sneakers 11-30

Status
Not open for further replies.

hmjohnston

Member Since 2011
Well, Sneakers is becoming a little stinker!

She is eating less- about 6-8 oz/day instead of 8-10 and less pee/poop in the LB

But her numbers are starting to swing again. I think the cosequin is making her feel better and needing less insulin so what I give her is too much and helps her to go down. Very few blues, mostly yellows- mid to high, and pinks are starting to show up. After a low(compared to normal) PMPS yesterday and a very high AMPS and now an even lower PMPS today I dropped her dose from 26u to 23u.

Started a new sheet on her anniversary and this time it is going up rather than down- like Pumbaa's. I always wanted to try it that way as a few others in PZI have it that way and I can read up just as well as reading down and I don't have to scroll down to find the information I want.
 
That new sheet is confusing as for getting bearings on the date.

I'll bet Carl doesn't like it?

I finally got oriented but still had the subconscious impression the numbers must be improving. :oops:

I'm starting to have trouble on Pumbaa's also, with the fact it won't always load and scroll for me.


I noticed Sneaker's perch (with the ramp) seems to be between the Fridge and Freezer, maybe she's getting in there for Pizza or snacks? ;-)

I do have to worry about dirty dishes with Chip, or dropped crumbs, he seems to crave people carbs sometimes.
 
Nope, Carl isn't a big fan, Dale. ;-) But then it's not my spreadsheet, and I can't really complain since I never even had one for Bob. As long as Heather and Suze are able to get advice the way it is, I don't really have a problem with it.

Sneakers is beyond me merely due to the high doses. That's just something my head can't wrap around. I mean, you adjust the dose by a full unit, and it's only a 4% reduction in insulin? When I think of that in terms of a 1u dose, you can't measure .96u in a syringe, and it wouldn't make a bit of a difference anyway. I'd freak out if I had to draw up a full syringe of insulin and shoot it. Heather and anyone else with a high dose cat just amaze me, but I can't really help them much at all.

The "wait time for loading" you're seeing is because a SS isn't saved as "published", and as long as there's a "ccc" in the URL, that's just the way they load. I guess it isn't a big concern when the SS is upside down because what's towards the bottom isn't as important? You can still see a couple weeks or more of data while it's hourglassing, right? Even if you can't scroll until it's done?

Carl
 
Correct, it just doesn't always scroll well.

Of course with Pumbaa I need to go back more frequently. Actually I do with all SS, that's the only way to really study history and patterns. I was going to ask Suze to make a published version available, but after seeing this I'm not sure that's the answer either.

I wish we could just toggle them either way on the fly. :mrgreen:
 
Yeah, if we could use Excel SS's that'd be easy, just change the sort and voila. Stupid Googledocs!
 
Isn't google docs changing format soon anyway?

Hope that isn't something disruptive.

I'm one vote for the old way. You can hop over to the earlier pages for normal. When I come back, the upside down makes me kind of seasick. @-)

(but for Sneakers isn't the FB acro group the target audience?)
 
You might want to put a note on your posts and/or on the SS (not sure where for that) about it being reversed, so people know to "look" for that.

I don't know about the need for the dose change. Why did you raise it from 24u? Even now, those 300s were just the one PS. I would usually suggest ignoring one "odd" number (unless it were a 30 or something). I guess just now see what the lower dose will do.

Where are her previous numbers?
 
Sheila,
There are three other links at the top of the SS that show the older history. I was looking at the bottom like it was excel, lol, then i noticed the top links.
Carl
 
Thanks everyone.

I have asked the same question on the FB acro page as well and felt the need to ask it here too as it makes me think.

Yes- Carl- oh so much insulin!!! I was, at first, doing just the 1/2 unit measurement and was asked why? Half a unit isn't going to budge her much and I was up to 3u at a time increasing until her first swinging set two months ago led me to pretty much halve her dose to stop the pendulum. I kind of freak out when people talk "Drop method" and both Cami and Autumn are on that style of dosing. My syringe goes up to 50u, in case you want a little tidbit of info :lol: .

Sheila- I moved it up because that is what you do with acro cats :lol: up until the numbers look better. I was trying to get back to the point where she had more blues and less yellows (and a sprinkle of greens). For most acro cats that means going up. With Sneakers... I think that means going back down, really. The big change in her numbers were when it started getting cold and her arthritis started kicking in. She's been on cosequin since Nov 12th and is moving better now and I think her insulin need is dropping. As I held her to 23u for the second cycle with high yellows PS, so we shall see. I'd like to hold it for the 6 cycles and see if that helps at all. I just want those blues again.

Dale- I so WISH google docs would become more like excel and give us the option to sort by date- it would be SO much better. I just got tired of scrolling down for months and months every time i wanted to record or look it over. I don't like how it crowds all of my notes at the bottom though :cry: :roll:
She might be getting into the frozen stuff, but the sink is across the way and she is in NO condition to leap over to the dirty dishes anymore. The only plate she has access to right now is her own.

Two days in a row I've come home and she's only eaten an ounce or so from the 5 I leave out. Her food intake is indeed down, her movements are better (once again she graced my pillow before the alarm bell went off).
 
Some of my cats dig in the garbage disposal. Any *organic* prey like Cami had (if it was organic) may turn up anywhere.

They are fascinated by peels, stems and cores. Even onion tops, fortunately they don't eat these things. I know they can't have onions.

I never usually run the disposal more than once a day, but I step out of the kitchen and something comes out of there.
 
I don't have a disposal- I do collect food scraps for compost but that, too, is inaccessible to her right now :lol:

In the wee hours of the morning she gave me 3 blues-the highest blues she can give and still be blues- but I'm claiming the color :mrgreen: ! It is taking her the full 6 cycles to settle into a dose and I can leave it another 2 days to give her the full 5 days or go lower now. Her yellows have been dropping slowly down at testing.

SS is updated.
 
Dale 'n' Chip said:
I'm starting to have trouble on Pumbaa's also, with the fact it won't always load and scroll for me.
I didn't know that, Chippendale's. But, just so you know, I'm having problems with a few SS taking forever to load before I can scroll to the bottom and see the most current numbers. It must be a Google Drive problem, because this didn't used to happen when it was just Google Docs. So, the good news is, you shouldn't have to scroll to see Pumbaa's most current numbers. :)


Suze
 
hmjohnston said:
In the wee hours of the morning she gave me 3 blues-the highest blues she can give and still be blues- but I'm claiming the color!
Heather, you claim those blues with pride! Your diligence earned them! (((HUGS)))

Suze
 
Pumbaa said:
Dale 'n' Chip said:
I'm starting to have trouble on Pumbaa's also, with the fact it won't always load and scroll for me.
I didn't know that, Chippendale's. But, just so you know, I'm having problems with a few SS taking forever to load before I can scroll to the bottom and see the most current numbers. It must be a Google Drive problem, because this didn't used to happen when it was just Google Docs. So, the good news is, you shouldn't have to scroll to see Pumbaa's most current numbers. :)


Suze
Hey I'm doing just fine. :smile:

I have the old regular copy when I need to look back at the past. It's others like the Borg Queen who will need to look at this that I'm worried about. I agreed with Julia's take on that debate about visual data analysis. We need to think both inside and outside the box for Pumbaa. Perhaps Carl can help us come up with a solution that will work for everyone? In the meantime we can just play it by ear and see if anyone puts up a fuss.

Sorry Heather for the Hijack. BTW Pumbaa's shared SS does not make me seasick. :smile:
 
Just my 2 cents, but I like the reversed SS's because the current data is "right there". In fact, it annoys me to have to wait for Cami's to load so I can put new data in - but don't know that I will reverse it.

As for the argument that "we all look at data, top down, left to right" that only holds for accounting data. For this sort of use, I think the "reversed" order makes a lot more sense and would have been accepted instantly if the first person to post one did it that way. Now we have the "everyone does it this way" argument as well, but that doesn't make it right or better, just more popular.
 
Sheila- just wait and do what I did- when you start a new sheet reverse it. It makes it much easier starting with a blank sheet than reverting what you already have. I was having to wait for 7 or 8 months to load and that got annoying fast :lol:

Dale- the thread hasn't been hi-jacked- it is just a continuation of a topic we all have an interest in :-D .

Another low-ish PMPS- 213 last night- lowest yellow PS in a while, and another BLUE AMPS this morning. Holding for 5 days to see if she will settle lower. Come Wednesday morning she will only get 20u and by this weekend something should have changed- either up or down. Since she is slowly dropping I think down is the right direction at this time. Her plus 2.5 this morning had raised only 10 or 15 points instead of the normal 30 to 40 points.

She and Baxter over in PZI are visiting the IHOP on a regular basis as the only real difference in my tests have been 50-70. I'd say that is a pancake :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top