Smash in blue, but we skipped some shots

Status
Not open for further replies.

TaylorAndSmash

Member Since 2020
Last week, Smash got his first low sugar episode after my vet recommended we double his dose from 1 to 2 units of Lantus when we weren't seeing great results with the previous 1. After that scary day, we stuck with 1 unit. Now his numbers look great, but we have had two times where we have had to skip the shot all together. I'm wondering if we should switch to an even lower dose like .5 in the future, or if we should just keep it at 1 with some shots being skipped.
 
Hi Taylor,

Lantus Dosing Methods

Per the Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) dosing method, a dose reduction is earned when a kitty goes below 90 on a human meter. Bearing in mind that Alphatrak meters generally read higher than human meters then that 92 on an Alphatrak for Smash would signal a dose reduction is due (down 0.25 to 0.75IU).

If you're following Tight Regulation (TR) then dose reductions are earned when BG goes below 68 as measured on an Alphatrak.

With Smash in such a good range, the more readings you can grab the better. In particular, I very much recommend grabbing a +2 on every PM cycle to get an idea of where Smash might be heading overnight so you'd know whether to monitor him more closely/leave food of an appropriate carb level out to keep him safe overnight. Also, if you normally retire later than PM+2, a 'before bed' test is always a good one to grab.

Smash is doing very nicely indeed! :cat:


Mogs
.
 
PS: When you have a moment, Taylor, for the spreadsheet cells that you had to manually colour to blue, is there any chance you might change the text colour to white, please? ('A' icon next to the paint bucket.) The oul' eyesight ain't what it used to be and it'd be easier to make out white text against the blue background. :)


Mogs
.
 
I am just now seeing the "SLGS" and "TR" and I honestly have no idea how to approach it. I'll make sure to get the +2 tests. I'm not comfortable with his 1 unit dose right now with how often I'm skipping his dose
 
PS: When you have a moment, Taylor, for the spreadsheet cells that you had to manually colour to blue, is there any chance you might change the text colour to white, please? ('A' icon next to the paint bucket.) The oul' eyesight ain't what it used to be and it'd be easier to make out white text against the blue background. :)


Mogs
.
On it! I also updated it to include yet another missed dose last night. I'm still getting the hang of this, sorry
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top