Smiffy's readings end July

Status
Not open for further replies.

Looby & Smiffy

Member Since 2016
@Alexi @MrWorfMen's Mom This thread is about Smiffy's readings since her trip to the Vet and I really appreciate your help on a daily basis if I have not already made that clear ... love having you on our journey together .....

After the high reading this morning she is at +5 now back down to 14.4 thank goodness so I am a lot happier with that ...
 
Looby, I assume you gave Smiffy 1u this morning? You didn't mark the dose on your spreadsheet this morning so when you have a second can you fill that in please so we don't lose track. :D He was bound to be higher this morning after the fur shot last night and he has come down now, so you can relax and go get some rest. Don't be surprised if he is still a bit high tonight though. That's normal. It will probably take a day or so to get back to more expected numbers.
 
Looby, I assume you gave Smiffy 1u this morning? You didn't mark the dose on your spreadsheet this morning so when you have a second can you fill that in please so we don't lose track. :D He was bound to be higher this morning after the fur shot last night and he has come down now, so you can relax and go get some rest. Don't be surprised if he is still a bit high tonight though. That's normal. It will probably take a day or so to get back to more expected numbers.
 
Thanks Linda ........ Yes I gave Smiffy one unit this morning ...... thanks for your support and hopefully will speak later ... yes I am pleased Smiffy (girl) is now down to 14.4 now - back on track :)
 
I'm so pleased .... Smiffy's preshot is 12.4 so heading back to the lower numbers ....... just hope I get the chance now to do a +3 number ..... going to give her one unit tonight .....

Damn she is having a I am not going to eat evening ..... she has not had much all day ... tail swishing .... she didn't take the preshot very well so I will have to be a bit patient .... her bowl is at the top of the stairs at the moment and she is just staring at it .....

Put a treat on it and she at a bit more so I gave her her shot in the hope that she will come downstairs and eat some more in a moment which is what she usually does when she has forgiven me ...

Interesting that her preshot number tonight is lower than her +5 and +7 ...... usually she would gradually get higher as the Caninsulin wears off ..... I wonder if this really does mean that in Smiffy the Caninsulin DOES last almost if not all of the 12 hours?

Will try to get a +3 but it might be difficult if she has retreated upstairs now ..... I had to get her in from her outdoor resting place on the rug on the bench to give her her shot and she is fed up with me for moving her as well as testing her ear ...

I am really gently with her and I am not stressed when I test her and give her her shot ...... but she still swishes her tail and gives me a look of thunder ...

Little tinker ....
 
Last edited:
Good to know Smiffy's numbers have come down. Please do try to get that +3 test Looby. Smiffy has been a little unpredictable the last couple of days so getting that test in would be really helpful to try to work through that puzzle that Smiffy is giving you and ensure she stays safe. That's quite the drop for that late in the day. I'm sure she will forgive you by that time. ;) They don't usually hold long grudges!
 
My lowest pre-shot has been 5.8 recently from a start point in the 20's! I am hoping the pancreas is kicking in and giving a little nudge as she spends more time in lower numbers - maybe Smiffy is doing the same?
 
Just had a tummy upset ... all the stress of today but I will still try to get a +3 reading from Smiffy this evening ........

Hour later and Smiffy's +3 is 11.9 so not gone down very much yet .....
 
My lowest pre-shot has been 5.8 recently from a start point in the 20's! I am hoping the pancreas is kicking in and giving a little nudge as she spends more time in lower numbers - maybe Smiffy is doing the same?
Wow that is quite a drop .... just done the +3 and it is not much lower at 11.9 but still a better number than in the last few days (:
 
Looby, is it possible for you to get a +4 reading from Smiffy tonight? I am very curious as to what appears to be a later nadir than usual and I agree the Caninsulin does appear to be lasting longer for Smiffy than it does with many cats. I'm just surprised she hasn't dropped more at +3 with the 1u.:)
 
Looby, is it possible for you to get a +4 reading from Smiffy tonight? I am very curious as to what appears to be a later nadir than usual and I agree the Caninsulin does appear to be lasting longer for Smiffy than it does with many cats. I'm just surprised she hasn't dropped more at +3 with the 1u.:)
I am surprised too ...... I will try for a +4 .........
 
Oh I a so annoyed ...... have just woken up and it is +5 but did the test anyway (3am!) and she was 12.8. I am now wondering if she w0uld have dropped very much at +4 and that it seems likely that +3 is her Nadir ......... it's so hot in the house even with the fan on - can't believe a fell asleep for two hours! Try again tomorrrow ...... for a +4 reading or +3.5 even ....
 
It's morning now and Smiffy's number is higher again 16.4 preshot after nice lowish numbers last night ..... of course the insulin is working I am just wondering why her morning preshot is so much higher than her evenning preshot number .... could it be because for the whole of the afternoon she has been relaxing on her rug on the bench outside?

Her numbers for the past week have been overall higher than the previous week when I was getting those nice low numbers .... if only I could get Smiffy to eat enough at her main meal times then I would be able to give her a one and half unit shot with now worries ......

I think I may call her Vet Roberta about the numbers being higher or I could e-mail her spreadsheet to her and ask her to give me a call once she has had a chance to look at them ...

Smiffy has once again only had a little bit of breakfast so I have only given her one unit on 16.4 when ideally I would like to give her one and a half .... but I am not around to see to her if she has a hypo at 1pm .... she is outside now and not in the bedroom with me as she used to be as it is cooler outside to makes it more difficult ....
 
Last edited:
Unfortunately, our kitties won't eat on command (neither will a lot of human kids either! LOL!) so that is something you have to work around. I take it she comes back to her food later and is a grazer of sorts. Exercise can elevate BG so yes I guess lounging all afternoon could lower it although if she is in the garden, I'd expect there would be enough "interesting" activity going on out there with birds, squirrels, outside noises etc. to create a stimulating environment anyway. Every cat is different and every day is a bit different. No harm calling the vet to see what she says. This is when finer dose adjustments become very useful.
 
Unfortunately, our kitties won't eat on command (neither will a lot of human kids either! LOL!) so that is something you have to work around. I take it she comes back to her food later and is a grazer of sorts. Exercise can elevate BG so yes I guess lounging all afternoon could lower it although if she is in the garden, I'd expect there would be enough "interesting" activity going on out there with birds, squirrels, outside noises etc. to create a stimulating environment anyway. Every cat is different and every day is a bit different. No harm calling the vet to see what she says. This is when finer dose adjustments become very useful.
I agree ..... I am going to talk to her Vet at some stage about smaller doses when her numbers get a bit lower but for the time being I am going to stick with the half units that the Caninsulin pen provides .....

Yes Smiffy come back for to have more food but not a lot ... I leave it out until about +6 or +7 so that she has food to eat if she gets a bit low or just peckish and then I put it away util her main meal time so that she is a bit hungry so that when I give her her shot she has some food inside her.

I will experiment with the needles when they arrive and perhaps start a new thread about them as I mentioned before if I start to use them, but you can probably tell I am more than apprehensive about them ...... I will make sure that I get the Vet or one of the Diabetic Nurses to show me how to use them properly if it comes to it. So in the meantime I a sticking to the pen.

Smiffy is oblivious to all this and is so well at the moment - it is a joy to see ... it is not so hot and humid today so she is a bit more in and out of the house - the last two or three days have been unbearable - none of us including the cats are used to it ......

I will try again tonight to get +3 and more importantly it seems a +4 reading to make up the picture a bit more ...
 
It's morning now and Smiffy's number is higher again 16.4 preshot after nice lowish numbers last night ..... of course the insulin is working I am just wondering why her morning preshot is so much higher than her evenning preshot number
Typically my Patches II AMPS will be 100-120 while her PMPS will be 60-80.
May BunBun's PMPS is typically about 10 higher than AMPS
My Badger's AMPS is is typically 10-20 points higher than PMPS.
 
Typically my Patches II AMPS will be 100-120 while her PMPS will be 60-80.
May BunBun's PMPS is typically about 10 higher than AMPS
My Badger's AMPS is is typically 10-20 points higher than PMPS.
Thanks for sharing that ....... it just goes to show that the saying hat every cat is different is sooo true ...
 
So we are in the evening now and my clever little Smiffy has worked out that at about 9.30 Mummy comes outside the back door and picks her up from her place on the bench and carries her in to be tested and fed and shot so she has now decided that this is a good time to go for a walk down the garden path.

This means that Mummy has to go and find her in the dark and carry her all the way up the garden path and feels really mean and then has to test her. Now Smiffy has decided that she is not going to play ball and eat all her tea but only have a little bit.

Mummy knows that she will come back for her food so is going to give her one unit as Smiffy is only 14.4 .......

Smiffy is going to play hard to get tonight so Mummy is going to have to be very crafty with her treats if she is going to get a +3 and/or a +4 reading as Smiffy is going to go upstairs and that is where all the lights are out because Daddy has already gone to bed and doesn't want the lights put on!
 
Thanks for the giggles! I think Mummy is gonna have to figure out how to outsmart her wiley widdle puddy tat! Maybe Mummy needs to invest in one of these so she can hunt Smiffy down in the dark without disturbing Daddy!:D

headlamp.jpg
 
Thanks for the giggles! I think Mummy is gonna have to figure out how to outsmart her wiley widdle puddy tat! Maybe Mummy needs to invest in one of these so she can hunt Smiffy down in the dark without disturbing Daddy!:D

View attachment 21949
That made me laugh but guess what? Mummy can see in the dark and just did a +4 reading - the first one managed of an evening and I think it must be her Nadir as she is 10.4!

Hooray .... I was asleep and woke up just in time ....... Smiffy was so sleepy she didn't really notice Mummy creep up on her and sit on her almost and prick her ear whilst putting a treats in front of her nose! Much better reading and she hasn't eaten a lot either .... Mummy feels confident to give Smiffy a one and half unit shot tomorrow....

Mummy is a silly billy as he has just realised that it is only +3 and Smiffy is 10.4 .... doh

An hour later and Mummy tested Smiffy on the doormat because Smiffy is waiting for Mummy to let her out when it gets light at 4am when Mummy goes to bed so we have a +4 which is 11.5 so now we know that Smiffy's Nadir is at about +3.

Question though: Would Smiffy's Nadir in the evening be at about the same time after her shot
in the morning?

Nite nite (:
 
Last edited:
@Alexi @MrWorfMen's Mom

Well the run around continues this morning ... Smiffy knows that I am going to test her when I wake up now so she ran under the bed so I had to jiggle with the containers under the bed to get her out so that I could test her .... good job I did as she was only preshot 13.8 .... she has had a little to eat and I just have to hope that she is going to come back for a bit more in a second when I am out of the way as she usually does ....... this is a good number for her .,.

Talk later ... have just told husband that Smiffy is too clever for her own good literally!!! (:

Here she comes to go out but I want her to eat a bit more ...... oh no she is going to the loo - hopefull in the litter tray - yes good aim so nothing to clear up on the floor ... this is how I test her becauase she pees on the floor .... I am not going to let her out but let her work out how to get out herself or maybe I could leave the door open so that she comes back in quickly if she feels a bit low ....

I have lost 21 pounds since Smiffy was diagnosed!!! (: Eat your heart out weight watchers - just need to do the sugar dance (:
 
These little fur balls can certainly keep us on our toes but seriously a 21lb weight loss since April tells me someone is stressing out a lot and probably not eating properly. Guess who? Maybe you wanted to shed a few pounds like so many of us do but that is a substantial weight loss for 3 months!

I know it's concerning when Smiffy won't eat what you think she should eat, when her BG is up, when her BG is down, or she's quieter than usual but if you really think about it, she is one very lucky kitty with a Mummy who makes sure she has everything she needs in life. If Mummy wasn't there, where would that leave Smiffy? We've all had to learn to balance things out and stop worrying quite so much about the stuff we cannot control. Smiffy will eat when Smiffy is hungry. If she eats less earlier on, she will come back and finish off her food later. She will eat more one day and less the next. Right now Looby, Smiffy is doing Ok so try to find a balance to make sure you get food into you too. Losing a few pounds from chasing down Smiffy in the garden or wrestling her out from under a bed may constitute some extra exercise but I doubt that alone has caused your weight loss.

I have a cat with a high dose condition called IAA. For a year I barely saw my cat's BG move at all but now she can suddenly take a dive unexpectedly and that has meant setting alarms for middle of the night tests. Sometimes that has gone on for too many nights and I have to make a decision that Mummy needs a night of uninterrupted sleep or a night out to get my mind off Menace. So occasionally, I give her what is known around here as a big chicken shot so Mummy can have some "me" time. Sure we play a little catch up game afterwards, but I am prepared to deal with whatever she throws at me and that means I am better prepared to keep her safe. I think rule number one of this dance should be that the Caregiver has to take care of themselves first. As they say on an airplane, put your oxygen mask on first, then attend to those who need your assistance.:D
 
These little fur balls can certainly keep us on our toes but seriously a 21lb weight loss since April tells me someone is stressing out a lot and probably not eating properly. Guess who? Maybe you wanted to shed a few pounds like so many of us do but that is a substantial weight loss for 3 months!

I know it's concerning when Smiffy won't eat what you think she should eat, when her BG is up, when her BG is down, or she's quieter than usual but if you really think about it, she is one very lucky kitty with a Mummy who makes sure she has everything she needs in life. If Mummy wasn't there, where would that leave Smiffy? We've all had to learn to balance things out and stop worrying quite so much about the stuff we cannot control. Smiffy will eat when Smiffy is hungry. If she eats less earlier on, she will come back and finish off her food later. She will eat more one day and less the next. Right now Looby, Smiffy is doing Ok so try to find a balance to make sure you get food into you too. Losing a few pounds from chasing down Smiffy in the garden or wrestling her out from under a bed may constitute some extra exercise but I doubt that alone has caused your weight loss.

I have a cat with a high dose condition called IAA. For a year I barely saw my cat's BG move at all but now she can suddenly take a dive unexpectedly and that has meant setting alarms for middle of the night tests. Sometimes that has gone on for too many nights and I have to make a decision that Mummy needs a night of uninterrupted sleep or a night out to get my mind off Menace. So occasionally, I give her what is known around here as a big chicken shot so Mummy can have some "me" time. Sure we play a little catch up game afterwards, but I am prepared to deal with whatever she throws at me and that means I am better prepared to keep her safe. I think rule number one of this dance should be that the Caregiver has to take care of themselves first. As they say on an airplane, put your oxygen mask on first, then attend to those who need your assistance.:D
Yes you are right . .... she always comes back for some more to eat and I am not stressing about it which I had hoped was reflected in the playful way I was writing about it ...

The great thing is that Smiffy playing these games and knowing when it is fiddle with her time and finding new avoidance tactics is the old mischievious girl we know and is making me laugh and it is great to see she has got her spirit back :) She was always the one that knew before Pasha when we were going away on holiday so we used to have to put their carriers out for a few days before we went so that she got used to seeing them there :)

No the weight loss is partly due to Smiffy giving me the run around and the fact that I go outside with her and walk aruond the garden more and I am more active since I have been on my latest recovery plan now that we have engated in some private help for me ...... I have lost the weight also because I have reduced the dose of some of the awful meds I was on too ...... stress plays a part too of course because you don't get over something like I have without a certain amoung of stress and nervous energy .... I am naturally thin and petite and put on a lot of weight last year and the year before for other reasons ..... I have always lost weight quickly ..... I don't eat a lot but I never have apart from when I came out of hospital and I was only 7 and a half stone ..... they gave me high calorie drinks and they really plled on the pounds AND I gave up smoking which gave me a sweet tooth and i turned to chocolate for comfort ............I gave up the chocolate around about the same time as Smiffy was diagnosed ......

So it is a combination of things but a lot is definitely due to me having to be more active with Smiffy ........ result! :)\

Anyway I am thrilled with her preshot reading this morning .... I do't want to prod her too much today so I will do just one in a miute and then the preshots and the +3 each night ...

Did you see that I did the +3 and the +4 last night and she was lowest at +3 so that is her Nadir in the evening but I am wondering if a cat's evening Nadir is at the same time inthe cycle as the morning Nadir?

Please don't worry about my weight loss - it is not some underlying health problem but a very welcome thing for me and not out of character for me to lose it quite quickly .. thank you for your concern ..... I alwasys say the same thing as you about the oxygen mask - great minds think alike .... I HAVE to be up and about now to look after Smiffy for as much time as I can because DH will not engage in how to treat her - he knows what to do if she acts drunk etc and I am never far away obviously for him to get me if he is worried .... Smffy stays wth me most of the time anyway ...

So the numbers last night and do cats in your experience have Nadirs at the same time in the evening as they do in the morning? What do you think?

PS Are you the only person that is willing to talk to me now on the board after the misunderstanding on the other thread the other day? (uspet emoji!)
 
Nadirs do move a bit for most cats but with Caninsulin it does tend to be a little more stable. I would expect the nadir around +3 or +4 so all is as expected with Smiffy. I admit though, I am a bit surprised that she hasn't been dropping lower at nadir of late. Last night's cycle definitely looks a bit better but she just doesn't seem to drop quite as much as I've seen other cats do with Caninsulin. Maybe that's just Smiffy or maybe the weather. Just a thought though, have you been having a harder time giving Smiffy her shots lately by any chance? Just wondering if the insulin is getting into the skin rather than into the subcutaneous tissue. Sometimes when kitty moves around on us, it's easy to end up with the insulin getting into the skin and taking longer to absorb. Just a thought for you to consider!

As for the misunderstanding the other day, I have to admit I think you were a little hard on Elizabeth who was just responding to a question you had posed. It was just unfortunate that the timing of her response was after you had indicated you didn't want to deal with syringes any more. Sometimes the conversations on the board get a little confusing and muddled because multiple questions get asked and several answers/opinions get offered but not usually in as timely a fashion as would happen in an "in person" conversation. I am only guessing, but folks may have backed off for fear of upsetting you because no one here wants to upset you or to be upset themselves. Our only goal here is to help the caregivers and kitties who join us, knowing we all have one thing in common which is the welfare of our beloved cats. We've all had moments where comments from others may have seemed harsh or totally off topic, but in this environment, sometimes the best way to deal with those situations is just to let it pass without comment knowing the intention was to help not upset. :)
 
Nadirs do move a bit for most cats but with Caninsulin it does tend to be a little more stable. I would expect the nadir around +3 or +4 so all is as expected with Smiffy. I admit though, I am a bit surprised that she hasn't been dropping lower at nadir of late. Last night's cycle definitely looks a bit better but she just doesn't seem to drop quite as much as I've seen other cats do with Caninsulin. Maybe that's just Smiffy or maybe the weather. Just a thought though, have you been having a harder time giving Smiffy her shots lately by any chance? Just wondering if the insulin is getting into the skin rather than into the subcutaneous tissue. Sometimes when kitty moves around on us, it's easy to end up with the insulin getting into the skin and taking longer to absorb. Just a thought for you to consider!

As for the misunderstanding the other day, I have to admit I think you were a little hard on Elizabeth who was just responding to a question you had posed. It was just unfortunate that the timing of her response was after you had indicated you didn't want to deal with syringes any more. Sometimes the conversations on the board get a little confusing and muddled because multiple questions get asked and several answers/opinions get offered but not usually in as timely a fashion as would happen in an "in person" conversation. I am only guessing, but folks may have backed off for fear of upsetting you because no one here wants to upset you or to be upset themselves. Our only goal here is to help the caregivers and kitties who join us, knowing we all have one thing in common which is the welfare of our beloved cats. We've all had moments where comments from others may have seemed harsh or totally off topic, but in this environment, sometimes the best way to deal with those situations is just to let it pass without comment knowing the intention was to help not upset. :)
I am pretty sure that the insuin is getting into the cavity of her scrufff (that is what you mean isn't it?) and I give her a stroke after to feel if I have misfired which might be another explaination ..... usually the needle goes in and she hardly notices that I have done it ....

Smiffy's nunmbers are definitely better today ... and a better Nadir last night ....

I have got to learn not to repsond when somebody annoys me a bit ..... I really did think that is was unecessary for Elizabeth to pick on the fact that I had tried to draw the thread back to Smiffy's readings but then asked as an afterthought how to get rid of the needles ........ it was also after a couple of things that had occuerred on FB ...... I was surprised that nobody sprung to my defence actually ... I did feel that it all got out of hand ..... and I had suggested that I start another thread about syringes at some point so as not to confuse things .... I certainly didn;t need somebody else to come along and tell me how to word things in future!

Anyway ... thanks for sticking with me .... I am sorry if I seemed hard on Elizabeth but sometimes (as happened on FB yesterday) it is nice to get an appology this way too ....

I think I have made it clear on many many occasions how much I value the FDMB an the FB site - I recoomend both all the time .....

I had better go and give Smiffy a bit of attention as she wants to go for a walk and we need to do the greenhouses together ...

Once again thanks for giving me your support ....... I do think we all get a bit too sensitive at times on these sites - me included of course .....

I will be more mindful than usual tonight of how I shoot Smiffy .... I don't have a problem getting her shot in ....... I am a bit concerned now that I may be getting into the skin ... will report later ... thanks for that ....
 
Nadirs do move a bit for most cats but with Caninsulin it does tend to be a little more stable. I would expect the nadir around +3 or +4 so all is as expected with Smiffy. I admit though, I am a bit surprised that she hasn't been dropping lower at nadir of late. Last night's cycle definitely looks a bit better but she just doesn't seem to drop quite as much as I've seen other cats do with Caninsulin. Maybe that's just Smiffy or maybe the weather. Just a thought though, have you been having a harder time giving Smiffy her shots lately by any chance? Just wondering if the insulin is getting into the skin rather than into the subcutaneous tissue. Sometimes when kitty moves around on us, it's easy to end up with the insulin getting into the skin and taking longer to absorb. Just a thought for you to consider!

As for the misunderstanding the other day, I have to admit I think you were a little hard on Elizabeth who was just responding to a question you had posed. It was just unfortunate that the timing of her response was after you had indicated you didn't want to deal with syringes any more. Sometimes the conversations on the board get a little confusing and muddled because multiple questions get asked and several answers/opinions get offered but not usually in as timely a fashion as would happen in an "in person" conversation. I am only guessing, but folks may have backed off for fear of upsetting you because no one here wants to upset you or to be upset themselves. Our only goal here is to help the caregivers and kitties who join us, knowing we all have one thing in common which is the welfare of our beloved cats. We've all had moments where comments from others may have seemed harsh or totally off topic, but in this environment, sometimes the best way to deal with those situations is just to let it pass without comment knowing the intention was to help not upset. :)
The other thing is that on my computer I log onto this site and write something and then post it and then I get an delayed alert that there is a post for me to read so things have gotten out of sinc in the past ..... something to do with my server I think .... I know I have written something and then had to repeat myself .... maybe that contributed to the misunderstanding ...... right back to Smiffy now who is dying to go for a walk (:
 
Hi @Looby & Smiify ,

Could you please note on your SS when a new cartridge is used?

When looking at your SS, I see that you had a very good answer to insulin from July, 6th to 12th, but after and before, the numbers are quit the same.
I'm wondering if the screw thread of your Vetpen hasn't a problem.
 
Hi @Looby & Smiify ,

Could you please note on your SS when a new cartridge is used?

When looking at your SS, I see that you had a very good answer to insulin from July, 6th to 12th, but after and before, the numbers are quit the same.
I'm wondering if the screw thread of your Vetpen hasn't a problem.
No I don't think there is a problem with the pen ... the cartridge was changed on the 13th when Smiffy went to the Vet ... will put it on the spreadsheet now ... thank you :) I think she just went through a bit of a stressful week with Vet and hot weather ..... her numbers are coming down now as you can see ........ thanks for looking

I make sure that the cartridge is changed every 28 days even if it is not empty .... we keep the pen in its bag on the table in the coolest part of the room .... apparently and according to the Vet and the Caninuslin website that is the right thing to do ... no need to put in fridge once it is in the pen .....
 
I'm sorry but I really must step in here Looby and ask you to please be more careful about how you word your posts. We've already been there once this week after you told Elizabeth to "get over it" and accused her of "wanting to have the last word". Subsequently, Mary Ann gave you a very helpful suggestion of how you might phrase things so as not to cause offence. To say today that people sometimes "annoy you a little bit" and that you can "certainly do without people telling you how to word things in future" is not helping your cause.

This board - and the FB page as well - is all about mutual respect and it is nice to make a conscious effort to keep our posts polite... that is, if you don't want to alienate the very people who have been most helpful to you.

Have a go at me by all means but this needs to be said.

Diana
 
No I don't think there is a problem with the pen ... the cartridge was changed on the 13th when Smiffy went to the Vet ... will put it on the spreadsheet now ... thank you :) I think she just went through a bit of a stressful week with Vet and hot weather ..... her numbers are coming down now as you can see ........ thanks for looking

I make sure that the cartridge is changed every 28 days even if it is not empty .... we keep the pen in its bag on the table in the coolest part of the room .... apparently and according to the Vet and the Caninuslin website that is the right thing to do ... no need to put in fridge once it is in the pen .....

Anyway, You did a great job with testings : now, it is really easier to see what is currently happening. Félicitations!!!!!!
 
Actually Looby, if you look at your spreadsheet, it was around the 13th when Smiffy's numbers seemed to change. Maybe Capoo is on to something there?! I have never used the pen so that wouldn't have occurred to me but it sounds like a very good possibility to explain the change in numbers even if only partially. I'm off for the afternoon so will catch up with you later! :)
 
Actually Looby, if you look at your spreadsheet, it was around the 13th when Smiffy's numbers seemed to change. Maybe Capoo is on to something there?! I have never used the pen so that wouldn't have occurred to me but it sounds like a very good possibility to explain the change in numbers even if only partially. I'm off for the afternoon so will catch up with you later! :)

I really think that your Vetpen has a problem, as mine had.

Maybe it's a problem of screw thread, that can be checked by dismantling your pen, or that's a problem with the priming of it , and evacuating all the air contained in the cartridge.

Anyway, we can clearly see that something "undesirable" happened on July, 13th.


Please, @Looby & Smiify , can you dismantle your Vetpen, and check the screw thread?
 
I really think that your Vetpen has a problem, as mine had.

Maybe it's a problem of screw thread, that can be checked by dismantling your pen, or that's a problem with the priming of it , and evacuating all the air contained in the cartridge.

Anyway, we can clearly see that something "undesirable" happened on July, 13th.


Please, @Looby & Smiify , can you dismantle your Vetpen, and check the screw thread?
Oh the 18 reading was just after she came back from the Vet ... I wanted to see just how much her BG was affected .... I changed the cartridge under the supervision of the Vet and the Diabetes Nurse ........

Is it possible to dismantle the pen and put it back together again ..... are you worried that no insulin is coming out or not the right amount?

The other purple reading of 16.8 was after she was frightened by a dog that got loose in the back gardens ..... I took her BG after to see how she was ......

I think the heat has affected her BG ....

What am I looking for if I dismantle it?

I am afraid to dismantle it in case I mess it up ...

Have just fired a one and a half unit into the sink and it seemed to be fine

Her numbers started going up just before the trip to the Vet as I remember mentioning it to Roberta and the hot weather has not helped ..... other members have said that numbers can be low for a while and then go up again for no apparent reason?

I primed it front of the Vet and the Nurse ....
 
I'm sorry but I really must step in here Looby and ask you to please be more careful about how you word your posts. We've already been there once this week after you told Elizabeth to "get over it" and accused her of "wanting to have the last word". Subsequently, Mary Ann gave you a very helpful suggestion of how you might phrase things so as not to cause offence. To say today that people sometimes "annoy you a little bit" and that you can "certainly do without people telling you how to word things in future" is not helping your cause.

This board - and the FB page as well - is all about mutual respect and it is nice to make a conscious effort to keep our posts polite... that is, if you don't want to alienate the very people who have been most helpful to you.

Have a go at me by all means but this needs to be said.

Diana
I'm sorry I said when people annoy me A BIT ...... I am sure things that I say come across the wrong way sometimes ........ I found Mary Ann's suggestion a bit patronising - at that point of the thread when I was mainly talking to Alexi and Linda and had been for several days I didn't need to be so expansive and long winded .....

The last thing I ever want to do is to cause offence but I still have to stick up for myself .....

I have enourmous respect for the people that have helped and help me ...

I was really really taken aback at Elizabeth's first comment and didn't think it was very polite and could have been worded a lot better ... no actually I didn't think there was any need for it in the first place as it was over something so inconsequential in the grand scheme of things ....

I love this board and continue to have great respect for it and its members and recommend it to newcomers on Facebook every time ...
 
I'm sorry I said when people annoy me A BIT ...... I am sure things that I say come across the wrong way sometimes ........ I found Mary Ann's suggestion a bit patronising - at that point of the thread when I was mainly talking to Alexi and Linda and had been for several days I didn't need to be so expansive and long winded


Since these forums are open for all to see you can sometimes expect "nasty" people like myself stepping in to try and diffuse an ugly situation that YOU caused. :banghead:
No problem Looby...I will NEVER post on your threads again. Sorry that everyone is deserting you. Perhaps you need to learn to play nicer.
cat(2).gif



ETA To the moderators and any others reading this I apologize for my somewhat childish outburst, but I reserve the right to stand up for other members when they are being personally attacked for being helpful.
 
Last edited:
Since these forums are open for all to see you can sometimes expect "nasty" people like myself stepping in to try and diffuse an ugly situation that YOU caused. :banghead:
No problem Looby...I will NEVER post on your threads again. Sorry that everyone is deserting you. Perhaps you need to learn to play nicer.
cat(2).gif



ETA To the moderators and any others reading this I apologize for my somewhat childish outburst, but I reserve the right to stand up for other members when they are being personally attacked for being helpful.

Wow!!!!!

I'm sorry you feel that way and I don't think you are nasty and have never used that expression ....... and I don't think that I have personally attacked anyone and this whole thing was not over a helpful or unhelpful remark but a remark about me making a little mistake in the thread .... and I think you are right it is time for a fresh view of things here ...........

I have my puss cat Smiffy to look after now which should be the most important thing here ...
 
Last edited:
@MrWorfMen's Mom @Alexi .......

I hope this thread can continue to be about Smiffy and your very helpful and appreciated advice and support ........ just about to do Smiffy's preshot that she has come in for of her own accord!!!!!

@Capoo I'm certain there is nothing wrong with the pen but thank you for making me check :)

She was 14.2 so that is a little better than yesterday so I am delighted the numbers are on a downward trend again AND she came in for her test and tea!

Capoo the pen needle definitley went into the 'cavity' and not the skin so I am doing the shots right thank goodness ....

Will be back later if I can manage to do the +3 number .....
 
Some comments in this thread have been brought to the attention of the moderators citing rude and tactless comments.

Just a few friendly reminders...

an excerpt from the FDMB Terms of Use:

"You agree, through your use of this service, that you will not use this message board and associated applications, including but not limited to the private message system or the photo gallery, to post any material which is knowingly false and/or defamatory, inaccurate, abusive, vulgar, hateful, harassing, obscene, profane, sexually oriented, threatening, invasive of a person's privacy, or otherwise in violation of any law. By using the Feline Diabetes Message Board, you are agreeing that you will comply with our ETIQUETTE GUIDE."

an excerpt from the FDMB Guide to Posting Etiquette:

"Summary of Community Rules:
The purpose of this community is to help people give their diabetic cats the best care possible. We also recognize that dealing with the illness of a beloved animal companion is often very stressful. Therefore, we follow these basic rules of behavior:

  • Be kind.
  • Be polite.
  • Inform yourself.
  • Never personally attack anyone.
  • Recognize that reasonable people can differ on many aspects of treatment.
  • Check your ego at the door."
and a couple of lines I have written on a sticky note placed on my desk from the Suggestions for Advice Givers:

"You can offer help and advice, but it's up to the other person to decide what advice to take for their cat. They won't always agree with you -- that's life. If it makes you crazy, move on to someone who is interested in what you have to say."


Peace. :)




 
Last edited:
@MrWorfMen's Mom @Capoo @Alexi

Hope you are still with me here ....... will try for the +3 tonight but I am so exhausted with today I amy fall asleep ...... I am still trying to get over the fact that Smiffy came in for her test and food :)

I may have to start yet another new thread tomorrow morning to start afresh again ....

So anyway, Smiffy's +3 is 10.4 so the same as last night - so not too bad at all ....

Thanks again
 
Last edited:
Since these forums are open for all to see you can sometimes expect "nasty" people like myself stepping in to try and diffuse an ugly situation that YOU caused. :banghead:
No problem Looby...I will NEVER post on your threads again. Sorry that everyone is deserting you. Perhaps you need to learn to play nicer.
cat(2).gif



ETA To the moderators and any others reading this I apologize for my somewhat childish outburst, but I reserve the right to stand up for other members when they are being personally attacked for being helpful.

In the future, could you please let other members stand up for themselves instead of adding fuel to the fire? The above comments added nothing but that.

Seriously, this thread has been reported like five times. Jill posted her comments (which I agree with 100%), so can we please quit?

Looby, please do start another thread in the morning. Start over fresh.
 
Good job getting the +3 Looby. She's looking better tonight but I think she can come down a bit more. If her pre-shot is up tomorrow night (14 or 15) and you feel you can manage a +3 test, you could try the 1.5u again to try to get her down a bit more at nadir.
 
In the future, could you please let other members stand up for themselves instead of adding fuel to the fire? The above comments added nothing but that.

Seriously, this thread has been reported like five times. Jill posted her comments (which I agree with 100%), so can we please quit?

Looby, please do start another thread in the morning. Start over fresh.


Carl

FYI In my own defence this comment was only posted when I also was being personally attacked. Her posts have since been removed so perhaps this was missed. I do apologize for letting a personal attack upset me and the mature thing to do would have been for me to report it.
images
 
In the future, could you please let other members stand up for themselves instead of adding fuel to the fire? The above comments added nothing but that.

Seriously, this thread has been reported like five times. Jill posted her comments (which I agree with 100%), so can we please quit?

Looby, please do start another thread in the morning. Start over fresh.
OK thank you
 
Carl

FYI In my own defence this comment was only posted when I also was being personally attacked. Her posts have since been removed so perhaps this was missed. I do apologize for letting a personal attack upset me and the mature thing to do would have been for me to report it.
images
I hope you don't mean that I was personally attacking you?!!! I wouldn't dream of it .....you must mean on another thread by somebody else?
 
Good job getting the +3 Looby. She's looking better tonight but I think she can come down a bit more. If her pre-shot is up tomorrow night (14 or 15) and you feel you can manage a +3 test, you could try the 1.5u again to try to get her down a bit more at nadir.
OK thank you Linda ...... I will have to start a new thread tomorrow so see you there .... I think tou are right and that coincides with what Roberta the Vet said ... Over 14 and I can do a 1.5 unit shot in the evening
 
My lowest pre-shot has been 5.8 recently from a start point in the 20's! I am hoping the pancreas is kicking in and giving a little nudge as she spends more time in lower numbers - maybe Smiffy is doing the same?
That's amazing Alexi!
 
Elizabeth greatly appreciates the support shown in this thread.
Her post has now been deleted by a moderator per her request.
Consider the matter closed.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top