Sneakers- 10-2- frowny curve (not happy curve)

Status
Not open for further replies.

hmjohnston

Member Since 2011
Stayed home yesterday 'cause I had a head cold and decided to do a real curve. I got an upside down smile instead :?

Over night was blues and this morning's AMPS was almost pink (second test WAS pink so I went with the first one).

So, my question is... am I close to her dose but just slightly OVER her dose so she gives me some days with some blues and mostly yellows and other days with some yellows and mostly blues?

Thanks.
 
That's pretty much a flat curve. Especially when you consider that she was lower at +8 than either +6 or +10. The variance is 63 pints (if I did my math correctly :roll: ). Meter variance is +/- 20% (so in this curve that's 44-54 points).

I see that you went up 1u, so see how she does on that for a few days. Unfortunately, you are dealing with a, somewhat, moving target with an acro kitty. make sit hard to find a best dose. Just when you think you are there, something can change.

Hope your cold is better.
 
Re: Sneakers- 10-2- *PICS ADDED frowny curve (not happy curv






Compare this to her avatar photo- she is a lot bigger and longer than she used to be :lol:
 

Attachments

  • a little small for me.jpg
    a little small for me.jpg
    271.8 KB · Views: 378
  • hanging out.jpg
    hanging out.jpg
    312.5 KB · Views: 373
  • nothing under both ends.jpg
    nothing under both ends.jpg
    364.2 KB · Views: 374
those pics are funny.
here's a couple of Dante in the bathroom sink
 

Attachments

  • CIMG0183.jpg
    CIMG0183.jpg
    321.1 KB · Views: 366
  • CIMG0185.jpg
    CIMG0185.jpg
    306.9 KB · Views: 360
Sneakers never did go for the sinks. Maybe a bad memory from her early kitten-hood. I do think she feels i HAVE switched stools on her :lol: .

Okay- so she gives mom a 133 at PMPS yesterday. I had already told mom to shoot 21u. I got home to a 207 (+2.5) and started on homework. Then I got a chance to lay on the floor with her and check her over for the first time in two weeks (continued below). This morning at 3am (-2 for AMPS) she gave me an 86. Was 90 at AMPS, 105 15 min after- so I shot 18u.

TROUBLE!! She has two claws that have grown into her pads- on on each front foot. I am thinking with her jumping off the bed now they maybe impacted in. So I wrapped her up in a towel and trimmed the other front claws- she felt I was murdering her and complained LOUDLY. Back paws okay.

She finally settled into just growling at me and after I was done I just held her and scratched her chin and head while she glared and growled. After a minute it was just the glare. I put a shrimp treat in front of her nose and she ignored it- she was PISSED!. After 5 minutes of scratches i put her down and placed the shrimp on the floor- she gobbled it up. I gave her 5 more because of her ordeal. She doesn't care for the chicken, beef, or whitefish but she LOVES the shrimp.

I've looked on-line about this problem and feel tonight I can clip the claws and pull them out of the pads as the quick isn't that far in yet. I will have my disinfectant and neosporine ready to deal with the blood.

Any hints on the method to use?
 
Oh, poor girl! That has to hurt. My aunt's cat had that happen and it was all infected by the time I saw it (my aunt didn't notice - not even the horrid smell coming from it). I watched the vet do it. She used a dog clipper that was like a pliers - open ended (because, obviously you can't use any kind of clipper where you insert the claw into a hole. She clipped the nail in the middle and then used a forceps to pull the point out of the pad. Then she disinfected it and tried putting that powder on it that stops bleeding and bandaged it. Bandage came off the second we got him home and let him out of the carrier. She adviced to use that newspaper litter so it wouldn't get into the wounds.

Good luck! Can someone help you to hold her? That's probably going to be the worst part of it.
 
All done! :-D

I wrapped her in a towel and used a fingernail clipper (saw it on google search from a vet)- SO much easier. One fell out right away, the other loosely hung sideways and came out easily.

Wiped on some hydro-peroxide and let it fizz. She tried to bite me but pulled it when I went for the last dewclaw I didn't get last night.

I petted her for a little bit and set her down- she SNIFFED around for her shrimp treat :lol: . I gave her 5.

Pokies- she could care less about a treat. Claws clipped and she wants them RIGHT AWAY!!!
 
Whew! Bet you, and she, are glad that's over. Hopefully, she won't have any issues with it.

Do you give her actual shrimp? Are they thawed out frozen ones? I wonder if my guys would like them. They love the boiled chicken and tuna. They only get tuna when I have it, like tonight, Insalted, so they get the water and some pieces of tuna.
 
I have the FD shrimp right now but real shrimp in the freezer so when I am out of FD she can get those. I have fed her real shrimp before and she LOVES it.

Currently I slip her gaba dose in with the tuna juice so she gets that BID- less than a tablespoons worth each time, along with some tuna (she like the juice more and will leave 1/2 the tuna :roll: ). A can will last me a week and a half as I add water and mush the tuna pieces for flavor. A can of tuna is cheaper than pill pockets right now :lol: !
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top