Looby & Smiffy
Member Since 2016
@Alexi @Elizabeth and Bertie @Marlena @Tuxedo Mom @Diana&Tom @BJM@scoobydoox @Larry and Kitties@Woodsywife
I have posted this on the main forum as one of the administrators on FB who is also a well-known member here told me that the Caninsulin forum is hardly used now.
Smiffy is still on about 70g Hill's m/d dry food for Diabetics and 100% protein treats ... have tried for three weeks now to get her interested in wet food - all types and various things sprinkled on the top and she is not having it - believe me! she licks the jelly or the surface of a pate or the crumbled treat or fortiflora and then walks away. Bear in mind I also have to give her a Seraquin chew with each of her main meals - cut up and sprinkled with a Thrive treat on the top of her food as she doesn't like the chews on their own!
Smiffy's estimated Nadir is about 3-4 hours after her food (as per her curve at the Vet) .... I inject between 9.30 and 10 in the morning and the same in the evening ..... I am going to try to get a preshot number tonight even if it means she doesn't get her shot .....
(When she was on 2 units of Caninsulin her Fructosamine was 405 ...... her curve at the Vets on May 21st after a hypo episode on 2 units using Alphatrak were preshot 21.1, +4 (Nadir) 6.8, at +5 12.8 .... actually this is useless information - not a full curve now I look at it!!! but the 6.8 could have been a hypo at home as the Vetsulin website says that readings at the Vet can be upto 5.5 higher than at home - the old Vet Alex says on this report that it is good curve and the numbers should not be causing a hypo - he didn't believe me and told me to video the next one and mentioned PTS for the second time so we sacked him!).
Here are some of her readings so far on one unit of Caninsulin with an AccuChek Aviva Easyclick Glucometer and under the care of her new Vet Roberta ..... Smiffy is now allowed to graze for 5 or 6 hours after her shot so that she can snack at her lowest BG of the day to help to avoid hypos:
Mon 30th June 20 minutes after eating and before her shot 15 (so as close to a preshot number as I have been able to manage so far)
Tues 31st June +7.5 14.8
Weds 1st June +7.5 14.8
Thurs 2nd June +7.5 14.8 Took urine sample negative keytones and negative glucose
Sat 5th June +8 14.8
Mon 6th +8 10.7
Tues 7th +8 11.9
Thurs 9th +7.5 12.3
Fri 10th +3 (aroud her Nadir time when she was at the Vet but this is at home) 8.5 Took urine sample ketones negative and glucose high (dark brown on keto diastrix - somebody on FB said that glucose can accumulate in the urine on Caninsulin)
Sat 11th +8 14.8
Mond 13th +3 13.5 +8 16.3
Tues 14th +7 15
Weds 15th +5 12 Check up at Vet Fructosamine 436
Thurs 17th loose stools - treated with high carb i/d and fortiflora for two days
Mon 20th +7 14.4
Thurs 23rd +7 16.3
Friday 24th +7 14.3 Preshot 14.7
Saturady 25th Took Preshot 12.9 Urine sample - negative keytones, some glucose
That's it so far ....
Do you think it is a good idea to try to get a preshot number even if I it means I have to miss giving her a shot just for one day?
I am a little concerned that her +7 numbers are going up and that her Fructosamine was so much higher ..... Roberta is happy with things so far ... we are seeing her again in a month but I can call her to ask her if I should increase the dose to 1 1/2 units ..... we will also discuss changing to Glargine if she can justify Smiffy is not doing well on Caninsulin.
You can get a full summary of how what resulted from our first trip to the new Vet Roberta on the thread 'Smiffy's trip to the Vet June' ....
I have to say that in the past few weeks she has been back to her normal self and not hiding upstairs under the chair in the bedroom ... she has been waking us up, going for walks with me and sitting in the sun, using her old bed again and spending more time with us downstairs and playing ... she is not drinking a lot or peeing much and her coat is dandruff free now .......
This has taken me ages to do here so I hope you all get to see it ...... I missed somebody out above who is trying to help me set up a spreadsheet but I haven't got to that yet .... not very computer savvy! But I have step by step instructions on how to set it up somewhere here if I could find it .....
I am really interested to hear what you think and if you think .... will let you know what her preshot number is if I can get one one evening .....
I keep the Forum as a tab a the top of my computer when I am on line but it doesn't tell me when there is an alert as Facebook does .... so I have to keep logging in to this page to see what is there ....
I have posted this on the main forum as one of the administrators on FB who is also a well-known member here told me that the Caninsulin forum is hardly used now.
Smiffy is still on about 70g Hill's m/d dry food for Diabetics and 100% protein treats ... have tried for three weeks now to get her interested in wet food - all types and various things sprinkled on the top and she is not having it - believe me! she licks the jelly or the surface of a pate or the crumbled treat or fortiflora and then walks away. Bear in mind I also have to give her a Seraquin chew with each of her main meals - cut up and sprinkled with a Thrive treat on the top of her food as she doesn't like the chews on their own!
Smiffy's estimated Nadir is about 3-4 hours after her food (as per her curve at the Vet) .... I inject between 9.30 and 10 in the morning and the same in the evening ..... I am going to try to get a preshot number tonight even if it means she doesn't get her shot .....
(When she was on 2 units of Caninsulin her Fructosamine was 405 ...... her curve at the Vets on May 21st after a hypo episode on 2 units using Alphatrak were preshot 21.1, +4 (Nadir) 6.8, at +5 12.8 .... actually this is useless information - not a full curve now I look at it!!! but the 6.8 could have been a hypo at home as the Vetsulin website says that readings at the Vet can be upto 5.5 higher than at home - the old Vet Alex says on this report that it is good curve and the numbers should not be causing a hypo - he didn't believe me and told me to video the next one and mentioned PTS for the second time so we sacked him!).
Here are some of her readings so far on one unit of Caninsulin with an AccuChek Aviva Easyclick Glucometer and under the care of her new Vet Roberta ..... Smiffy is now allowed to graze for 5 or 6 hours after her shot so that she can snack at her lowest BG of the day to help to avoid hypos:
Mon 30th June 20 minutes after eating and before her shot 15 (so as close to a preshot number as I have been able to manage so far)
Tues 31st June +7.5 14.8
Weds 1st June +7.5 14.8
Thurs 2nd June +7.5 14.8 Took urine sample negative keytones and negative glucose
Sat 5th June +8 14.8
Mon 6th +8 10.7
Tues 7th +8 11.9
Thurs 9th +7.5 12.3
Fri 10th +3 (aroud her Nadir time when she was at the Vet but this is at home) 8.5 Took urine sample ketones negative and glucose high (dark brown on keto diastrix - somebody on FB said that glucose can accumulate in the urine on Caninsulin)
Sat 11th +8 14.8
Mond 13th +3 13.5 +8 16.3
Tues 14th +7 15
Weds 15th +5 12 Check up at Vet Fructosamine 436
Thurs 17th loose stools - treated with high carb i/d and fortiflora for two days
Mon 20th +7 14.4
Thurs 23rd +7 16.3
Friday 24th +7 14.3 Preshot 14.7
Saturady 25th Took Preshot 12.9 Urine sample - negative keytones, some glucose
That's it so far ....
Do you think it is a good idea to try to get a preshot number even if I it means I have to miss giving her a shot just for one day?
I am a little concerned that her +7 numbers are going up and that her Fructosamine was so much higher ..... Roberta is happy with things so far ... we are seeing her again in a month but I can call her to ask her if I should increase the dose to 1 1/2 units ..... we will also discuss changing to Glargine if she can justify Smiffy is not doing well on Caninsulin.
You can get a full summary of how what resulted from our first trip to the new Vet Roberta on the thread 'Smiffy's trip to the Vet June' ....
I have to say that in the past few weeks she has been back to her normal self and not hiding upstairs under the chair in the bedroom ... she has been waking us up, going for walks with me and sitting in the sun, using her old bed again and spending more time with us downstairs and playing ... she is not drinking a lot or peeing much and her coat is dandruff free now .......
This has taken me ages to do here so I hope you all get to see it ...... I missed somebody out above who is trying to help me set up a spreadsheet but I haven't got to that yet .... not very computer savvy! But I have step by step instructions on how to set it up somewhere here if I could find it .....
I am really interested to hear what you think and if you think .... will let you know what her preshot number is if I can get one one evening .....
I keep the Forum as a tab a the top of my computer when I am on line but it doesn't tell me when there is an alert as Facebook does .... so I have to keep logging in to this page to see what is there ....
Last edited: