wow - can't imagine taking care of a diabetic cat as a college student! yikes!
maybe schedule-wise you could get in a test last thing before you go to sleep. people can give you scheduling ideas if you want them - i suspect most people here have some challenges, either scheduling or $$ or both. some people move the shots to fairly early in the morning (like 6am) so they can get in a +6 most nights, some move the shots to noon-midnight so they can test in the afternoons. kinda depends on your sleep/school schedule. the least necessary time for constant monitoring is in the 6 hours or so prior to the shot, if that helps.
just one more test a day would really fill in the picture on how smudge reacts to the insulin. there are some cats that might have a preshot of 261 and then only go down to 200 (my cat, for example) at the lowest point of the cycle, and there are some cats that might have a 361 preshot and plummet to 40 during the cycle (sienne's gabby or marjorie's gracie). take a look at a few spreadsheets and you'll see. you don't know what smudge does.
just to encourage you - the remission rate for cats who get onto lantus in the first month of being diagnosed and follow the tight protocol that we use here is incredibly high. something like 80% can end up off of insulin in a short time - but you have to be willing to follow the protocol, and testing is part of that.
if we can offer any ideas to help you, just ask. this place is full of experience and wisdom and people will be glad to help you.