Smokey 5/31 - AM- 295, +11 323, PM-281, +2 350

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Smokey 5/31 - AMPS 295 (new dose)

A nice yellow morning for Smokey to begin his day :-D
Good luck with the dosecrease.
 
Re: Smokey 5/31 - AMPS 295 (new dose)

Hi guys ... sunny yellow for smokey today .. good luck with the dose increase and the urine sample! have a great day guys!
 
Re: Smokey 5/31 - AM- 295, +11 323, PM-281

Urinalysis came back with no bacteria. He does have 4+ glucose in the urine and no ketones.

The vet and I are so confused as to why Smokey is all over the board. We both agree that having 1 day of 500's, then the next day in the 200's or lower is just so challenging.

He said that since he is Hyperthyroid, I will probably always deal with this (even though I've got his T-4 down to 1.9).

I'm not sure if I should switch to a different type of insulin?? Do some cats do better with the long acting insulins vs. the short acting insulins?
 
Re: Smokey 5/31 - AM- 295, +11 323, PM-281--Test Results

I suspect that some cats may do better on a different insulin. However, the research with Lantus is impressive.

I don't know that you've been able to give Lantus a reasonable evaluation yet. When you first started out, you were dose hopping. More recently, you've had a couple of fur shots, I'm not remembering why the dose was dropped to 1.0u and then brought up again without waiting for the dose to stabilize, etc. Regardless, it meant that the dose was being shifted around. The key to Lantus is consistency and you've been much better about keeping the dose consistent. It's likely that Smokey is still not at a good dose and will need more insulin to get the cycle to flatten out. The protocol we use brings the dose up relatively slowly and carefully. While the likelihood that you will miss a good dose is minimized, it's at the cost of time. The other trade off is that unlike the shorter acting types of insulin that pound numbers down, Lantus is much gentler. Again, there are trade offs. Instead of that harsh potency, you gain longer duration.
 
Re: Smokey 5/31 - AM- 295, +11 323, PM-281--Test Results

That makes a lot of sense. I was doing what my vet told me to do in the beginning and now I'm taking FDMB into consideration and just updating my vet as needed. I'm tryinig to stay as consistent as possible now and giving each dose time. Looking back, he seems to have done the best on 2 so I guess we will see! It is so weird, lately I feel the needle go in through the skin and when I pull it out, I have wet fur. I look like this when it happens... :o :o

I've never had fur shots until recently. Maybe I'm going down to low on the belly and it is coming out the side!! I'll start doing the shoulder from now on!!

What does Glucose in the urine do for a kitty? I know it is not good but do you know what potential harm this causes by staying at 4+ for an extended period of time?
 
Feeling a bit of wet fur may not indicate a fur shot. I know when I'm adjusting Gabby's dose, there's often a drop or two of insulin on the outside of the syringe. It may be those drops that you're feeling. (Or, you've given a fur shot.)

One of the issues with glucose in the urine is the potential damage it can do to the kidneys. You may have read about keeping BG levels below renal threshold (usually somewhere in the mid-to-low 200s). This is the point at which there isn't glucose in the urine and there's less potential for kidney damage. Also, do keep n mind that it takes an extended period, like months and months, of high BG levels for there to be kidney damage.
 
These yellow PS's are a nice change from the recent pinks! Hopefully this dose settles in a bit and starts to bring BGs lower over time. Trust me, you'll get there...and you're heading in the right direction!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top