Smokey now high!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Olive & Paula

Member Since 2015
Pmps is now 578. I gave 3u cuz I didn't want to bump up to much. I will check again in a while. I was at work since 10am so there wasn't anything extra to eat. His food has not been changed. I think he has lost some weight, I've been wondering if he was getting enough food. It seems a lot of people feed theirs a lot more than he gets . I just got a scale (borrowed) but don't know how accurate it is. Tomorrow hubby is home so we can get him weighed. I don't get why he won't settle down.
 
Tests in the +3 to +5 hour period post-shot may show how low Smokey is going; you can't keep increasing if it is taking him lower than 68 mg/dL minimum, and because of how harsh Vetsulin can be, I wouldn't go let him get below 80 mg/dL on an AlphaTrak, just to have a bit of a buffer.

Tests in the +10 to +11 hour period may show if the Vetsulin is wearing off before 12 hours (likely). Documenting that would help get you switched to a longer actin insulin such as PZI or ProZinc, maybe even Lantus or Levemir if your vet was willing.
 
Tests in the +3 to +5 hour period post-shot may show how low Smokey is going; you can't keep increasing if it is taking him lower than 68 mg/dL minimum, and because of how harsh Vetsulin can be, I wouldn't go let him get below 80 mg/dL on an AlphaTrak, just to have a bit of a buffer.

Tests in the +10 to +11 hour period may show if the Vetsulin is wearing off before 12 hours (likely). Documenting that would help get you switched to a longer actin insulin such as PZI or ProZinc, maybe even Lantus or Levemir if your vet was willing.

I know to well about the dropping. Had 2 hypo episodes earlier in the month. He was on prozinc a year ago but it's something I can't afford every month. Especially now that my hours were just cut again. I have the PZI info to give vet when I go next week with my other cat. It will give him some time to look it over before I take Smokey in on the 1st.
 
OK. Just don't raise the dose based on the pre-shot tests if he's already gone hypo on you, because it is taking him too low already.
 
The only way I can think of to make the Vetsulin work better for him would be dosing every 8 hours (TID). You'd take the total daily dose, and divide by 3 to get the amount for each dose. This would result in some overlap (you'd need to be really consistent on timing) and would probably deal with any duration issues. Something to discuss with the vet, if it would be feasible for you.
 
It's something to think about. I work but hrs were j u st again, so it would only be 2 days I need to figure out times.
 
He had a great cycle last night with a yellow preshot this am. I would guess the black pmps was a bounce from a number midcycle yesterday. It doesn't look to me like the Vetsulin is only lasting 8 hours. Last night he was still dropping at +5 and he stayed low for this am.

Can you get some numbers today and see how he does? It looks like 3 units brought down the black pmps but I think 3 units could be high for lower ranges. I like your 2 units this am. Let's see how it does.
 
It's so strange. At 2.75u his BS stays high for 48 hrs. But 2u will keep in in good numbers for a day or two then he goes back up again. Today +6 is good. I would like it if he stays around that. I know I want to much.

I have increased his food (all canned) since last night +5 reading. This am I tested, fed, shot 20 minutes later. +3 he had rest of breakfast. At +6 he had snack. Now he doesn't seem so hungry today.
 
Sometimes the +2 number is food influenced and it goes up before going down.

I'd encourage you to think of the tests as data gathering. Try not to worry about any one test or even a cycle. You want to look at the big picture. Is he in general good ranges overall? Are his numbers generally safe and generally lower overall? That's what you want to see.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top