Smokey 4/22 AMPS 350 | PMPS 315

Status
Not open for further replies.

Smokey

Member Since 2010
Sorry, we haven't posted in a few days! I've been so busy at work and exhausted when I come home!

Since Smokey's Dx of Hyper-T on Tuesday, I have started the medication and have decreased the insulin down to 1 unit (since the medication/regulation of the Hyper-T is supposed to help the BG come down) and poor Smokey has drank SOOOOOOO much water over these past 2 days. It is almost unbelievable when I see it! He drank a lot of water before the dx. also though...just a little more now! I feel so bad for him!

Does anyone know when I should start to see some type of results in the water and weight coming back on after starting the meds?

Happy Easter!
They should have a holiday for the kitties too! The kitties are WAY cuter than all those pink bunnies!
(actually, everyday is a holiday for all our kitties)!
bcatrun_gif
 
Hi guys .. no need to apologize for not being here everyday .. we all get busy .. No real advice on when you should start seeing changes in smokey, hopefully soon .. have a great weekend guys!
 
Hi Denne' & Smokey,

I have no experience with Hyper-T (yet), so I don't have an answer to your questions and hopefully, someone will pipe in and give you and answer. You might want to put "hyper-T question" on your subject line so the people with that experience will zero in on your post.

I'm sorry he's drinking so much water. It's frustrating to see them just keep going back to the bowl or to see it drop so low. I knew Guinness was off OTJ the minute I saw him take his first drink from the bowl he hadn't touched in 2 years.

I'll be thinking low numbers and healed thyroids for Smokey all weekend. Have a good weekend.
 
Hi Denne', I don't remember being told by the vet to decrease insulin while taking the Hyper T medicine (Tapezole/methimazole). But by the time we got the Hyper T diagnosis Stu's diabetes was much better regulated and we had decreased his insulin in accordance with the protocol. In any event, Stu also had Chronic Renal Failure and therefore drank lots of water; I don't know if Hyper T also causes increased water consumption (but since it speeds up everything else in the body, it is logical that it would). Whatever. It is important for Smokey not to get dehydrated, so you might want to get him a pet water fountain (I was advised to do this and Stu loved his fountain). Is Smokey peeing a lot? You might have to begin giving squids, too. Did your vet do the tests for renal values?
I suggest you post on the Health forum to get some more experienced eyes on your problem.
In the meantime I am going to go back and look at Stu's spreadsheet to see when the various symptoms materialized and what his bg was doing. You might want to look at it too. The link is in my signature.
I am thinking good thoughts for you. I know how scary this is. Hang in there.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
Ella & Rusty

p.s. I just read through Stu's SS. Pretty depressing beginning in the mid summer. Maybe it would be a mistake for you to read it! But don't forget that ECID. All those hairballs I document in the spring were undoubtedly early symptoms of Hyper-T. Stu used to pull out his dander in clumps and probably ingested a lot of hair (but his coat always looked great, even at the end: soft and silky. He was a domestic short hair, tuxedo).
It was a struggle to get Stu's diabetes as well under control as it was. I shot PZI Vet blind for 4 years after his dx (in Jan. 2006) and only found this board in January 2010, when PZI Vet was discontinued and my vet put him on Lantus, but prescribed much too high a dose (7 units bid!). If it were not for this board his body would not have been able to sustain that huge dose and undoubtedly he would not have lived as long as he did (and he was a happy cat until mid summer).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top