Smiffy's potential hypo

Status
Not open for further replies.

Looby & Smiffy

Member Since 2016
@elizabeth & Bertie @ Critter mom ... I don't know how to transfer your posts about this to this new thread - would either of you be able to do it for me .. plus this site is so very slow on my computer for some reason ... I will leave it to you if I can please .... Facebook is so much faster and the help that I got there so quickly was invaluable and the chats after helped to calm me down although I think I coped really well with it .... hope you can do that for me .... thanks
 
From @Elizabeth and Bertie

Looby,

I know it's not 'certain' that it was a hypo, but something caused those symptoms.

Let's look at the evidence from yesterday:
1). The symptoms occurred 6 hours after the Caninsulin shot.
2). Smiffy 'staggered and fell over' (?), and 'rolled around like she was drunk' (?)

Those things in combination could certainly point to hypoglycemia.
So, in the circumstances you did well to act quickly and give some honey.

Subsequently, the vet could not find any other obvious cause for the symptoms.
The blood glucose was not low when the vet examined Smiffy. But the honey would have elevated it somewhat. And it may be that Smiffy's body released stored glucose to bring up the level. Also, by +7 the Caninsulin should be past peak.

It is a real shame that we can't know for sure what happened, because that will make it difficult to know what action needs to be taken.
Obviously, in the event of hypo, the insulin would need to be reduced.

This is just the sort of situation where it would have been great if you could use your glucose meter. You could have found out for sure whether the blood glucose was low.
I know we can't turn back time. But you could use this experience to spur you into learning how to use your glucose meter now. That way, this experience may have a positive outcome in that you will be better prepared to be able to deal with any emergencies in the future. And the 'future' may mean tomorrow if it was hypoglycemia and the insulin dose isn't reduced.

You can do this.

Eliz
 
Last edited:
From @Critter Mom

Members assisting Looby:

As you all may know, to date, Smiffy has been dosed 'blind'. With with the worry over the display of aggression - another potential hypo symptom - reported here a few weeks ago on one of Looby's earlier threads I would be concerned over the level of glycogen stored in Smiffy's liver at this time: if Smiffy has been fighting too high a dose for a period of time I would worry whether those levels may currently be depleted. (Note: The aggressive display was NOT at injection time.

(NB: This is a one-off contribution to the thread which I hope will be helpful to Looby and those seeking to assist her. I'm really ill and I can't run with this.)


Looby:

If I observed the clinical signs described above in my cat I would regard them as signs of a symptomatic hypo and I would have treated it as an emergency and therefore administered glucose or honey to quickly ramp BG back up to safe levels. Looby, you did exactly the right thing given your current situation; well done for acting promptly to help Smiffy. You also did well to get Smiffy to the vets straight away. Never let ANYONE try to tell you that you were wrong about that decision; it is a decision that further protected Smiffy.

In the absence of any other clear cut causal factor (e.g. a cardiovascular issue) if it were my cat I would want this incident to be handled "as if" it were a hypo.

1. You had a fructosamine test done but, as Sophie kindly pointed out before, it is useless as a diagnostic aid when used standalone: in the absence of any home testing one MUST find some way to get a picture, however compromised by stress, etc., to gauge how low a dose may be taking a cat. Fructosamine tests have ZERO use in the determination of actual dose safety.

2. You have had your vet do previous spot check BG tests, the lower of which was in the 17 range - vet-influenced and with normal eating schedule. Today's vet-influenced reading of 13.4 is lower than the previous low of 17 BUT that was in an even more stressful scenario AND it was shortly after administration of what I assume probably was a reasonable amount of honey; with BOTH of those elevating factors in play and yet a lower BG level this is another strong argument in support of the position that Smiffy was dangerously low when she was bumping into things and drunk-walking and that therefore a dose reduction is necessary.

3. Another new variable is the recently-introduced Zylkene calming treatment. Firstly, if stress elevates blood glucose levels then it is reasonable to consider whether a calming treatment intended to reduce stress levels may also lower blood glucose levels. The active ingredient in Zylkene is casein which comes from whey. There is research which indicates that whey may lower blood glucose levels. (I would also wonder whether casein may have an impact on the normal counter-regulatory hormone cascade triggered when a cat is on too high a dose and needs protection from hypoglycaemia.) I recommend that you ask your vet to enquire with the manufacturer's technical department about the effect Zylkene may have on blood glucose levels. Until such time as this is known, if it were my cat I would stop giving the supplement as a safety precaution.

Looby - please can you clarify to the people helping you on this thread exactly what you mean by "whey food". Members need to understand what Smiffy is being fed in order to make sound suggestions to you.

4. I am relieved to hear that, at last, a vet run curve is booked. While not as reliable as data gathered in the normal environment (vet stress influence) when a cat is being dosed 'blind' (as has been the case for the last few weeks) a vet-run curve is better than no curve at all. Any dosing decision based on the curve should be highly conservative at this time and should allow for a nadir target set high enough to create some form of safety buffer to accommodate uncontrollable or unpredictable factors (e.g. Smiffy not eating enough at dose time or during the rest of the cycle).

If this were my cat I would insist on a dose reduction.

Going forward, either home testing needs to start NOW or else the vet needs to get much more involved with dose monitoring, if possible doing home visits to check BG - nadir being the most important value to obtain. At minimum Smiffy would need regular curves run at the vets if no home testing happens, especially if anything is introduced into Smiffy's regimen where its impact on blood glucose levels is an unknown.

Looby, to get helpful and safe input here you MUST be straight and realistic when reporting your cat's symptoms and status. I know it may be tempting to endeavour to soothe your own anxieties by trying to lessen the significance of Smiffy's worrying clinical signs and behaviours - and they are worrying - but it is unfair to the people trying to help you if you fail to give them honest and accurate information. I am sorry if that sounds a bit harsh but I care about the needs and safety of advice givers as well as advice seekers and their cats. Clear, concise, and open communication helps keep everyone safe.


Mogs


EDITED TO ADD:


IMPORTANT NOTE: If Smiffy did have a symptomatic hypo yesterday then her body may become MORE SENSITIVE TO INSULIN as a consequence; another reason for a conservative approach to dosing going forward.

.
 
Last edited:
I just want the r
Messages transferred!
@Looby & Smiify : do you need me to transfer other messages here?
I just want the messages regarding Smiffy's possible hypo to be transferred to the new thread form Elizabeth & Bertie and Critter Mom and my first entry about it ... can't work it out and it is sooooo slow on my computer for some reason ... have to go now ... wish ou were on Facebook - that is much quicker on my computer ...... thanks for your help Capoo .....xxx
 
Link to the previous message : http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/smiffys-eating-routine.157924/
Start at message number 15.

What happened:

I'm self medicating it really ..... At about 3.oopm today Smiffy went into what I thought was a hypo - staggering and bumping into the chair and losing her balance (six hours after her shot .... I immedatly shoved some honey into her mouth or tried as she was biting but think I got some in then held her as
I offered her some whey food in gravy but she wouldn't eat it so I called the Vet and got a Nurse out .... I put her in her cage for safety ... Luckily I was on Facebook and Elizabeth & Bertie and a few other really helpful girls was thereon the Feline Diabetic page so talked it through with them ..... Smiffy is at the Vets over night and they are doing a curve tomorrow ..... She was 13.4 BG by the time she got to the Vet so maybe the honey worked or her liver kicked in to help ..... Waiting to find out what they think might have caused the symptoms tomorrow - might not have been hypo but I'm confident I did the right thing .... Poor Smiffy .... Glad to get a second opinion though as vet on duty is not her normal vet ... Know the curve won't be like doing it at home but they should take that into consideration ...... Let you know more tomorrow ... Just glad I acted quickly and she is safe .... Late here now so off to bed .... Nit nite xxx
 
Mogs said:

"Going forward, either home testing needs to start NOW or else the vet needs to get much more involved with dose monitoring, if possible doing home visits to check BG - nadir being the most important value to obtain."
[emphasis mine]

This sounds like a really good 'thinking outside of the box' suggestion.

Looby, I absolutely agree with Mogs that, following the possible hypo yesterday, Smiffy's blood glucose really needs to be monitored more carefully right now in order to keep her safe. So, how might we make that happen..?
The options would seem to be that you learn to hometest (or your DH learns to hometest), OR, as Mogs suggests, in the absence of hometesting that you arrange for someone from the vet's practice to come to your house to do a glucose test around the time of the expected nadir. ...As I understand it you live very close to the vet's clinic...?
A series of nadir tests done at home would probably provide more useful data than a curve done at the vets...

What are your views on this?

Eliz
 
@Looby & Smiify you seem to have 2 threads running so I hope I am replying in the correct one. The night Cappuccino was displaying some mild hypo symptoms her blood sugar was still in the normal range but much lower than she has been used to. If you look at her spreadsheet you will see that the next morning I omitted her insulin all together but she still had a lower glucose in the evening than in the morning. She has also had an episode over a series of days where her blood glucose was going up and down quite alarmingly in response to an attempt to increase her dose again. In terms of symptoms being displayed over those days it was varying from being her normal sociable self to being exhausted and not sociable at all. She is a friendly loving little kitty so this was not like her at all.

I am worried with the fructosamine result you have that Smiffy is on too high a dose of insulin for her needs and may have been swinging just as wildly and this may account for the aggressive and antisocial episodes you have noticed.

Cappuccino also has much higher readings at the vet than at home, to the extent that the home curves are much more reliable in terms of her overall response to insulin. I think it really would be safer for Smiffy to have a dose reduction at this point and to assess how low her blood sugar goes at nadir for the next fews days to inform future dosing decisions. With Cappuccino the low point is usually about 5 hours after her dose, although on days when her dose has been high or she is swinging wildly she has had a dramatic drop by 2 hours and has been fed again rather than risk her dropping too low too fast. Caninsulin seems to really hammer down her sugars and I am worried Smiffy is responding the same way.
 
Thoroughly endorsing what others have said above - in this situation, Smiffy may now be sensitive to her usual dose of insulin so it would be very wise to reduce the dose and keep a close eye on BGs. Many of us who have had experience of Caninsulin would agree that drops can be fast and dramatic, so it is pretty much essential to know what the insulin is doing to prevent another episode of the sort that occurred yesterday.

Diana
 
@Looby & Smiify you seem to have 2 threads running so I hope I am replying in the correct one. The night Cappuccino was displaying some mild hypo symptoms her blood sugar was still in the normal range but much lower than she has been used to. If you look at her spreadsheet you will see that the next morning I omitted her insulin all together but she still had a lower glucose in the evening than in the morning. She has also had an episode over a series of days where her blood glucose was going up and down quite alarmingly in response to an attempt to increase her dose again. In terms of symptoms being displayed over those days it was varying from being her normal sociable self to being exhausted and not sociable at all. She is a friendly loving little kitty so this was not like her at all.

I am worried with the fructosamine result you have that Smiffy is on too high a dose of insulin for her needs and may have been swinging just as wildly and this may account for the aggressive and antisocial episodes you have noticed.

Cappuccino also has much higher readings at the vet than at home, to the extent that the home curves are much more reliable in terms of her overall response to insulin. I think it really would be safer for Smiffy to have a dose reduction at this point and to assess how low her blood sugar goes at nadir for the next fews days to inform future dosing decisions. With Cappuccino the low point is usually about 5 hours after her dose, although on days when her dose has been high or she is swinging wildly she has had a dramatic drop by 2 hours and has been fed again rather than risk her dropping too low too fast. Caninsulin seems to really hammer down her sugars and I am worried Smiffy is responding the same way.[/QUO
 
This is soooo hard you all .... I have opted to increase her food rather than reduce her insulin - if I do both she will be all over the place again won't she?

I have ONLY GONE AND FLIPPING WORKED OUT HOW TO USE THE METER @elizabeth & Bertie and @Critter Mom ... just need to know what setting to put it on for her ears ... using the AccuChek Aviva fast click meter ... have just ordred some more lancets for it as I only had 12 - now 11 ... tried it out on my finger but there was no blood at setting 2 so what setting do I need to put it on for Smiffy's ear .... can't mess with her insulin until a later date ....... At the Vets the Vet said she had a really good curve (?) Her preshot and highest number was 21.1 and her Nadir was about four hours later and 6.8 ........... I know that is not like doing a curve at home ...... so there are two things I have done today and that is to increase the amount of food she eats each day as opposed to reduce her insulin .... she would be all over the place if I did both ... I will start to try to test her ear as soon as the lancets arrive ......
I am exhausted again ...

@Looby & Smiify you seem to have 2 threads running so I hope I am replying in the correct one. The night Cappuccino was displaying some mild hypo symptoms her blood sugar was still in the normal range but much lower than she has been used to. If you look at her spreadsheet you will see that the next morning I omitted her insulin all together but she still had a lower glucose in the evening than in the morning. She has also had an episode over a series of days where her blood glucose was going up and down quite alarmingly in response to an attempt to increase her dose again. In terms of symptoms being displayed over those days it was varying from being her normal sociable self to being exhausted and not sociable at all. She is a friendly loving little kitty so this was not like her at all.

I am worried with the fructosamine result you have that Smiffy is on too high a dose of insulin for her needs and may have been swinging just as wildly and this may account for the aggressive and antisocial episodes you have noticed.

Cappuccino also has much higher readings at the vet than at home, to the extent that the home curves are much more reliable in terms of her overall response to insulin. I think it really would be safer for Smiffy to have a dose reduction at this point and to assess how low her blood sugar goes at nadir for the next fews days to inform future dosing decisions. With Cappuccino the low point is usually about 5 hours after her dose, although on days when her dose has been high or she is swinging wildly she has had a dramatic drop by 2 hours and has been fed again rather than risk her dropping too low too fast. Caninsulin seems to really hammer down her sugars and I am worried Smiffy is responding the same way.[/QUOTE
 
This is the right thread everybody - I started a new one so that I know where to look back for comments on her possible hypo ....
 
I know how to use the meter now ..... hoooooooray - learned something today ... now I just need to have the lancets arrive in the post - only have eleven here to play with ....

Do you think that increasing Smiffy's food is a good idea .... can't reduce the insulin as well - she would be all over the place wouldn't she? Especially as she is 'stable' at the moment?
 
Do you think that increasing Smiffy's food is a good idea
I thought your cat needed to lose weight as a main goal for getting the diabetes under control, per your vet's advice?

Looby, please stop tagging me. As I posted earlier this week on the FH board and also on your previous thread, I am really ill.


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
@Looby & Smiify - she isn't 'stable' at the moment as she has had a hypo and my experience with Cappuccino is she always gets a higher reading at the vets. The combination of these two things means she is at risk of doing it again, I know you only have a small number of lancets but would you be able to have a go at checking her glucose? If you can't do the ear then do try the paw. The secret is getting the testing site nice and warm so the blood will form a good drop easily. The best time to do it is before her feeding time when she has not had food for at least 2 hours. If you can get a reading then we can advise on what to do next with respect to her insulin. Actually - it doesn't really matter if she is a bit all over the place for a short time and better to run high than low. The numbers the vet got today were at the lower end for Caninsulin - from my experience at least, and I would be reducing the next dose if it was my cat even if I had given her additional food.
 
I thought your cat needed to lose weight as a main goal for getting the diabetes under control, per your vet's advice?

Looby, please stop tagging me. As I posted earlier this week on the FH board and also on your previous thread, I am really ill.


Mogs
.
So sorry I missed that you were really ill ...... hope you feel better soon .... I know the Vet says she needed to lose weight but I am taking that into my own hands for her happiness ... not going to overfeed her but just let her graze a bit more .... not going to reduce the insulin and guess what I have learned how to use the glucometer today - just need the order of lancets to come through now .... thanks for all your commments ... ..... . all will be reviewed with the Vet on the 1st June .... she was hungry and miserable on the tiny amount of food they prescirbed for her ....... love and hugs Looby
 
@Looby & Smiify .....just to clarify for you (I just read all the Facebook stuff)....this is where we aim for to get the blood from the ear....while usually we use the "sweet spot", you can actually poke anywhere along either edge....and you can poke on either side too...the "furry" side or the inside where there's less hair to fool with. Whatever works for you!!!

sweet spot diagram.jpg
sweet spot alternate.PNG
 
This is soooo hard you all .... I have opted to increase her food rather than reduce her insulin - if I do both she will be all over the place again won't she?

I have ONLY GONE AND FLIPPING WORKED OUT HOW TO USE THE METER @elizabeth & Bertie and @Critter Mom ... just need to know what setting to put it on for her ears ... using the AccuChek Aviva fast click meter ... have just ordred some more lancets for it as I only had 12 - now 11 ... tried it out on my finger but there was no blood at setting 2 so what setting do I need to put it on for Smiffy's ear .... can't mess with her insulin until a later date ....... At the Vets the Vet said she had a really good curve (?) Her preshot and highest number was 21.1 and her Nadir was about four hours later and 6.8 ........... I know that is not like doing a curve at home ...... so there are two things I have done today and that is to increase the amount of food she eats each day as opposed to reduce her insulin .... she would be all over the place if I did both ... I will start to try to test her ear as soon as the lancets arrive ......
I am exhausted again ...

Looby, you have 11 lancets, why wait until a new supply arrives to start testing? Eleven is ample for a couple of days at least, and really you should be testing Smiffy NOW after yesterday's incident. As we've said above, she may be particularly sensitive to insulin right now so if you are not decreasing her dose, as you say you aren't, you really have no idea how she's using the insulin. In any case, keep a close eye on her after her shot. Yesterday's drop from 21.1 pre-shot to 6.8 at +4 was pretty steep and you don't want her to go a lot lower than that atm for comfort.

Diana
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top