Looby & Smiffy
Active Member
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/smiffys-numbers-lower-august-september.163681/page-3#post-1783884
Smiffy and I are in the UK. She is on Caninsulin and was diagnosed in April 2016.
As you will see from her spreadsheet she has very recently enjoyed some very nice blue numbers and for four or five days required now insulin:
This is what her Vet Roberta had to say about her spreadsheet and dosing at that point:
"Hi Mrs Smith,
That's all really positive isn't it! Fantastic work, you've both done brilliantly. I would agree with you that I would be nervous of giving insulin below 8, especially in the morning. My view would be that Smiffy is in remission if she manages to keep her BG below 12 (so below the renal threshold) without insulin. I would also prefer her blood glucose to remain above 4 ideally, I have seen cats hypo on 2.5-3. I think also that we have to take into account a little degree of sampling related hyperglycaemia (stress related) and differences between glucometers. I think the 'tight regulation' numbers are a little too tight for practical use if that makes sense? I would only give her insulin if her numbers are above 12, and keep a very close eye on her.
Absolutely brilliant news"
However for the last few days Smiffy's numbers have risen again (coinciding with a thunderstorm breaking the hot weather to damp weather and DH - her Daddy - going abroad for a couple of weeks).
The sliding scale that I have devised for her from experience and looking back at her spreadsheet is still in place but for the past couple of days her numbers have still stayed high which is out of character.
So it feels a bit as if I am starting all over again.
Thank you to Smiffy's regular friends for popping in to see her.
I will be posting a new thread for her more often now.
@Marje and Gracie @Marlena @MrWorfMen's Mom @Alexi @JanetNJ @Louise1989 @HWright @Woodsywife @Squalliesmom @manxcat419
Thanks for your continued advice, support and encouragement
Smiffy and I are in the UK. She is on Caninsulin and was diagnosed in April 2016.
As you will see from her spreadsheet she has very recently enjoyed some very nice blue numbers and for four or five days required now insulin:
This is what her Vet Roberta had to say about her spreadsheet and dosing at that point:
"Hi Mrs Smith,
That's all really positive isn't it! Fantastic work, you've both done brilliantly. I would agree with you that I would be nervous of giving insulin below 8, especially in the morning. My view would be that Smiffy is in remission if she manages to keep her BG below 12 (so below the renal threshold) without insulin. I would also prefer her blood glucose to remain above 4 ideally, I have seen cats hypo on 2.5-3. I think also that we have to take into account a little degree of sampling related hyperglycaemia (stress related) and differences between glucometers. I think the 'tight regulation' numbers are a little too tight for practical use if that makes sense? I would only give her insulin if her numbers are above 12, and keep a very close eye on her.
Absolutely brilliant news"
However for the last few days Smiffy's numbers have risen again (coinciding with a thunderstorm breaking the hot weather to damp weather and DH - her Daddy - going abroad for a couple of weeks).
The sliding scale that I have devised for her from experience and looking back at her spreadsheet is still in place but for the past couple of days her numbers have still stayed high which is out of character.
So it feels a bit as if I am starting all over again.
Thank you to Smiffy's regular friends for popping in to see her.
I will be posting a new thread for her more often now.
@Marje and Gracie @Marlena @MrWorfMen's Mom @Alexi @JanetNJ @Louise1989 @HWright @Woodsywife @Squalliesmom @manxcat419
Thanks for your continued advice, support and encouragement
