Smokey PM 38,+30min. 62,+1 57,+2 52,+3 49,+4 48,+5 52, +6 84

Status
Not open for further replies.

Smokey

Member Since 2010
PMPS - 38
+30 min - 62 (shot reduced dose of 2.25)
+1 - 57
+2 - 52
+3 - 49
+4 - 48
+5 - 52
+6 - 84
 
Re: Smokey PMPS 38. Long night ahead...

looks like it could be a long one. Do you have lots of test strips and lots of gravy food on hand? And some coffee and chocolate for you?

How about a tsp of gravy from the HC food and retest in 30 minutes?
 
Re: Smokey PMPS 38. Long night ahead...

Hi Libby,

I just gave some of the HC gravy and will re-test soon. Yes, plenty of test strips and plenty of coffee cups for my Keurig!

When I say HC gravy, I gave Fancy Feast Chicken Feast in Gravy, a teaspoon.
 
Re: Smokey PMPS 38. Long night ahead...

Hi, great job on keeping the commitment to Smokey right on track. I have not had to shoot low in a while but always just bulk up the +1, +2 & +3 with HC gravy - let those kitten lips lap out of a spoon ;-) Cheers to a great evening :mrgreen:
 
Re: Smokey PMPS 38. Long night ahead...

If everything turns out okay tonight and he has his normal bounce of a high PS tomorrow morning, I just stay at this reduced dose of 2.25 for 7 days unless a reduction is again needed. Just want to make sure I'm understanding this.
 
Re: Smokey PMPS 38. Long night ahead...

Yes, he was at 48...just about the same...

This coming hour would usually be his rise...we will see!
 
Re: Smokey PMPS 38. Long night ahead...

You need to feed some additional HC. It's not advisable to have Smokey surfing in the 40s.

ETA: can you please post the times and numbers in your subject line?
 
Re: Smokey PMPS 38. Long night ahead...

how about adding some karo to that gravy?

Is it Chunky Chicken Feast, or Grilled or Sliced or what kind of chicken feast?

Also, not to worry you too much, but how far are you from the ER vet? There could be a lot of hours to go before Smokey's nadir, and if he gets too full you might not be able to manage his numbers very well at home.
 
Re: Smokey PMPS 38. Long night ahead...

Just fed a teaspoon more of gravy. I wonder if I should give some W/D also?
 
Re: Smokey PM 38,+30min. 62,+1 57,+2 52,+3 49,+4 48

I am 20 minutes away from the Emergency Vet. In the evenings, I always thought his nadir was right at this time, he generally starts coming up from here...But, in times like this all that goes out the window!

The Fancy Feast says Grilled.
 
Re: Smokey PM 38,+30min. 62,+1 57,+2 52,+3 49,+4 48

Smokey said:
I am 20 minutes away from the Emergency Vet. In the evenings, I always thought his nadir was right at this time, he generally starts coming up from here...But, in times like this all that goes out the window!

The Fancy Feast says Grilled.
Denne you need to get some Karo syrup into Smokey if you have it. Do you have some Karo. It is much more effective than hc food...w/d or otherwise. Libby advised you to give him some a few replies up ..I guess you missed that. Normal rise time doesn't apply right now so don't go by that right now. YOU need to bring him up.
 
Re: Smokey PM 38,+30min. 62,+1 57,+2 52,+3 49,+4 48

Poppin' in to give some moral support. Wow, keep up the good work. Hope you manage to get some sleep tonight!
 
Re: Smokey PM 38,+30min. 62,+1 57,+2 52,+3 49,+4 48,+5 52

Tested another 52.

I'm going to give him some W/D with some Karo Syrup mixed in it...
 
Re: Smokey PM 38,+30min. 62,+1 57,+2 52,+3 49,+4 48,+5 52

is w/d dry or wet?

At least he's surfing, but definitely add some karo to the gravy to try to get him bumped up a little more. See you in 30 minutes.
 
Re: Smokey PM 38,+30min. 62,+1 57,+2 52,+3 49,+4 48,+5 52

I gave him 1/8 cup of W/D dry with enough Kayro syrup to make it very wet. He ate it up.

See you all soon!
 
Re: Smokey PM 38,+30min. 62,+1 57,+2 52,+3 49,+4 48,+5 52

dry food takes a while to kick in and tends to stay in the system for longer than wet. That's why we normally use wet - it makes it easier to steer numbers because you can more easily predict when it will be in and out.

The karo should give him a bump. See you at +5.5.
 
Re: Smokey PM 38,+30min. 62,+1 57,+2 52,+3 49,+4 48,+5 52

Whew....a little breathing room for you. Been watching on the sidelines; what a night!! You did a nice job of bringing him up. I hope he stays there.
 
Re: Smokey PM 38,+30min. 62,+1 57,+2 52,+3 49,+4 48,+5 52, +

What do you recommend I do in the morning? Should I go with the dosing protocol based on his PS? Or, should I skip the AM?
 
Re: Smokey PM 38,+30min. 62,+1 57,+2 52,+3 49,+4 48,+5 52, +

Smokey said:
What do you recommend I do in the morning? Should I go with the dosing protocol based on his PS? Or, should I skip the AM?

You're not out of the woods yet......he is going up but he can still drop. It's only +6. I think worry about tonight and ask what dose you should be giving when you resume. I may be wrong but I think 2.25(as you mentioned before)is too much. Libby will be back I'm sure.
 
Re: Smokey PM 38,+30min. 62,+1 57,+2 52,+3 49,+4 48,+5 52, +

That is what I was getting at...I just wanted to have some type of guideline in the morning when it is time for the next meal. Feed like usual and if the PS calls for insulin or if it is above X number, give him 2.25 or 2.0? Or even lower? I don't want to mess anything up here.
 
Re: Smokey PM 38,+30min. 62,+1 57,+2 52,+3 49,+4 48,+5 52, +

it's too soon to worry about morning, IMHO. If Smokey's nadir is really about +12, then you might still have several hours to go. He hasn't gotten much of a rise yet, even with all the gravy and syrup, so I think we're still fighting.

I know these numbers aren't horribly low, but keep in mind that you have been feeding him gravy every 30 minutes since +2. Without that, he would be lower.
 
Re: Smokey PM 38,+30min. 62,+1 57,+2 52,+3 49,+4 48,+5 52, +

Smokey said:
That is what I was getting at...I just wanted to have some type of guideline in the morning when it is time for the next meal. Feed like usual and if the PS calls for insulin or if it is above X number, give him 2.25 or 2.0? Or even lower? I don't want to mess anything up here.


I won't call it but I'm guessing that Libby will suggest 1.75-2.0. But for now you need to check Smokey again in 30 minutes,k? wait for Libby to tell you whether or not to give more HC....
 
Re: Smokey PM 38,+30min. 62,+1 57,+2 52,+3 49,+4 48,+5 52, +

Will do...see you all soon and Thank you.
 
Re: Smokey PM 38,+30min. 62,+1 57,+2 52,+3 49,+4 48,+5 52, +

a couple of things to think about for AM:

1) at this point it's hard to say what the right dose is for Smokey. When he was on 2 units, he earned a reduction (due to a 40) that wasn't taken. Later you took the reduction to 1.5 - I suggested 1.75 as being what the protocol would have called for. I still think that is the most logical dose for Smokey at this time. You'll want to keep getting spot checks so the dose can be adjusted from there if needed.

2) What you don't want to do is adjust too frequently. You only gave one cycle on 1.75 and two cycles on 2.0 before increasing again to 2.5. 2.5 units is clearly too much for Smokey right now so we need to go lower than that and work methodically to find out what his correct dose is.

3) I don't think we'll be able to know whether it is ok to shoot in the morning until morning. There isn't a number that I can say is safe to shoot or not, until we see how the rest of the cycle goes. Sorry! I suggest getting a +11 and posting for advice, so there will be time for you to get feedback before AMPS.
 
Re: Smokey PM 38,+30min. 62,+1 57,+2 52,+3 49,+4 48,+5 52, +

+7 = 127 :smile:

Good Night everyone, thanks so much for hanging in there with us!
 
Re: Smokey PM 38,+30min. 62,+1 57,+2 52,+3 49,+4 48,+5 52, +

ok, getting better.

I'm losing track of when he has eaten - when was the dry food/karo given? What did he eat after +6?
 
Re: Smokey PM 38,+30min. 62,+1 57,+2 52,+3 49,+4 48,+5 52, +

ps - I'm thinking that if you get a +7.5, that might give us a clue whether sleep might be happening tonight or not. When the karo wears off, he can drop again, so we have to watch for that and be sure there is food in his system too.

How is Smokey doing? Does he still have an appetite?
 
Re: Smokey PM 38,+30min. 62,+1 57,+2 52,+3 49,+4 48,+5 52, +

Denne,

You need to give Smokey food before you go to sleep and it would be a very good idea IF you are planning on going to bed now to set an alarm for 60 minutes from now and do another check. Smokey can drop as quickly as he did before. Not saying he will but he definitely could without food, and you need to be there to catch him if he does. If he has risen ....feed him again and then check 90 minutes from then. Just an alternative to staying up all night. You still need to watch him though. His last huge drop was at +12.
 
Re: Smokey PM 38,+30min. 62,+1 57,+2 52,+3 49,+4 48,+5 52, +

Denne,

Are you still here? Caryl is right on the money. You need to feed and then set alarms to check several more times during the night. Even with a higher +7, there are potentially several more hours in Smokey's cycle that he could drop when the food/karo wears off.
 
Re: Smokey PM 38,+30min. 62,+1 57,+2 52,+3 49,+4 48,+5 52, +

whoa! sorry, not so fast, denne. i want to second what libby and caryl have said. you need to continue checking smokey. grab some cat naps and set your alarm. "IF" smokey is a late nadir kitty (like we've sometimes seen on his ss) he can drop again when the hc and karo wear off.
 
Re: Smokey PM 38,+30min. 62,+1 57,+2 52,+3 49,+4 48,+5 52, +

My husband stayed up another hour with Smokey and he tested 189 at +7.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top