Smiffy July update

Status
Not open for further replies.
@MrWorfMen's Mom and @Alexi ... why is she so passive and sleepy and limp on these new low numbers? She is not being the alert new cat she had become over the last few weeks ... is it because she is getting used to the change in her body? She doesn't want to eat either so I am going to leave her biscuits out for her to graze on .... why is she off her food ... she has also peed a lot today ....... this is worrying me now .....
 
Last edited:
Looby, it could just be her body adjusting to the lower numbers. It's probably a bit confused right now because she hasn't had low numbers like this for awhile. The lower numbers usually decrease hunger so unless she is totally refusing to eat anything, it may be that she just isn't as hungry as she used to be. Cats get really hungry when their numbers are high and less so when their numbers start coming down. If her appetite is completely gone, then there could be something else going on but otherwise I wouldn't be concerned unless it becomes a continual lack of interest in food. Is she eliminating normally? Any chance she might be constipated? She also ate wet food which she is not accustomed to doing so maybe that has made her feel a bit off because sometimes a change in diet even if only for one meal, can cause a bit of tummy upset.
 
Looby, it could just be her body adjusting to the lower numbers. It's probably a bit confused right now because she hasn't had low numbers like this for awhile. The lower numbers usually decrease hunger so unless she is totally refusing to eat anything, it may be that she just isn't as hungry as she used to be. Cats get really hungry when their numbers are high and less so when their numbers start coming down. If her appetite is completely gone, then there could be something else going on but otherwise I wouldn't be concerned unless it becomes a continual lack of interest in food. Is she eliminating normally? Any chance she might be constipated? She also ate wet food which she is not accustomed to doing so maybe that has made her feel a bit off because sometimes a change in diet even if only for one meal, can cause a bit of tummy upset.
She had the tiniest amount of wet food at lunchtime - more like licking the jelly off the top .... she has just had a few biscuits at +6 .... she had stools this morning - most of which were normal but one little part a bit tacky and lighter but a good amount ...... she ate more this morning than she did just now ...... I will see how she is tomorrow .... hope you and I are right and she is just adjusting ..... she was so much brighter and back to her normal self over the last few weeks - it is so sad to see her seeming off colour today ......
 
Pre-shot this morning (Friday) was 11.11 - that's after no shot last night ... gave her one unit as she ate nearly half her biscuits .... she is more fiesty this morning and was by my bed this morning purring ...... here she - she is on better form today and has her appetite back ......
 
Pre-shot this morning (Friday) was 11.11 - that's after no shot last night ... gave her one unit as she ate nearly half her biscuits .... she is more fiesty this morning and was by my bed this morning purring ...... here she - she is on better form today and has her appetite back ......


What a great start to the day, especially with no shot last night!!
dancing_cat.gif


If possible try to get a few tests in today. +2 or +3 would be good and if possible even doing a mini curve today. Smiffy is doing so well and the data you are getting is most useful. Great numbers overall considering you have skipped two evening shots!
 
I agree with Mary Ann. Getting a test at +2 or minimum +3 would be ideal with that lower pre-shot just to see how fast her BG is dropping. I know you don't usually test again until +5 during the day but Smiffy started a little lower today so she's likely to go down a bit lower too.
 
Thanks - her plus 5 was 8.7 today ..... by the way @MrWorfMen's Mom she was not on a lower dose this morning ... she usually gets one unit in the morning and only for the last week before her numbers went down a couple of days ago she was on one and a half at night ....... if you mean 'lower dose' because she missed last night then that makes sense ....

Have I missed two evening shots? Just a sec ...... yes you are right - in that case her numbers are really good ... do you think the rise to one and a half in the evening last week has kick started something in her pancreas? She is in a much more fiesty mood today so I am pleased about that ...... yesterday she was very passive and let me test her all day but today is not so impressed which means she is back to normal!!! So far anyway ......

So you think I need to do a curve today? I did the best I could yesterday ... every two hours if I can maybe .......

Is it worth doing readings in the evening after the preshot is taken if she doesn't have a shot? I would try to get a +3 or +4 in the evening if she has a shot ... that was mine and Roberta's thinking behind giving her the higher dose at night as I am about - that was back when she was on 13s and 14s everyday but I don't think one and a half units is going to feature again as Roberta said only to give her that if she is over 14 which seems unlikely now thank goodness ....

Really do a curve today?

Please tell me what you think about me testing her in the evening even if she hasn't had a shot?

I just can't so +2 or +3 - my illness and routine just won't allow it but I can to it in the evening - is that good enough? Surely it would give some idea ... cats don't vary much in the day or night do they like humans do?
 
I agree with Mary Ann. Getting a test at +2 or minimum +3 would be ideal with that lower pre-shot just to see how fast her BG is dropping. I know you don't usually test again until +5 during the day but Smiffy started a little lower today so she's likely to go down a bit lower too.
I will try to get a +2 and +3 in the evening if she has a shot ... that is as good as doing it in the morning surely to see how the inslulin is working?
 
Sounds like you and Smiffy are doing great!

Such a huge difference from a month or so ago.

Well done, you.
Thank you .... yes it has come as quite a shock ... one day all in the 13s and 14s and then right down ..... I didn't realise things could change so quickly - do you think it means her pancreas is suddenly starting to try to work?
 
Really do a curve today?


Looby You don't need to do a full curve really, but doing a mini curve...a test as close to every 3 hours during the cycle will give more data...and more data is a wonderful way to track Smiffy's progress. Smiffy seems to be at a very good place in hertreatment program right now and the more data you have the easier it is for you and your vet to make the best decisions on dosing. This is very exciting for you and Smiffy. Hopefully Smiffy will also start to be a good girl about accepting low carb wet food soon and you may see even better numbers :bighug:

Looking good!!
 
Last edited:
Looby, I didn't say her dose was lower this morning....I said her pre-shot reading. :) She is looking good at +5 but that probably wasn't her lowest reading because that is usually around +3 or +4 in the cycle and by +5 it's likely she is starting to go up again.

If you don't give insulin you don't need to do any testing in the middle of that cycle.

Some cats go lower at night than during the day but the key word there is "some". Every cat is different and that's why testing at the critical points in the cycle according to the insulin you are using is important. I don't think you need to worry about any more testing today until the pre-shot tonight.

Looby, my concern is that with Smiffy now getting some lower numbers, if she has a very active cycle during the day and she has her lowest reading at +3 or +4 but you don't test until +5, Smiffy could potentially go too low. Right now she is fine but that could change if her numbers keep dropping as they have been doing the past few days . Anytime there is a sudden drop in the readings, more vigilance is important to make sure kitty stays safe. You can control the insulin you give but if Smiffy's pancreas is starting to do some of the work again, you can't control that. I understand that your illness and routine make it hard to get a +3 or +4 reading during the day. Would it be possible to do a +2 test during the day then to see just how fast Smiffy's BG is dropping? I'm asking because I want to make sure Smiffy stays safe and Caninsulin can drop the BG quickly and by quite a bit by +3 in the cycle which is why we all keep talking about getting a reading at that time.
 
Looby, I didn't say her dose was lower this morning....I said her pre-shot reading. :) She is looking good at +5 but that probably wasn't her lowest reading because that is usually around +3 or +4 in the cycle and by +5 it's likely she is starting to go up again.

If you don't give insulin you don't need to do any testing in the middle of that cycle.

Some cats go lower at night than during the day but the key word there is "some". Every cat is different and that's why testing at the critical points in the cycle according to the insulin you are using is important. I don't think you need to worry about any more testing today until the pre-shot tonight.

Looby, my concern is that with Smiffy now getting some lower numbers, if she has a very active cycle during the day and she has her lowest reading at +3 or +4 but you don't test until +5, Smiffy could potentially go too low. Right now she is fine but that could change if her numbers keep dropping as they have been doing the past few days . Anytime there is a sudden drop in the readings, more vigilance is important to make sure kitty stays safe. You can control the insulin you give but if Smiffy's pancreas is starting to do some of the work again, you can't control that. I understand that your illness and routine make it hard to get a +3 or +4 reading during the day. Would it be possible to do a +2 test during the day then to see just how fast Smiffy's BG is dropping? I'm asking because I want to make sure Smiffy stays safe and Caninsulin can drop the BG quickly and by quite a bit by +3 in the cycle which is why we all keep talking about getting a reading at that time.
Yes I understand completely ........ I simply can't do the +2 ... wish my flipping husband would have learned this but he said from the start he couldn't do it (squeamish) .... all I have told him is to watch out for the symptoms if she follows him down to his office in the garden and to keep an eye on her and to give her high carb treats if she is wobbly and call me .... te best I can do today is to hope that I can give her shots in the evening and do the +2s and 3s then ........ just to get some idea .... this is worrying me sick that I am not around in the morning ........ I wish that things were different ...... there is an opportunity for me to do it next Wednesday when I take her to the Vet as we have to get there by 12.30 ...... this damned illness is so crippling ... will try to test tonight or tomorrow night .... today I have the most ridiculous headache and I am feeling very inadequate ... best I can do is the evening to get some idea .... now I am sweating with anxiety ... need to go outside to calm down ..... it's terrrible ....
 
Yes I understand completely ........ I simply can't do the +2


Looby

I understand that with your illness it is extremely hard to plan out your timing. Is there any way you could change the shot time so that you are able to get the rest you need after your meds and then be up for the shot and a +2 reading?? Even if you can do this for one or two days then switch back it would be very valueable information about how Smiffy responds to Caninsulin in the early hours after the shot. The "usual" is that most kitties will do larger drops in the the first 2 hours...who knows Smiffy may be different, but without actually getting those tests, it is so hard to say.

As far as tonight...if Smiffy is too low to shoot then you don't need to do glucose tests. If you are curious you could do one during the night just to see how Smiffy's numbers change after eating and without insulin.

Looby... just do the best you can. You have made such major progress with testing and all and Smiffys numbers are looking very promising. All of us here would like nothing better than to see Smiffy eventually go into remission. In the meantime we all want to be sure Smiffy is safe and you are not stressed out. :bighug:
 
Looby

I understand that with your illness it is extremely hard to plan out your timing. Is there any way you could change the shot time so that you are able to get the rest you need after your meds and then be up for the shot and a +2 reading?? Even if you can do this for one or two days then switch back it would be very valueable information about how Smiffy responds to Caninsulin in the early hours after the shot. The "usual" is that most kitties will do larger drops in the the first 2 hours...who knows Smiffy may be different, but without actually getting those tests, it is so hard to say.

As far as tonight...if Smiffy is too low to shoot then you don't need to do glucose tests. If you are curious you could do one during the night just to see how Smiffy's numbers change after eating and without insulin.

Looby... just do the best you can. You have made such major progress with testing and all and Smiffys numbers are looking very promising. All of us here would like nothing better than to see Smiffy eventually go into remission. In the meantime we all want to be sure Smiffy is safe and you are not stressed out. :bighug:
She is far from being on low carb wet food ..... more pressure but she is just not going to eat it ....... she licks off the jelly ... I have left wet food out for her when she is hungry and she is not interested ..... I and all the girls here have to accept that Smiffy is going to stay on the low carb dry food ..... thanks for your interest and comments - yes she is doing really well so one step at a time ..... I know it is possible to be in remission on the biscuits as there are cases of it at the surgery where Roberta our Vet has worked with lots of cats ...... I am feeling very inadequate as it is because I can't do the morning +2 +3 etc ... the earliest I can do is preshot and get her dose right based on what she eats and then +5 ..... I am getting really stressed when I should be really pleased for her ..... I leave biscuits out for her and she seems to know when she needs to eat if her BG goes a bit low ...... I just have to keep my fingers crossed for her and try not to worry @Alexi understands my circumstances ...

Thank you so much for your help and support ....
 
Looby

I understand that with your illness it is extremely hard to plan out your timing. Is there any way you could change the shot time so that you are able to get the rest you need after your meds and then be up for the shot and a +2 reading?? Even if you can do this for one or two days then switch back it would be very valueable information about how Smiffy responds to Caninsulin in the early hours after the shot. The "usual" is that most kitties will do larger drops in the the first 2 hours...who knows Smiffy may be different, but without actually getting those tests, it is so hard to say.

As far as tonight...if Smiffy is too low to shoot then you don't need to do glucose tests. If you are curious you could do one during the night just to see how Smiffy's numbers change after eating and without insulin.

Looby... just do the best you can. You have made such major progress with testing and all and Smiffys numbers are looking very promising. All of us here would like nothing better than to see Smiffy eventually go into remission. In the meantime we all want to be sure Smiffy is safe and you are not stressed out. :bighug:
Thanks .. .... when Smiffy had her hypos back when she was on 2 units twice per day one happened at about 1.30 which would have been +3 and at that time she is in the bedroom with me and she called out to me so that is a possitive ......... I am around in a way but not to test unless I get a second meter set for upstairs ....... the second time was at about +5 and I was with her ...... she spends the morning wth me in the bedroom .......

After these episodes I also decided to leave food out for her and I know for a fact that if she feels a bit low she will come downstairs and have something to eat .....

The best I can do at the moment is to hope that I can give her a shot tonight and see if I can test her at +2 or maybe it will have to be tomorrow as I have an almighty headache (that;s why I sound a bit disjointed today) ........ well I hope she doesn't need a shot but if she does I will try to test her - at least that will give us some idea - that is better than nothing ......

I can't change my routine as it sets the rest of the day out ... difficult to explain ....

I will do the tests tonight or tomorrow night as Roberta suggested and see what that shows ... sorry I am really really tired and in pain today ....

I completely undertand what you are telling me and know it already ........

Yes whilst her numbers aren't too low I will try to test in the evening ... I will think about having a second kit for upstairs ... that makes sense .....

Thanks .....

I can't have people telling me to change to wet food at this stage - she just won't eat it as a meal - just licks it - it stresses me out when I am told again that we need to change her diet - the Diabetic biscuits have got her this far and Roberta has cats well on it .... ideally I would like to change but that is not going to happen .. one thing at a time ......
 
Looby you just do the best you can. People here will always suggest the safest and best approaches for anyone's kitty...it is just because we all care. I understand that your illness makes changing the routine hard to do, but we all care about Smiffy's safety as well. It is just a matter of finding the safest approach for Smiffy and an approach that you are able to deal with.

Rest up and feel better. :bighug:
 
Looby you just do the best you can. People here will always suggest the safest and best approaches for anyone's kitty...it is just because we all care. I understand that your illness makes changing the routine hard to do, but we all care about Smiffy's safety as well. It is just a matter of finding the safest approach for Smiffy and an approach that you are able to deal with.

Rest up and feel better. :bighug:
Thanks ..... I know everybody wants the best for Smiffy and so do I of course ... she and Pasha are my life ....... Smiffy has done this well on her biscuits so I am not going to worry about that for now .....

She is with me all morning up in the bedroom so if she were to be poorly she would let me know .... but I am going to ask DH if I can keep a second testing kit in the bedroom for emergencies ......

I will feel better tomorrow ..... headaches are desinged to make you feel distressed and fed up I think! Smiffy is out in the garden on her bench on her rug and we have been for a little walk so she is happy as Larry .....

I have a feeling I am not going to have to give her a shot this evening judging by her readings again today ...

hugs xxx
 
Looby, feed Smiffy whatever she will eat. I have a kibble addicted cat and know just how that feels but don't feel frustrated about it because there is nothing you can do to make Smiffy eat something she has no interest in. The fact that she ate any is far better than happens at my house so kudos to you. I agree that right now you do what you can and don't try changing Smiffy's diet. That is not the important thing right now. The important thing is to keep Smiffy safe and if she is in the bedroom with you or out with your husband and you leave food out for her and she'll eat when she feels the need, then she should be fine. :)
 
Looby, feed Smiffy whatever she will eat. I have a kibble addicted cat and know just how that feels but don't feel frustrated about it because there is nothing you can do to make Smiffy eat something she has no interest in. The fact that she ate any is far better than happens at my house so kudos to you. I agree that right now you do what you can and don't try changing Smiffy's diet. That is not the important thing right now. The important thing is to keep Smiffy safe and if she is in the bedroom with you or out with your husband and you leave food out for her and she'll eat when she feels the need, then she should be fine. :)
Thanks - and I think my instincts with her are good ... she would let me know if something was wrong I am almost certain about that ... headache a bit better now Thanks again Linda xxx
 
Just as everything was going so well Smiffy has decided not to eat her breakfast and at only 12.8 (she was too low last night to have her shot at 9.11) she is going without a shot again this morning but I can't risk it .... damn ... her numbers have been so good and now they are going to be high again ... she didn't eat a scrap so I can't even risk 1/2 unit ...... ohhh her Daddy came back and now she is eating so I take all that back ... going to give her a whole unit and hope she sticks aorund me for the morning .... wish me luck .... she moved so I got a bent needle so I don't know if it went in or not ...... every day is different!
 
Last edited:
I hate when they decide to move at just the wrong time. I always do a feel for any wet fur and a sniff test but I am not sure if Caninsulin has any scent. Wishing you a good cycle today!
 
I hate when they decide to move at just the wrong time. I always do a feel for any wet fur and a sniff test but I am not sure if Caninsulin has any scent. Wishing you a good cycle today!
I have just done a +5 and she was 8.5 so I think the one unit I gave her this morning must have gone in .... I couldn't feel any wet fur this morning ..... she is fighting me a bit now when I test her so she has got her mo jo back which is good news but it makes things more difficult for me ...

Sorry about yesterday - my head was throbbing so much I couldn't think straight and the stress on top was a bit much ... had to calm down and watch the tennis at Wimbledon in the end and Smiffy is just fine .... it is DH I would like to throttle as he still after all this time refuses to take part or even understand what is going on or what to do if I am not there ..... ahhhhhhh

I am not going to do a curve today as Smiffy needs a break from the pricking .... I am happy with the 8.5 as I now know what happens from now on and I will then try to get a shot in tonight if she needs one but it is looking as if she only needs one unit per day now in the morning ...

What do you think? Roberta told me not to shoot her in the evening if she is under 10 and she was 9.11 so I didn't shoot .... if she is a bit above that and she eats I might give her 1/2 unit and then try to do some +2 and +3 or +4 readings if she doesn't go upstairs to bed that is ..... she is such a tinker .... trouble is if I don't give her any insulin at night she has a reading ike this morning of 12.8 which is only just above what our Vet is aiming for her to have throughout the day ....

Don't know whether to give her a 1/2 shot tongiht or not if she eats that is .....

if she is under 10 then I won't ... value your opinion once more
 
The numbers are looking good, ideally she should have insulin every 12 hours but her overall need for insulin seems to be falling, which is why the pre-shot numbers are so important. If you feel comfortable with a 0.5 tonight I would go ahead, she has access to food which is why her numbers are not dropping too far in the cycle, now you are testing regularly it will be easier to decide what each dose does to her readings and you will be able to steer her into the lower numbers.
 
The numbers are looking good, ideally she should have insulin every 12 hours but her overall need for insulin seems to be falling, which is why the pre-shot numbers are so important. If you feel comfortable with a 0.5 tonight I would go ahead, she has access to food which is why her numbers are not dropping too far in the cycle, now you are testing regularly it will be easier to decide what each dose does to her readings and you will be able to steer her into the lower numbers.
For some reason today her numbers have gone up in the afternoon from 8.5 at +5 to preshot now in the evening at 12.7 so I am aiming to give her one unit tonight after she has eaten ... that will be safe ..........
 
@Alexi and @MrWorfMen's Mom Smiffy was 12.7 preshot tonight .... didn't eat a lot and at +2/+2.5ish she is now 7 so have offered her some new food ..... you are right - she drops quickly and I must make sure she eats more in future before I shoot her!
 
It's ok Looby, at 7 she is still fine. You don't need to be feeding her until she gets a bit lower than that... conservatively around about 4.5 or 5. Check her again in about 30 minutes just to be sure she is holding steady and not still dropping. That is why we've been urging you to get that earlier test on the day cycles Looby. Smiffy is starting to come down and those early tests tell you if you need to be watching her more closely. :)
 
It's ok Looby, at 7 she is still fine. You don't need to be feeding her until she gets a bit lower than that... conservatively around about 4.5 or 5. Check her again in about 30 minutes just to be sure she is holding steady and not still dropping. That is why we've been urging you to get that earlier test on the day cycles Looby. Smiffy is starting to come down and those early tests tell you if you need to be watching her more closely. :)
I put some fresh biscuits out because she hardly ate anything for her tea so I think that's part of the reason also she dropped so quickly .... I want her to have the food there so that she gets used to having a little nibble when she is low ... she only had a little bit .... I put the food away now so that she is hungry for the morning ....didn't get another number as I fell asleep - just woken up again now - nearly 3 in the morning!!!
 
@Alexi and @MrWorfMen's Mom

Smiffy now seems to be going through a phase of being in the 12s preshot am and pm and then dipping a lot two or three hours later (last night preshot 12.7 and +2 7)

She was preshot 12.4 this morning and she ate and she is only 8 at +5 so she must have been a bit lower

She is now having peaks and troughs whereas when she was having the higher numbers they were about the same readings all day so level all day

Her body must be all over the place poor thing

Why is she suddenly having peaks and troughs? You can have a look at her spreadsheet on the FDMB ... that said she seems very well in her self .......

Do you recognise this pattern Cyndie Moscone as you used Caninsulin? It is a different pattern.... she has gone from mostly 12s and 13s all day to all lower numbers all day to now high preshot and low in the cycle!

Comments appreciated ..... she is well ... flinches when I go near here though because she thinks I am going to test her no matter how gently and friendly I am ..... best introduce a treat again I think .. thought we had got over that ....
 
Last edited:
Looby, the pattern you are seeing is pretty typical of Caninsulin with higher pre-numbers, a dip and then back up. You don't have a lot of pre-shot numbers before this past week or so. It's possible that Smiffy's pre-shots were higher then and she was dropping just as she is now. As Smiffy gets more accustomed to the lower readings, her pre-shot may come down a bit but Caninsulin does cause a lot of up and downs in the BG readings because it usually doesn't last the full 12 hours in cats.
 
@Alexi @MrWorfMen's Mom

Smiffy is all over the place ... this morning she is preshot 15.9 - she has shot up!!!

What could have caused her to shoot up like that?

I am not exactly worried but very surprised and a bit disappointed after all her good low numbers

There is nothing that cold have scard or stressed her except I heard a bit of a cat scrap earlier? Would that increase her BG that much an hour or so later?


What do you think girls? Quite a big difference to yesterday and the past few days ..... do you think it is because she has been getting less insulin over the last few days or because of the cat scrap I mentioned .... very odd or maybe you would think not so odd? Please have a look at her spreadsheet for me .... I didn't give her a full unit yesterday morning because she didn't eat anything as I left her biscuits out over night by mistake so she probably had a little snack before I wanted to give her her shot but I couldn't be sure so only gave her 1/2 unit ....
 
Looby, a cat's BG can shoot up because they heard something unfamiliar to them and if you test right at that moment, you'll get a higher reading. Don't worry about one higher number. It's the pattern over time that matters. Smiffy's up a bit but not that much so I wouldn't be concerned at all. I know it's disappointing as I go through this with my girl too where for no apparent reason she has a higher than expected reading, but after that big sigh we all let out when we see that higher number, we need to move on and forget it. If she stays up or keep going up, then you deal with it. Right now it looks like she is coming down again this morning so no worries!
 
Looby, a cat's BG can shoot up because they heard something unfamiliar to them and if you test right at that moment, you'll get a higher reading. Don't worry about one higher number. It's the pattern over time that matters. Smiffy's up a bit but not that much so I wouldn't be concerned at all. I know it's disappointing as I go through this with my girl too where for no apparent reason she has a higher than expected reading, but after that big sigh we all let out when we see that higher number, we need to move on and forget it. If she stays up or keep going up, then you deal with it. Right now it looks like she is coming down again this morning so no worries!
She was 12.3 at +1 and now 7.8 at +4 so that is a big drop - her curves seem to be a lot more of a curve the last couple of days ......... try not to worry .... she has had a lot more of her Diabetic biscuits than usual today .........
 
As already mentioned there could have been a number of reasons why the numbers were higher this morning. Also glucose numbers even in a non-diabetic kitty can fluctuate each day. Another possibility is that Smiffy might have dropped lower than she usually does last night and this morning's number could have been a bit of a bounce. Since you weren't able to get any tests after the shot last night it is hard to say if Smiffy did go lower or not. But she is coming down well this morning, so hopefully the good numbers will continue.
 
As already mentioned there could have been a number of reasons why the numbers were higher this morning. Also glucose numbers even in a non-diabetic kitty can fluctuate each day. Another possibility is that Smiffy might have dropped lower than she usually does last night and this morning's number could have been a bit of a bounce. Since you weren't able to get any tests after the shot last night it is hard to say if Smiffy did go lower or not. But she is coming down well this morning, so hopefully the good numbers will continue.
OK that makes sense ...... I thought I would give her a bit of a rest last night from Mummy testing her .... the preshot is the one that I am aiming for and normally at night I would try to get +2 and +3 or 4 ....... I am now really in the realms of the 'sugar dance' and now understand why it is so called!
 
OK that makes sense ...... I thought I would give her a bit of a rest last night from Mummy testing her .... the preshot is the one that I am aiming for and normally at night I would try to get +2 and +3 or 4 ....... I am now really in the realms of the 'sugar dance' and now understand why it is so called!

Preshots are very important so that you know the number is safe to shoot, but the nadirs are also important in order to know how low a dose is bringing Smiffy. The nadirs can sometimes explain why a preshot seems high...if the nadir was a lower than usual number there is a good chance that you could see a bit of a bounce at the next preshot. But overall Smiffy is looking good and it is so wonderful that you have managed to be able to do regular testing!
113.gif
The "sugar dance" is quite the thing...just when you think you have all the steps figured out, the steps change. ;)
 
My Callie uses the same insulin. Her preshot tests are always the highest tests for the day, because the insulin has worn off. About 4-5 hours after her shot she is at the lowest.

You might be able to see the pattern better if you record her numbers on a piece of graph paper. I put the time across the bottom and the test numbers going up the side. You will be able to see the patterns after just a few days. I give my vet copies of the graphs every week or so. Then she will call me to give me her opinion

I hope things get better for you and your sweet kitty.
 
My Callie uses the same insulin. Her preshot tests are always the highest tests for the day, because the insulin has worn off. About 4-5 hours after her shot she is at the lowest.

You might be able to see the pattern better if you record her numbers on a piece of graph paper. I put the time across the bottom and the test numbers going up the side. You will be able to see the patterns after just a few days. I give my vet copies of the graphs every week or so. Then she will call me to give me her opinion

I hope things get better for you and your sweet kitty.
Thanks for your remarks Donna - nice to hear from you and from somebody that is also using Caninsulin ....

I am watching her pattern and recording all her numbers on an FDMB spreadsheet ... you can have a look at it if you click on the link in my signature ..... I am able to e-mail the spreadseet to my Vet so she can see ALL her readings over the weeks and up to date on line - our Vet really loves it!

Smiffy was very poorly but now for the past month or so she has been back to her normal self ......

I posted this today because if you look at her spreadsheet she has been getting very encouraging low numbers for the past few days (for two evenings in a row she was too low for me to give her a shot) and now she has suddenly gone up agin ......

Smiffy goes low as quickly as +2 hours in the evening on one night but generally she is like your puss and is lowest around +3 or +4 .....

How is Callie? How long as she been on Caninsulin ....

Oh sorry I see you have a spreadsheet ... I will have a look as it is interesting to see another Caninsulin puss cats numbers .......

Do write back and tell me about Callie .....
 
My Callie uses the same insulin. Her preshot tests are always the highest tests for the day, because the insulin has worn off. About 4-5 hours after her shot she is at the lowest.

You might be able to see the pattern better if you record her numbers on a piece of graph paper. I put the time across the bottom and the test numbers going up the side. You will be able to see the patterns after just a few days. I give my vet copies of the graphs every week or so. Then she will call me to give me her opinion

I hope things get better for you and your sweet kitty.
Gosh just had a look at your spreadsheet @donnalea ...... Callie is on a high dose and her numbers are way more erratic than Smiffy's .... our cats were diagnosed around about the same time ....

Have a look at Smiffy's spreadsheet and doses ...... she is doing really well really ...... even though you are doing US readings (as you know have to multiply my UK readings by 18 to get your equivalent) we can tell by the colours each others numbers the equivalent kind of readings at a glance ....

Look forward to hearing from you again
 
Callie is on a high dose and her numbers are way more erratic than Smiffy's .... our cats were diagnosed around about the same time ....


Looby this is a perfect example of ECID (every cat is different) Callie may have other health issues that make it harder to get a good regulation. OR Callie may be one of those kitties that doesn't do as well on Caninulin/Vetsulin. OR Callie may just take longer to get into the good numbers.

Actually you have been fortunate with Smiffy, since she seems to be responding well to a low dose of Caninsulin even with a dry food diet. :cat:
 
Looby this is a perfect example of ECID (every cat is different) Callie may have other health issues that make it harder to get a good regulation. OR Callie may be one of those kitties that doesn't do as well on Caninulin/Vetsulin. OR Callie may just take longer to get into the good numbers.

Actually you have been fortunate with Smiffy, since she seems to be responding well to a low dose of Caninsulin even with a dry food diet. :cat:
Yes I think we are very lucky ... I certainly don't have data (readings and clinical signs) sufficient to really justify a change of insulin at this point in time ...... we will see how it goes ...

Thank you for following us - really appreciate it
 
Looby this is a perfect example of ECID (every cat is different) Callie may have other health issues that make it harder to get a good regulation. OR Callie may be one of those kitties that doesn't do as well on Caninulin/Vetsulin. OR Callie may just take longer to get into the good numbers.

Actually you have been fortunate with Smiffy, since she seems to be responding well to a low dose of Caninsulin even with a dry food diet. :cat:
Callie has had a UTI. She is on her third antibiotic. She finally seem to be getting better. The UTI sent her numbers sky high just when we were starting her insulin. We basically have to start all over again to get back where we started. I have more numbers to put into her SS in a little while.
 
Callie has had a UTI. She is on her third antibiotic. She finally seem to be getting better. The UTI sent her numbers sky high just when we were starting her insulin. We basically have to start all over again to get back where we started. I have more numbers to put into her SS in a little while.


So sorry to hear that. If they don't get the right antibiotic at first it can take a long time to clear it up. Both my kitties have much higher numbers when they have UTIs. I'm glad to hear that Callie is finally improving. Hopefully you will be able to get her into better numbers soon. :bighug: :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top