Smudge 8-29-11 amps 261

Status
Not open for further replies.

smudge

Member Since 2011
Good morning!!

My dear Smudge has been doing great lately! She has taken quite well to the shots and just looks at me strangely while I give them to her. She does not growl anymore!! :) Testing is an uphill battle, but she seems to be in good spirits and has a good appetite! Her bowel movements are not as often as they used to be and in a lesser amount!

I am so happy with her progress and grateful for all of the support!
 
I'm glad Smudge isn't growling at you any more.

However, you really need to step up to the plate with testing. There are fundamentally no mid-cycle tests most days or evenings (or weekends or holidays). You are changing doses without sufficient data. Lantus dosing is based on the lowest number in the cycle -- not on the pre-shot test. Frankly, this is dangerous. Your cat could be in very low numbers and you would never know other than to come home one day and find your cat convulsing or worse. Please, for the sake of Smudge's safety, please start testing regularly.

Please read Jill's post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46013
 
Hi guys .. I'm glad to hear that smudge is doing much better with the shots .. Testing was always easy for us, but shot times were the worst .. but I do agree with Sienne, hopefully you can figure out a way to sneak in a few more spot checks .. they are so important, and let you know how your cat is really doing with their insulin dose ..
 
wow - can't imagine taking care of a diabetic cat as a college student! yikes!

maybe schedule-wise you could get in a test last thing before you go to sleep. people can give you scheduling ideas if you want them - i suspect most people here have some challenges, either scheduling or $$ or both. some people move the shots to fairly early in the morning (like 6am) so they can get in a +6 most nights, some move the shots to noon-midnight so they can test in the afternoons. kinda depends on your sleep/school schedule. the least necessary time for constant monitoring is in the 6 hours or so prior to the shot, if that helps.

just one more test a day would really fill in the picture on how smudge reacts to the insulin. there are some cats that might have a preshot of 261 and then only go down to 200 (my cat, for example) at the lowest point of the cycle, and there are some cats that might have a 361 preshot and plummet to 40 during the cycle (sienne's gabby or marjorie's gracie). take a look at a few spreadsheets and you'll see. you don't know what smudge does.

just to encourage you - the remission rate for cats who get onto lantus in the first month of being diagnosed and follow the tight protocol that we use here is incredibly high. something like 80% can end up off of insulin in a short time - but you have to be willing to follow the protocol, and testing is part of that.

if we can offer any ideas to help you, just ask. this place is full of experience and wisdom and people will be glad to help you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top