Smokey 5/24 AMPS - 392, +11 362, PMPS 332 (Back from Vet)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Smokey 5/24 AMPS - 392, +11 362, PMPS 332 (at vet)

Back from vet everyone! I am the only kitty left since my vet switched to Lantus that has not gone into remission already! It was me and another lady left and she had her appt. today (when I was there) and was given the good news! I was so happy for her but it was bitter sweet and reminded me how happy it made me when it happened last year. :cry:

This appt. today was to compare my meter with his blood machine that does all of the in-house blood work. I brought my meter and my meter read 332 and his machine read 414. I was a little relieved to see that Smokey's numbers may have not been as low the other night as my meter was reading but none the less, it was still a huge difference.

We also did a full blood chemistry to see if regulating his Hyper-T uncovered any kidney problems, failure, lymphoma, etc. and everything was normal...Thank god! We will re-check that in 3 months.

I'm still at 1.75! Aren't you proud of me Caryl?! :-D
 
Re: Smokey 5/24 AMPS - 392, +11 362, PMPS 332 (Back from Vet

Glad the Vet visit was productive.

And good for you for sticking w/a dose for a period of time. Yay!!!!!
 
Re: Smokey 5/24 AMPS - 392, +11 362, PMPS 332 (Back from Vet

heehee, you're so cute, denne'! i'm sure caryl will be by eventually to see your comment!

good for you for holding the dose for now. i'll guess (but don't know) that you're still seeing the effects of the high carb load he got night before last. that dry kitty crack takes a while to work out of their systems, apparently.

glad you didn't uncover any other problems for mr smokey! diabetes & hyper T are enough to deal with!
 
Re: Smokey 5/24 AMPS - 392, +11 362, PMPS 332 (Back from Vet

That's not actually correct. Unless you are using an AlphaTrack meter, your numbers would be routinely at least 30 points lower than what your vet's meter reads if the vet's meter is calibrated for felines. Ditto for a serum chemistry analyzer. (In other words, if below 50 earns a decrease with a human meter, a decrease is earned with an 80 on either an AlphaTrack or a serum chemistry analyser.) Also, you are not factoring in at least 10 - 20% variance between meters or that when comparing meters, there can be bigger differences at the high and/or low ends of the scale. The bottom line is you go with the readings YOUR meter gives you since that's what you are basing decisions on day in and day out. Concluding that your meter is giving lower readings than your vet's gives you what could easily be a false sense of confidence. I would rather intervene with a reading of 38 than lull myself into complacency by figuring that it's really not that low.

I hope you realize that Sunday night could have been a very serious and dangerous situation. I will shoot low numbers. You've been shooting greens that I would not even consider shooting. If there's anything to be learned, do NOT shoot a number below 50 -- you don't have enough spot checks, IMHO, to even be shooting that low. You need more spot checks in order to make any dose adjustment. This is a post from Jill about the importance of spot checks and dose adjustments.

Also, since you shot an hour late this evening, are you able to shoot 12 hours from now? The most you can move your shot time is 15 min. per cycle or 30 min. once a day. An early shot functions like a dose increase.
 
Re: Smokey 5/24 AMPS - 392, +11 362, PMPS 332 (Back from Vet

Denne: so glad all is good with the bloodwork. Also glad you held the dose!! I hope Smokey is feeling totally back to normal.
 
Re: Smokey 5/24 AMPS - 392, +11 362, PMPS 332 (Back from Vet

Denne - YAY on the bloodwork - I am so glad all is back to normal, and that Smokey is feeling good. :-D .
 
Re: Smokey 5/24 AMPS - 392, +11 362, PMPS 332 (Back from Vet

I didn't say that I was going to shoot lower numbers or that I felt any better. I was stating that my meter was different than his machine. He also compared my meter to the same meter he uses for spot checks and his was also higher (which I know was varience between meters). That is all I was saying...It doesn't change anything.

I also am not dismissing Sunday night as being severe. I am fully aware what could have happen and I can't Thank everyone enough!

His shot time is at 6:00pm and it was a Post-12 hour test. I could not feed nor could I shoot before the testing. We were only planning on being there for 20 minutes but it ended up being an hour so my husband ran home and put some Lantus in the syringe and brought up food so I could give it to him while he was there in his cage. That was the best I could do. I wouldn't have had him drive all the way home if I wasn't concerned.

Since I gave at 7:00 tonight, I will shoot at 7:00 tomorrow morning, then decrease the time by 15 minutes back down until I reach 6:00 again.
 
Re: Smokey 5/24 AMPS - 392, +11 362, PMPS 332 (Back from Vet

It wasn't my intention to sound harsh. The way the info read, at least to me, was that the numbers on Sunday weren't so bad since your meter ran low -- at least in comparison with the vet's meter/analyzer.

The mention of shot time was just a reminder.
 
Re: Smokey 5/24 AMPS - 392, +11 362, PMPS 332 (Back from Vet

E-mails can read in so many different tones, I realized that on mine too. I wasn't saying that, I promise :smile:

Just saying what happened at the vet and I was just trying to stay positive :smile:
 
Re: Smokey 5/24 AMPS - 392, +11 362, PMPS 332 (Back from Vet

I'm glad everything went well at the vets today and hope that Smokey comes down for you soon.. :-D
 
Re: Smokey 5/24 AMPS - 392, +11 362, PMPS 332 (Back from Vet

Smokey said:
E-mails can read in so many different tones, I realized that on mine too. I wasn't saying that, I promise :smile:

Just saying what happened at the vet and I was just trying to stay positive :smile:

Yes, I am happy that you didn't adjust the dose again, Denne :-D
Keep it up. I mean keep the dose the way it is until you're advised to do otherwise...just wanted to clarify. Sorry I didn't answer you sooner I've had a migraine all day.( I did look for a post by you earlier but didn't see it...I guess my head was blinding me).

Sienne is so right about the meter thing...they're all a little different. Just go by yours. The highs are the highs on YOURS..so actually Smokey DID drop that low...compared to what he was on YOUR meter....regardless of what the number was. And you had a hard time bringing him up. Alex dropped to 38 yesterday and I got him up to 70 in 30 minutes. That doesn't always happen but when it doesn't it is more serious. I KNOW you know this, I'm just reiterating.... :smile:

How many cats does your vet have on Lantus...3? Don't feel bad, Denne....just for the record, I don't believe him. I mean I do, but I don't think it's the way a cat would go into remission in Lantus Land. Look at all of the cats on FDMB. In comparison to how many there are, relatively few have gone into remission. If this is the truth according to him, then he's probably taking them off when they aren't ready to be off with no OTJ trials, etc. Don't be upset because of that...seriously! You have no idea how or why he's taking them off insulin...probably not the same way they go into remission here.Most vets don't sit and read the TR protocol. I know yours doesn't because he had you switching doses every other day. (not to say that he isn't a good vet but I have come to truly believe that many vets-including mine-are GREAT for most medical stuff but not so great for the diabetes stuff)! Just be happy that Smokey's tests came back normal...k?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top