Smokey 5/23 AMPS 570, +5 313, +11 HI

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Smokey 5/23 AMPS 570 - Dose?

hi good morning!

Just catching up here on last nite....I agree with Libby's suggestion on 1.75u, as per previous nite.
Will you be around to spotcheck today?
 
Re: Smokey 5/23 AMPS 570 - Dose?

I have to leave for work...I have 3 new Dentists starting today that I have to train :o

I went ahead and gave 1.75 with his morning meal. I pray this was the right choice.

To answer a couple questions last night: I was giving wet, dry and or Kayro every 30-45 minutes last night up until he started to increase (so we could the actual rise). Smokey's belly was bloated but he never lost hunger which was good. I was worried about that! Feels extra heavy this morning!

I will log in when I get to the office and check in from time to time today! Thanks again everyone!
 
Re: Smokey 5/23 AMPS 570 - Dose?

I have been looking for you Denne and checked your ss like 30 minutes ago.

1.75 was the right choice as far as I'm concerned. No matter where Smokey is at when you get home(and I mean no matter how high,of course) PLEASE stay at 1.75. If you have any doubts or feel like you "should" shoot some "other" dose at PMPS, COME HERE FIRST!!! Please don't make any decision by yourself. And if you don't have them already, pick up some Ketostix.....like I said, you can stick them in newly pee'd on litter.That does work.

You made the right choice. ;-)

Have a good day :)

ETA: Denne saw your remark about your DH staying up for another hour with Smokey and that's great. It's great news that he was at 189 at +7. But we had no way of knowing that and were very worried. Can you possibly teach him to update the ss so if something like this happens again, we can go to bed too :)
 
Re: Smokey 5/23 AMPS 570 - Dose?

Whew, what a crazy night you had! I was watching from afar (I didn't want to post while all the craziness was going on). You did a GREAT job handling those low numbers and responding to his falls. It's definitely a condo I will return to for advice if Guinness ever throws a low number again.

I hope you are able to keep on task this morning with your new dentist training...maybe you can just show them where the drill bits and fluoride are kept and then sneak off into the xray room for a little "cat nap". Plus, aren't they suppose to get all that training in dental school??? :lol:

Have a great day! I hope Smokey clears his bounce soon and levels out at a nice set of low, but not stress-inducing low numbers for you!
 
Re: Smokey 5/23 AMPS 570 - Dose?

I know it's going to be hard Denne, but Smokey might bounce for a few days after late yesterday/last night. PLEASE take what the experts here have advised to heart....sit on this dose of 1.75u for awhile, no matter how high Smokey goes.

You did well last night, and I'm glad you had Sienne's and Libby's support. I was watching from afar but didn't want to interfere with superfluous posts when every post was critical to Smokey's survival. You can do this. It's a dance, and you'll learn what unique dance Smokey likes over time!
 
Re: Smokey 5/23 AMPS 570 - Dose?

Unfortunately Dental School does not prepare new grads on many aspects of their first jobs. They need plenty of support when starting at a Practice. I love Dentistry!

Trust me, I showed my husband this morning and was like, "Why didn't you update anything"! That was his first time getting blood too! He apologizes and said that he thought that since the 127 came about that he didn't think to update when the number was still on the increase. So sorry ladies.

I e-mailed the vet to keep him updated on what occured last night for Smokey's chart.
 
Re: Smokey 5/23 AMPS 570, +5 313

Just read through your condo from yesterday and wanted to stop by and say great job! Hope your day goes well!
 
Re: Smokey 5/23 AMPS 570, +5 313

Hi guys .. just caught up on last nights condo .. great job handling everything! Sounds like you are getting good dose advice from everyone so I'll just say you guys are doing awesome .. have a great day!
 
Re: Smokey 5/23 AMPS 570 - Dose?

Smokey said:
Unfortunately Dental School does not prepare new grads on many aspects of their first jobs. They need plenty of support when starting at a Practice. I love Dentistry!

Trust me, I showed my husband this morning and was like, "Why didn't you update anything"! That was his first time getting blood too! He apologizes and said that he thought that since the 127 came about that he didn't think to update when the number was still on the increase. So sorry ladies.

I e-mailed the vet to keep him updated on what occured last night for Smokey's chart.

Huh what? I was sleeping...

No worries ...Now you know :)

Glad he's coming down...but don't get any 'ideas'..like 'more is better' k? Cause you saw, it isn't! :o
 
Re: Smokey 5/23 AMPS 570, +5 313

hope you're having a super day at work with the new dentists! sounds like fun! :lol: so glad smokey pulled through fine last night and you're on to a new day that's looking better.
 
Back from work...got a +11 and received my first, "HI". God I just can't believe we are going through this! He did get into his sister's food anywhere between +1 and +3 today and ate quite a bit. I gave her some sneak food this morning and forgot to take it back up and left for work. I have NEVER done this and I just cannot believe I did! I came home at +5 to test and he was at 313 and now we are HI tonight!. :sad:

I received an e-mail from the vet today and he would like me to go in tomorrow for another blood chemistry. He wants to rule out Renal Failure and some other diseases that Hyper-T can mask. Since Hyper-T is down to 1.9, the blood work should be accurate.
 
Smokey said:
Back from work...got a +11 and received my first, "HI". God I just can't believe we are going through this! He did get into his sister's food anywhere between +1 and +3 today and ate quite a bit. I gave her some sneak food this morning and forgot to take it back up and left for work. I have NEVER done this and I just cannot believe I did! I came home at +5 to test and he was at 313 and now we are HI tonight!. :sad:

I received an e-mail from the vet today and he would like me to go in tomorrow for another blood chemistry. He wants to rule out Renal Failure and some other diseases that Hyper-T can mask. Since Hyper-T is down to 1.9, the blood work should be accurate.

Don't get frustrated....he ate high carb food. this would be expected. So you'll just wait it out. You are now working on a bounce and an overload of carbs but do not shoot over 1.75 no matter how badly you want to..okay? Smokey WILL come down again!

Do you have ketostix?
 
Caryl, you crack me up! It's not funny at all, I understand but with all that has happened and I saw my first, "HI" (which means over 600)? My first thought was, "Ol' man! I wish I could give more"! But, I didn't! 1.75 tonight! My poor boy looks like he just ate at the olive garden and wants to purge himself!

He's eating his regular dinner now VERY s-l-o-w!
 
Smokey said:
I came home at +5 to test and he was at 313 and now we are HI tonight!. :sad:
the bounce is to be expected after the over dosing. it can take up to 72 hours for smokey to clear the bounce. please do not become tempted to increase the dose. hold the dose at 1.75 units, k?
 
Smokey said:
Caryl, you crack me up! It's not funny at all, I understand but with all that has happened and I saw my first, "HI" (which means over 600)? My first thought was, "Ol' man! I wish I could give more"! But, I didn't! 1.75 tonight! My poor boy looks like he just ate at the olive garden and wants to purge himself!

He's eating his regular dinner now VERY s-l-o-w!

I crack YOU up??? I wouldn't say things like that if I didn't realize that you get tempted very easily. I hope you now realize that doing that makes things worse. Maybe when you start seeing the normal progression of how increases should work, you'll understand what a bad girl you have been ohmygod_smile LOL
 
I'm glad you stayed with the 1.75. As Jill said, a bounce was inevitable after last night's lows, and the bounce can last up to 72 hours. It's important to hold the dose at least that long to see what happens when the bounce clears (unless he goes too low, then of course you would reduce).

At least maybe Smokey is going to let you get some sleep tonight!

Now that Smokey is safe, do you have any questions about what happened (or could have happened) last night? I sent you the link to the Low Preshots post, so hopefully that will help. My best advice is if you are at all unsure about what to do, always post here first and get some input BEFORE you do something. That way we can help you think it through. It is a lot easier to understand some of these decisions if you have someone walk you through it the first couple of times. You can read and read the stickies, but some of them just don't make sense until all of a sudden you are living them.
 
I know, All we can do is go forward from here and learn from our mistakes right? While Smokey is this HI for the next 72 hours, do I feed like normal?

Nervous about the vet visit tomorrow, I will have the blood work results by the time I leave there.
 
Your so right Libby! You can read everything 100 times and when it actually happens to you...you still panic!! I'm so greatful to have you lovely ladies.
 
If I knew how to post a picture of him right now into a condo I would....poor baby! For the first time in his life, he doesn't meow everytime I walk into the kitchen...he just lays there and stares at me thinking, "Oh no, not more food mommy"!
 
Too funny! I don't think I have ever seen Guinness full! What a couple of days you have had! I hope you get some restful sleep this evening!
 
linda and guinness said:
Too funny! I don't think I have ever seen Guinness full! What a couple of days you have had! I hope you get some restful sleep this evening!

Alex is like a bottomless pit also most of the time..thank goodness because he has some days when I need to feed him up quite a bit too...and he loves every second of it :roll:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top