Smiffy's progress (: Friday 29th April

Status
Not open for further replies.

Looby & Smiffy

Member Since 2016
@Critter Mom @Elizabeth and Bertie and to all my other girls yesterday ... mananged to inject her last night and this morning with only a little bit of a hiss ... just didn't pinch as much skin ... was more mindful and just slid the needle in ..... after last night's shot she let me pet her as I usually do and was purring ... I have just done her morning shot and a bit of a grumble but no hiss and she has gone outside ... she was waiting for me in the bedroom for her food ... she just stared at in the bowl until I moved away to do something else and when I came back she knew what I was up to but she didn't run a way so much ... more petting today and I think I might have nailed it again ... have proved to her that it is not going to hurt I think now two times in a row ..... I feel a lot less stressed about it now ....... hope I can keep it up but I will still see how she is on it and talk to the Vet about the Caninsulin ... thanks girls .. think the coaching worked
 
Well done, you are getting there Looby!
Keep going, your kitty needs your help.
Caninsulin needs to be kept in the fridge, way up, take it out the fridge 15-20 minutes before injection.
Best regards
Marlena
 
Well done, Looby! :bighug:

It might be helpful also to set aside some time every day for a cuddle/grooming/playing session; some physical contact that doesn't involve being given an insulin shot. That may also help to restore her trust (as well as making her feel extra special. :cat: )

Eliz
 
Well done, you are getting there Looby!
Keep going, your kitty needs your help.
Caninsulin needs to be kept in the fridge, way up, take it out the fridge 15-20 minutes before injection.
Best regards
Marlena
Thank you ... Caninsulin unused cartridged HAVE to be kept in the fridge ... the Diabetic Nurse told me that like human insulin as long as I keep the pen in the thick bag at a constant room temperature it is OK so it is on the dining room table ....... that is what I was told!
 
Well done, Looby! :bighug:

It might be helpful also to set aside some time every day for a cuddle/grooming/playing session; some physical contact that doesn't involve being given an insulin shot. That may also help to restore her trust (as well as making her feel extra special. :cat: )

Eliz
@Critter Mom @Marlena
Do that ...... am pleased until I saw a pile of what has to have been vomit with grass in it on the bathroom mat .... it may or not have been Smiffy - could have been Pasha ... I still up at 5am before I went to bed and Malcolm was up a couple of hours later so it must have happened between 5 and 7 which would have been about 2 or 3 hours before Smiffy's morning shot ..... it must have been sick because the litter tray has brand new litter in it and both cats would have used to the litter tray for poo ... it was not clear but had what looked like undigested biscuits in it and grass that could have been from the indoor grass tub or it could have been from outside .... Malcolm said that Pasha was eating grass early this morning when he let both cats out ...... have fussed Smiffy on the bed today - do at every opportunity that I can find .... not sure about the sick - could have been a regular furr ball ... she is OK now and was purring last night after her shot .....
 
Even though I'm a complete ball of anxiety, one thing I wouldn't be worried about was a sick-up containing grass; doubly so during furball season! Goes with the territory. :) :rolleyes:


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Even though I'm a complete ball of anxiety, one thing I wouldn't be worried about was a sick-up containing grass; doubly so during furball season! Goes with the territory. :)


Mogs
.
How do you cope with your anxiety? I have just been up to see Smiffy and she was not in the mood for petting .. she is not really much of a lap cat like Pasha whom you can tickle and stroke and fiddle with her ears and any part of her body and she will not complain ... Smiffy has always been a touch the head only sort of cat ... doesn't even like to be brushed ... I think I am getting paranoid about her behaviour now .... she is and older cat too so she is bound to want to sleep more isn't she?
 
How do you cope with your anxiety?
My brain decided it would be a really good solution to inflict howling OCD on me. The more scared I get - or the more things that scare me - the more OCD behaviours I manifest.

It helps me to survive, but I wouldn't recommend it as a lifestyle choice. :(


Mogs
.
 
How do you cope with your anxiety? I have just been up to see Smiffy and she was not in the mood for petting .. she is not really much of a lap cat like Pasha whom you can tickle and stroke and fiddle with her ears and any part of her body and she will not complain ... Smiffy has always been a touch the head only sort of cat ... doesn't even like to be brushed ... I think I am getting paranoid about her behaviour now .... she is and older cat too so she is bound to want to sleep more isn't she?
What is Mogs like?
Smiffy is less like she was when she was a kitten because I have been SO ill with the anxiety and practically a zombie at one point (still heavily dosed but trying to get off the drugs now) that she has not had the attention that she used to have .... oh here she is .. went upstairs to give her a treat and a cuddle and she is up which is a good sign (:
 
My brain decided it would be a really good solution to inflict howling OCD on me.


Mogs
.
I am supposed to have OCD too ... I am a Virgo and like things to be just so - I am going through therapy at the moment to try to get rid of some of my rituals ... I am not really toooo bad ... it must be a nightmare to have full on OCD ..... I saw a lovely t-shirt the other day that I would love to have ... it had OCD in large letter on it and the most beatiful pictures of cats all over it and the writing 'Obssessive Cat Disorder' .. or something like that (:

Are you on Facebook? If you are it would be great to be friends ... Elizabeth and Bertie are there so I chat to her there .... if you want to find me I am Lucille Smith living in London and went to Godalming Grammar School .... where do you live? xx
 
If you haven't already come across it you need to learn about the Ashton protocol for benzo withdrawal. Research it online.


Mogs
.
I am under the supervision of a private Psychiatrist now that I have to keep bothering to help me with the last few stages of my withdrawal .... first my GP put me on 30mg Diazepam for reasons can't touch on here but I wish I would have had the sense to say no ...... The year before last I asked him to get me off them but he said that he would only do that if I gave up smoking!!!!!!! I was already down to 6 per day so I gave up as I was already intending to and then he started the withdrawal but too quickly according to one of his colleague GPs - the two of them had a row over it but the second of the GPs got his way and I think he referred to the very protocal you are talking about ..... I came down much more slowly then got stuck on 7mg and the GP lost interest so now I have this private person who as got me down to 5.5mg a day ... but I am on other drugs too ... should we be talking about this in a converstation - is that the difference between thread and conversation? I will stop xxx
 
You're doing great. I just have a thought....are you making sure that the needle goes in with bevel facing up. I gave shots for weeks before someone pointed this out to me. :(:bighug:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/injections.htm
It's a Caninsulin pen so I don't think there is a bevel side - somebody sent me a diagram yesterday here - might have been you? But I looked last night and the needle just looks the same all along it ...
 
My brain decided it would be a really good solution to inflict howling OCD on me. The more scared I get - or the more things that scare me - the more OCD behaviours I manifest.

It helps me to survive, but I wouldn't recommend it as a lifestyle choice. :(


Mogs
.
I use routines to survive too but not as bad as you ... it must be terrible ..... your cat or cats must bring some comfort to you ... I know now that Smiffy is Diabetic, I have had to change some of the things I do and I have had to wake up a bit .... she is lying next to me now bless her on the floor .... she would normally want to go out though but since she is not drinking so much now she doesn't ask to go out to drink out of the dirty mugs outside the back door now ...
 
If you haven't already come across it you need to learn about the Ashton protocol for benzo withdrawal. Research it online.


Mogs
.
I just had a look at the site .. it is a bit too much for me to take in but I will keep it bookmarked for future reference .. seems the private sector in the UK is not much better than the advice and monitoring I got from the pubic sector but I DO have a good therapist at last ... how about you?
 
@Elizabeth and Bertie @Critter Mom @Marlena @D
It's like having a tyrant living in one's head 24/7.


No, and wild horses wouldn't drag me there.


Mogs
.
Oh really .... OK .... I understand it is not for everybody .... I like the contact with the outside world and photos and conversations with friends that live a long way away or just some of my friends that I don't see anymore but keep in touch with them ....... how is Mogs? I can't remember - do you have lots of cats?
 
... seems the private sector in the UK is not much better than the advice and monitoring I got from the pubic sector but I DO have a good therapist at last ... how about you?
I'm not comfortable with this type of discussion, Looby.


Mogs
.
 
I am sorry, thought you wanted to chat a bit ....... I should have sent you a private message .... lots of love and hugs to you ..... by the way our cats look identicle! How old is your cat?
 
For some reason I can't address this to specific people that are supporting me here ... @elizabeth & Bertie?!!! I have managed to get Smiffy's injections in now for three days .. yesterday she was really bright but today she is really lazy .... I am paranoid about her behaviour ... she is fine but it is so worrying .. she is probably just having as I say a lazy day ...
 
Why doesn't Looby&Smiffy appear beneath the photo but appear under something that I post @elizabeth & Bertie ... this site is not working right for me - don't know why?
 
Why doesn't Looby&Smiffy appear beneath the photo but appear under something that I post @elizabeth & Bertie ... this site is not working right for me - don't know why?
@Looby,
The name under the pic of Smiffy is the 'user name' you registered with , but the name at the bottom of your posts is your 'signature', which you can edit and add all sorts of other relevant info to; for example, what insulin you're using, and what dose, etc. (Have a look at my signature and you'll see what I mean).

You tried to tag me but it didn't work because you got my 'user name' a smidge wrong; it's 'Elizabeth and Bertie'. :)

Eliz
 
@Looby ,
If you'd like to change your 'user name' to 'Looby&Smiffy' you can do that, and then that will appear under your pic of Smiffy.

To change your user name you do this:
If you hover your mouse over your user name on the top right of this page a menu will come up. Click on 'Personal Details'.
When that box opens scroll down the list of options on the left hand side. Right at the bottom you'll find 'Advanced Options', 'Change User Name'. And if you click on that you can change your name. Remember to click 'save' afterwards. :)
.
 
@Looby ,
If you'd like to change your 'user name' to 'Looby&Smiffy' you can do that, and then that will appear under your pic of Smiffy.

To change your user name you do this:
If you hover your mouse over your user name on the top right of this page a menu will come up. Click on 'Personal Details'.
When that box opens scroll down the list of options on the left hand side. Right at the bottom you'll find 'Advanced Options', 'Change User Name'. And if you click on that you can change your name. Remember to click 'save' afterwards. :)
.
Think that's done!
 
Yes! Almost....
There's a typo in Smiffy's name. (But at least now you know how to correct it.....;))
:bighug:
.
I have to wait 89 days before I can change it !!!!
Oh well - it doesn't affect the way you say her name .... she is really chopper and friendly this morning and was last night right up until 4.30 in the morning @Critter Mom ... not it is not coming up with her icon ... don't know what is wrong with my computer ....

xxxxLooooby
 
Also, if you have not yet printed out the hypo guide please do it now. Keep reading and re-reading the signs to look for and bear in mind that every cat is different: Smiffy may have other signals only you can pick up on because you are with her every day. Because you're not currently home testing it is even more important for you to be very familiar with what to look out for and what to do if you even get a whiff that Smiffy may be running low. Even with the list there is no guarantee that your cat will display any symptoms at all if she runs low. This is why I have strongly recommended you ring your vet to arrange some sort of check on her BG numbers as a matter of urgency.

Hypo guide
- PRINT THIS OUT and keep it somewhere that you can grab it quickly and easily - in either a potential or actual emergency.

Hypo toolkit


Mogs
.
 
Smiffy may have other signals only you can pick up on because you are with her every day.
Even with the list there is no guarantee that your cat will display any symptoms at all if she runs low.
Absolutely.

The list in the Hypo doc is very helpful but is by no means exhaustive.
It gives many of the 'typical' symptoms, but a cat may well show symptoms that aren't on the list. Not all cats are 'typical'... (For example, some owners have come home to find their cats just sitting staring into the corner of a room or a cupboard. And my own cat will swat at the air in front of him.)

Some cats show symptoms early on if the blood glucose is dropping low. A cat may suddenly get very hungry, for example.
But some cats show no symptoms at all until a hypo is advanced...
There was a UK'er on this forum a few years back who was sitting with her cat on the sofa, watching TV. The cat seemed absolutely fine. But then it fell off the sofa and had a hypoglycemic seizure. (....Thankfully, the caregiver took swift action to give sugar to the cat, and it made a full recovery (and in fact went into remission soon afterwards.))

Eliz
 
Also, if you have not yet printed out the hypo guide please do it now. Keep reading and re-reading the signs to look for and bear in mind that every cat is different: Smiffy may have other signals only you can pick up on because you are with her every day. Because you're not currently home testing it is even more important for you to be very familiar with what to look out for and what to do if you even get a whiff that Smiffy may be running low. Even with the list there is no guarantee that your cat will display any symptoms at all if she runs low. This is why I have strongly recommended you ring your vet to arrange some sort of check on her BG numbers as a matter of urgency.

Hypo guide
- PRINT THIS OUT and keep it somewhere that you can grab it quickly and easily - in either a potential or actual emergency.

Hypo toolkit


Mogs
.[/QUOTEHello, I have got the Hpyo guide printed out and I have honey and food with gravy and food with carbs and have the whole thing inprinted on my brain ..... Smiffy is a darling today ... lively and purring when I touch her ears ... she is following me around and is loving the cat nip ... she hasn't been out but that is because of the young child next door screaming!!! She is fine so I don't think there is anything to worry about ... she has just had a snack ................ she is following me around .... I am now getting paranoid about her ... she is not agressive at all today ............when I told husband about my concerns yesterday - he reminded me that she has never liked being picked up and said he was not surprised she got cross .... I am so paranoid now that I am not remembering what she was like before she was diabetic .... she is happily grooming herself next to me at the moment .. not showing any signs of hunger .....
 
@Looby & Smiify

Looby, I'm sorry to hear you say that you're "getting paranoid" about Smiffy.
I think we all fret, to some degree or other, about how our kitties are doing; and it can be easy, especially at first, to feel overwhelmed by it all. But there is still much to be positive about....

Your Smiffy is SO much more than just her diabetes diagnosis. She's still exactly the same fun and loving kitty that she was before this diagnosis became part of the picture....

Chin up, sweetie! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Eliz
 
.. not showing any signs of hunger .....
There is no guarantee that a cat in low numbers will look for food. There is no guarantee it will show any symptoms at all.

Smiffy is a darling today ... lively and purring when I touch her ears ... she is following me around
That's good news but it still doesn't preclude the possibility that she may have gone low mid-cycle yesterday. Twice you thought it wise to mention here that Smiffy was displaying unusual aggression. In spite of the paranoia you still know your cat very well. If you thought it unusual enough to ask here about the aggression then perhaps you should listen to the gut instinct that prompted you to post about it and at the very least alert your vet about this odd behaviour. Even the very positive signs that you're seeing today may be indicative of Smiffy running in lower, healthier numbers and that's yet another reason for my strongly recommending to you that you contact your vet to determine what Smiffy's blood glucose levels are doing; sooner rather than later.

FWIW the most helpful thing you can do to allay your feelings of paranoia is to just bite the bullet and do all you can to learn to home test. I'm sorry if that sounds harsh (that is not my intention) but I am speaking from personal experience when I say it is far and away the best antidote to the inevitable anxiety that accompanies treatment of a diabetic cat with insulin.


Mogs
.
 
@Looby & Smiify

Looby, I'm sorry to hear you say that you're "getting paranoid" about Smiffy.
I think we all fret, to some degree or other, about how our kitties are doing; and it can be easy, especially at first, to feel overwhelmed by it all. But there is still much to be positive about....

Your Smiffy is SO much more than just her diabetes diagnosis. She's still exactly the same fun and loving kitty that she was before this diagnosis became part of the picture....

Chin up, sweetie! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Eliz

I know and thank you but there is something that I need to talk to you about so I am going to send you a message on Facebook ...... I was not paranoid until I posted here that I wondered if aggression was a personality change that owners might experience when they give them insulin ... my husband reminded me later that she has never liked to be picked up and I remember now that when she was quite young she dislocated her back knee and had to have cage rest for about six weeks ... during that time she had numerous trips to the Vet and she had to stay there for a week whilst we went on holiday ..... and also not only does she not like the Vet but she had a bad experience with the Cattery down the road (never used them again) so she still thinks that when we pick her up she is either going to the Vet or to the Cattery even though we have a brilliant cattery now for the girls to go to and have used them for years ........ I am worrying about nothing here ... I picked her up and she hissed at me and I am not suprised as she is not used to it and lately picking her up means going to the Vet and another needle ....... will write to you on Facebook .... my other cat Pasha who is much younger is also much more lazy than she used to be and she was a real live wire so I have to put things into perspective ..... I kind of want to withdraw my thread that I posted about personality change now .. Smiffy is fine ... she is not behaving as if she is ill in the slightest now .... I have just picked her up to see how she is and she wasn't bothered at all this time - typical!!! xxxx
 
There is no guarantee that a cat in low numbers will look for food. There is no guarantee it will show any symptoms at all.


That's good news but it still doesn't preclude the possibility that she may have gone low mid-cycle yesterday. Twice you thought it wise to mention here that Smiffy was displaying unusual aggression. In spite of the paranoia you still know your cat very well. If you thought it unusual enough to ask here about the aggression then perhaps you should listen to the gut instinct that prompted you to post about it and at the very least alert your vet about this odd behaviour. Even the very positive signs that you're seeing today may be indicative of Smiffy running in lower, healthier numbers and that's yet another reason for my strongly recommending to you that you contact your vet to determine what Smiffy's blood glucose levels are doing; sooner rather than later.

FWIW the most helpful thing you can do to allay your feelings of paranoia is to just bite the bullet and do all you can to learn to home test. I'm sorry if that sounds harsh (that is not my intention) but I am speaking from personal experience when I say it is far and away the best antidote to the inevitable anxiety that accompanies treatment of a diabetic cat with insulin.


Mogs
.
My paraoia is my care for Smiffy ... I have explained a bit more in a post to Elizabeth below if you want to read it .. . Smiffy is fine ... please read my reply to Elizabeth .. thank you for your concern - she is fine ..... My other cat Pasha is now 9 and even though she used to be really active and hunting and going for fairly long walks is now much quieter because she is older and there is nothing wrong with her so I am being over cautious I would say ..... I am all prepared if something is really amiss .... I have been concerned twice as you say and both times she proved to me that there was no need for concern ... the only time I had cause for concern was when I was not getting the needles in and she almost went back to how she was before we started the insulin but now that I am getting the needle in and she is not minding it so much fingers crossed that will continue ...
 
Looby, do send me a private message.
If you post on my timeline the whole world can see that.... ;)

Eliz
I have just sent you a message on Facebook or rather a couple of messages (every time you press return for a paragraph it sends off a message so each messages is a paragraph!) .... hope to hear from you if you are not too busy
 
My paraoia is my care for Smiffy ... I have explained a bit more in a post to Elizabeth below if you want to read it .. . Smiffy is fine ... please read my reply to Elizabeth .. thank you for your concern - she is fine ..... My other cat Pasha is now 9 and even though she used to be really active and hunting and going for fairly long walks is now much quieter because she is older and there is nothing wrong with her so I am being over cautious I would say ..... I am all prepared if something is really amiss .... I have been concerned twice as you say and both times she proved to me that there was no need for concern ... the only time I had cause for concern was when I was not getting the needles in and she almost went back to how she was before we started the insulin but now that I am getting the needle in and she is not minding it so much fingers crossed that will continue ...

All members visiting your threads can read all the messages you post, Looby.

Any suggestions I've posted on your threads have been made in good faith and are based on:

1. what I have learned from treating my own cat for diabetes and what I have learned from the other FDMB members who have kindly and generously shared their knowledge and experience over the last two years.

2. what I would do if it were my cat in your situation in order to keep her safe - particularly when using such a harsh insulin as Caninsulin.

I hope that you will get over the current difficulties you have with home testing; it really is the best way to keep Smiffy safe - and it would offer her a far better chance of reaching remission.

I feel that there isn't anything more I can do at this time to try to help you. I wish you and Smiffy the very best.


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
All members following your threads can read all the messages you post, Looby.

Any suggestions I've posted on your threads have been made in good faith and are based:

1. on what I have learned from treating my own cat for diabetes and what I have learned from the other FDMB members who have kindly and generously shared their knowledge and experience over the last two years.

2. on what I would do if it were my cat in your situation in order to keep her safe - particularly when using such a harsh insulin as Caninsulin.

I hope that you will get over the current difficulties you have with home testing; it really is the best way to keep Smiffy safe - and it would offer her a far better chance of reaching remission.

I feel that there isn't anything more I can do at this time to try to help you. I wish you and Smiffy the very best.


Mogs
.
Thanks so much ... I take in everything that you advise - believe me ... I hope this is not the end of our correspondance I really do .....
 
As I said above, Looby, there is nothing more I can do so I won't be contributing further to your threads. Again, I wish you and Smiffy the best.


Mogs
.
 
Just to add my own two cents worth in here. Home testing when using a powerful hormone such as insulin is definitely necessary. Some kitties can go along very nicely with no problems then out of the blue they can hit a hypo number. Without testing on a regular basis there is no way to know if/when that will happen.

I am using Levemir which is a much gentler, slower acting insulin than Caninsulin/Vetsulin. My Maxie is my second FD kitty and was diagnosed less than 2 months ago, but I have a fair deal of experience from treating her brother Tuxie for the last 17 months (he has other health concerns and will never be properly regulated)

I use the AT2 pet meter which reads higher than a human meter. Just three days ago Maxie started off with a preshot of 21.6 ( 367 US) At +3 she was 46... CORRECTION SHOULD BE 4.6( 83 US) and I started giving HC because of how fast she was dropping. She continued dropping and I continued giving HC food and syrup. She ended up with a low of 1.8 ( 32 US) at +6 . I was finally able to bring her numbers up, but if I had not been able to I was preparing to take her to the ER. Never once did she display any unusual behaviour that would have alerted me to the low numbers. If I had not been testing and able to bring the numbers up at home, there is a strong possibility she could have dropped even further and it could have become a critical situation.

A critical hypo event can cause brain damage or worse:

"Hypoglycemia is what every diabetic fears -- very low blood glucose. Since the brain requires glucose for fuel at every second, it's possible to induce coma, seizures,brain damage[1][2][3] and death by letting blood glucose drop too low. Because the brain is almost totally dependent on glucose to make use of oxygen[4], it is somewhat like having severe breathing problems. Though the causes and mechanisms are different, in both cases the brain does not have enough oxygen, and similar symptoms and problems can occur. It is caused by giving too much insulin for the body's current needs."

http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Hypoglycemia

The members on here who strongly encourage home-testing have seen cases where a kitty has ended up in the ER for several days at a very expensive cost and unfortunately there have been some that even with critical ER care the kitty has died. Believe me if I could just give shots twice a day and not have to worry, I certainly would not be so adamant about home-testing, but the realities of not home testing can be very harsh. No one on here is trying to scare anyone, only to give them the proper tools to do the best possible for their kitties. Everyone here cares about all the member's kitties...each and every one. :bighug:
 
Last edited:
Just to add my own two cents worth in here. Home testing when using a powerful hormone such as insulin is definitely necessary. Some kitties can go along very nicely with no problems then out of the blue they can hit a hypo number. Without testing on a regular basis there is no way to know if/when that will happen.

I am using Levemir which is a much gentler, slower acting insulin than Caninsulin/Vetsulin. My Maxie is my second FD kitty and was diagnosed less than 2 months ago, but I have a fair deal of experience from treating her brother Tuxie for the last 17 months (he has other health concerns and will never be properly regulated)

I use the AT2 pet meter which reads higher than a human meter. Just three days ago Maxie started off with a preshot of 21.6 ( 367 US) At +3 she was 46 ( 83 US) and I started giving HC because of how fast she was dropping. She continued dropping and I continued giving HC food and syrup. She ended up with a low of 1.8 ( 32 US) at +6 . I was finally able to bring her numbers up, but if I had not been able to I was preparing to take her to the ER. Never once did she display any unusual behaviour that would have alerted me to the low numbers. If I had not been testing and able to bring the numbers up at home, there is a strong possibility she could have dropped even further and it could have become a critical situation.

A critical hypo event can cause brain damage or worse:

"Hypoglycemia is what every diabetic fears -- very low blood glucose. Since the brain requires glucose for fuel at every second, it's possible to induce coma, seizures,brain damage[1][2][3] and death by letting blood glucose drop too low. Because the brain is almost totally dependent on glucose to make use of oxygen[4], it is somewhat like having severe breathing problems. Though the causes and mechanisms are different, in both cases the brain does not have enough oxygen, and similar symptoms and problems can occur. It is caused by giving too much insulin for the body's current needs."

http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Hypoglycemiai

The members on here who strongly encourage home-testing have seen cases where a kitty has ended up in the ER for several days at a very expensive cost and unfortunately there have been some that even with critical ER care the kitty has died. Believe me if I could just give shots twice a day and not have to worry, I certainly would not be so adamant about home-testing, but the realities of not home testing can be very harsh. No one on here is trying to scare anyone, only to give them the proper tools to do the best possible for their kitties. Everyone here cares about all the member's kitties...each and every one. :bighug:
Thanks for all this information ..... I realise how dangerous hypoglycaemia is for Smiffy and I am terrified of the possibility it could happen and am ready to act if I see any signs and understand I can't be sure of her BG without home testing which is why when I see the Vet on Friday with her diary of clinical signs I want to talk to him about whether Caninsulin is suitable for her and get him to show me how to use the glucometer I have ..... I wouldn't be able to have the strength of my convictions about this on Friday were it not for you girls especially Mogs and Elizabeth & Bertie .....

I've had one day where I was concerned that Smiffy might be low in BS and you girls talked me through it and it was a false alarm and one day when Smiffy was a bit aggressive with me so I posted the inquiry as to whether the insulin supplement might have changed her personality a bit but she settled down and as my husband said she has never liked to be picked up but I just wanted to give her s big cuddle! I have noted the fact that see can be bad tempered in her diary which as you girls have said may also be because she doesn't like the Caninsulin which might not have occurred to me otherwise ... We're it not for this board I wouldn't have known there were other types and as a result of that have already expressed an interest to my Vet in changing to ProZinc which is up for discussion on Friday.

Now that she Smiffy is getting used to the insulin shot (not relaxed yet about it), I can almost envisage her tolerating a prick for testing her BG which was not the case a few days ago ..... I really hope she will let me do it as I want to be able to home test asap ...... I have everything ready to treat her if she is low and would actually call the Vet straight away .....

Sorry spelling and grammar is appalling because l am half asleep here - it's 4am ... Also my iPad takes over sometimes .....

The Vet used the AT kit so I'm hoping we can get one from the surgery as I have just got the AccuChek meter .....

You describe an episode 3 days ago with your cat ... Do you mean three hours after the preshot by 'at +3'?

Do mean therefore you gave Maxie her shot but then three hours later she was 4.6 not 46 as you have typed - sorry just want to be clear? You started giving her high carbs HC? Because there was too much of a drop within 3 hours of her shot? 4.6 is within normal range under normal circumstances isn't it?

So first course of action was HCs and then as she was dropping further you introduced syrup too but still she was dropping until 6 hours after shot down to 1.8 so you contained with more syrup AND HC? At what reading were you happy not to have to take her for ER and what does that mean? Emergency what?

If she is on a more gentle insulin than Caninsulin, why did her BG drop so quickly within 3 hours of you administering it?

Hope these are not too many questions!!! I thought action was not necessary unless numbers are below 3.3? The normal range I thought is 2.7 - 7.2 ......

I can learn from your example wit Maxie if I fully understand it ...... I think you meant 4.6 not 46 didn't you?

Thanks xxxx
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top