? Smokey BG Curve Done: Increase Dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rusty & Smokey

Member Since 2015
Did a curve on Smokey on Friday. Missed the last two readings because we lost power, but I got the nadir.

Spreadsheet with curve marked is in my signature. Should we increase his dose of Lantus? He's on 1 IU twice daily.
 
The SLGS dosing method says to hold the dose if you are seeing some numbers below 150, which you are are. I would stay at 1.0 unit, and try to get some night time tests. Cats often go lower at night. A test just before going to bed can be very informative on how a dose is doing. I wouldn't be surprised if he is seeing some lower numbers at night. And please, for Smokey's safety, get a test before every shot. Power is not needed for tests. Meters are battery operated, so are flashlights. Been there, done that.
 
The SLGS dosing method says to hold the dose if you are seeing some numbers below 150, which you are are. I would stay at 1.0 unit, and try to get some night time tests. Cats often go lower at night. A test just before going to bed can be very informative on how a dose is doing. I wouldn't be surprised if he is seeing some lower numbers at night. And please, for Smokey's safety, get a test before every shot. Power is not needed for tests. Meters are battery operated, so are flashlights. Been there, done that.

What do you recommend for warming his ears? We were using a rice filled sock that we stuck in the microwave.

Thanks for the fast reply and the advice! :)
 
Is the rice sock not working? I used to fill a pill bottle or old film canister with warm/hot water, just not too hot.
 
His PMPS number was 54, and he was very slightly disoriented, but he's gobbling his food and tried sampling his brother's wet food as well! Should I worry too much? We will recheck his BG in an hour or so, and he is not getting his shot tonight.
 
Good thing you tested tonight! :eek: Smokey earned a reduction. His dose tomorrow morning should be 0.75 units.

Testing in an hour is a good plan..
 
Update: Forgot to add that his +2 reading last night was 167.

Gave him 0.75 IU just now, since we'd rather have him run a little high today than have another hypo episode. :)
 
Good decision. Cats often bounce after going lower than they are used to being. It can take a few cycles to see how long a bounce will last and how they do on the new dose. Around here you need patience pants, lol.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top