allicatmeow
Member Since 2023
AMPS is 286. He did not eat for over 2 hours before the test (bowl wad licked clean overnight). Unsure is 4U is the correct dose? Cannot (attempt) another BG til +3 today because I have a dr appt for myself.
I absolutely STRUGGLED to get blood to draw. Over 10 pricks and 6 wasted AT3 strips with Er3 over and over (I cannot afford this at $1/ea). My vet tech friend is coming over tonight for his PMPS to try to help show me what I'm doing wrong. He is also more wiggly because BG bed = chicken treats and he's feeling good. I had to actually rush purrito him while he was bleeding to get the reading (which means I drew too much blood to have it still work after chaos).
He was too upset last night to even attempt a +3.
I feel like a failure.
Tagging for insulin dose advice:
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Diane Tyler's Mom
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Hendrick Cuddleclaw
@JL and Chip
Continuation of thread: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/smudge-is-home-how-to-start-tr.280987/#post-3099194
I absolutely STRUGGLED to get blood to draw. Over 10 pricks and 6 wasted AT3 strips with Er3 over and over (I cannot afford this at $1/ea). My vet tech friend is coming over tonight for his PMPS to try to help show me what I'm doing wrong. He is also more wiggly because BG bed = chicken treats and he's feeling good. I had to actually rush purrito him while he was bleeding to get the reading (which means I drew too much blood to have it still work after chaos).
If you’re up a bit longer before bed, I might try again to get another BG test. A 300 on an AT3 isn’t terrible. And you really don’t know that yesterday’s 84 was the lowest he went. He stayed relatively high and flat today (often a sign of a bounce), so another test might clue you in as to whether his BG might be more active tonight (i.e., start heading down).
A bounce is like ripples in a pond after you toss in a rock…the waves (just like high BG during a bounce) are a temporary reaction, and you just have to ride it out and wait for things to settle back to normal.
It’s easy to want to evaluate a dose during a bounce and assume the dose is ok or even too low, but that is a mistake. Bounce cycles aren’t your typical day-to-day reality. Remember, dosing is based on the lowest numbers, not the pre-shots or the highs.
[edited to add: today’s higher numbers could also be a result of skipping last night’s shot, which I initially forgot. So higher numbers from skipped shot, or bounce, or both … the data you can collect will be very valuable.]
He was too upset last night to even attempt a +3.
Tagging for insulin dose advice:
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Diane Tyler's Mom
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Hendrick Cuddleclaw
@JL and Chip
Continuation of thread: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/smudge-is-home-how-to-start-tr.280987/#post-3099194