you will get the dosing figured out with everyones help. Is it possible she eating behind your back & that's why she is high when you go to test?

Give my friend Sneakers a pat for me. Tell her Baxter only likes good girls.
 
Sue-
Her dose is 3.2- do I need to change that on the SS?

I was wondering about lantus (and I found out I can get that through Krogers for cheaper :-D) but my schedule does not always allow for a perfect 12/12. PZI allowed me a little flexibility on school nights. I take 2 classes per semester and that would be 2 nights she wouldn't get her shot until 9pm (+14) twice a week as I shoot when I am leaving the house at 7am.

Jenn-
She eats what is in her bowl. I do leave the left over for her to free feed on but she is the type of kitty that wants me to know how much is in her bowl before eating it. When she had dry she would ALWAYS wake me up just so I could go shake her food dish- and YEP! there was always kibble in it :lol: .

edit*- this is why I need to check the 'pantry' for opened containers and do a more thorough low shelf sweep for the cabinets (I have no doors, just curtains). Maybe she is just being lazy. She doesn't really play that much any more- loves to sleep. That is why it is hard to see if she is lethargic- there isn't much difference.

I feed her one and two ounces at a time- I know she will eat all of the 1oz in one setting. In the morning when I get up and then again when I get home- if I want to mix something in (like mirilax- getting better poop now) that is when I do it. She's the hungriest and will eat it all NOW. While she is chowing down I will fix another bowl with 1oz chicken and 1oz Fancy Feast for her to munch finish her hungries on and then will free feed the rest. Most is gone within the hour (which is why I leave out frozen to thaw for later). And, yes, she still does get me up in the middle of the night to go look at her bowl and see that there is food in it so she can eat. I usually add more water so I know she is getting it :-D . Yes, sneaky on the Sneakers :lol: . And I give her a test as I don't know when she will next get me up- might be less than 2 hours so I want to make sure I get a fasting- which is why I got a nadir this morning :-D .
 
It is time to buy some more FF- I think I might just get a case of 24 of just one kind. Problem is she just really loves only the seafood ones :lol: . As I am mixing them with chicken I should be okay because I seldom give her just the canned only. That way I can see about the change of carbs in her foods- and keep to giving her the mixed in ounces.

I gotta do something.

Actually, looking at the list, I'll get the chopped grill feast- 2% carb. 96 calories though... She is getting a big belly- no longer skinny but it isn't spreading out- just the belly, she still has her bony butt :sad:.
 
Sorry you can't get sneakers regulated. I know that is frustrating. Hang in there!!

Maybe just stick to a low carb 2- 0% for a couple of days and feed less and see what happens with the BG. I know my copper is very sensitive to carbs and anything over 4% gets his BG high. Most of the time i stick with the 0% carbs (kitten turkey FF). Good luck and trying new things and maybe a new insulin.
 
Hi, when we 'talk' on the board we always talk in terms of u40's so giving your dose in u100's can throw some people for a loop. Even I did a double take when reading about your 8u dose. :smile: You may just want to eliminate standard time in your posts and just use +2, +6, etc as that is universal across the board and easier to grasp what is happening to sweet Sneakers exactly at what point in the cycle.
 
I also wonder if Lantus may be a better fit for Sneakers especially if she runs high towards AMPS/PMPS as it has the shed that may help sustain her during that time. IDK...I just hate to see her in such high numbers.

On 3/4 you posted that you gave 3u in a u40 syringe, then at PMPS you gave 3u in a u100....is that accurate?? confused_cat
 
Lisa-

Yes, Sue said to have everything in the u40 measurement so I changed it to read the 3u- so even though I was giving her 7.5 in the u100 syringe. Make sense? I just need a marker for me to know when I switched over.

My bottle is a little less than half so I will need to order more when I get back from Chicago- I can't even think about doing something beforehand will everything that is going on. The switch is not something I would really expect my vet to understand- he thinks Humulin is a great cat insulin and didn't think I needed to switch her to PZI in the first place. He has done no research in FD that I can see (except to go to a talk and meet a FD guru who said that hi BG numbers don't mean anything and aren't dangerous) and I don't even think he has read any of the articles I sent to him.

Owlgal-
All of the FF I bought are between 1-3% carbs so I was thinking that may be what she is reacting to- she hugs those carbs like candy.
 
Glad to see sneakers doing a bit better. It will get easier! So happy to hear she is on the lower carbs. That will help!

Lori
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top