Smudge AMPS 277

Status
Not open for further replies.

smudge

Member Since 2011
Smudge seems to be doing well! We've been really busy getting ready for school and a wedding! I am trying to keep her on her regular schedule. She has been a lot more friendly lately too! :)
 
Hello! I don't think we have stopped by before but wanted to welcome you. It is so nice when they start getting better and you can see the difference in their demeanor.

Hope you have a great day!
 
Generally, after 6 cycles we would suggest a dose increase. However, you do not have enough data to consider this. I'm guessing you're not home around the middle of the cycle during the week. You do, however, really need to start testing during the PM cycle. In addition, you need to get a curve over the weekend or whenever you are able. There's no way to tell, based on the data you have when Smudge's Lantus onset or nadir occur.
Tight Regulation sticky said:
WHEN FOLLOWING A TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOL WITH LANTUS OR LEVEMIR:

  • Kitty should be monitored closely the first three days when starting Lantus or Levemir.
    Blood glucose levels should at least be checked at pre-shot, +3, +6, and +9.
    More monitoring may be needed.
  • It will be necessary to test kitty's blood glucose levels multiple times per day.
"General" Guidelines:

  • Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
  • Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
  • Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
 
If you are having difficulty testing, please post on the Health board, The folks there will be happy to offer any number of suggestions to help you so you are able to keep Smudge safe and make good decisions about dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top