SLGS Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

toomanycats

Member Since 2020
I have a couple of questions.... I realize I'm supposed to follow whichever method I'm using to a T, but some things are making that a little impossible this week...

1. Would it be OK for me to do Buzzy's glucose curve this Friday (5th day of starting dose)? There's no way for me to be home to do a proper every-2-hour curve Saturday or Sunday.

2. If I do the curve Friday, would I still not adjust til Sunday? I'm also anxious about making adjustments on Sundays or Mondays since I can't be home Tuesday - Thursday to test mid-day. I would feel better about doing curves on Fridays & adjusting on Saturdays so I can be home the first 3 days of the new dosage.... but that would have to mean adjusting this initial dose early....
 
Do what fits your schedule best. SLGS Dosing protocol is not that inflexible that you could not do a curve on Fridays and make dosing changes on Saturdays.

After all, our cats are not diagnosed on the exact day to make waiting a week with the SLGS protocol for Lantus possible.
If you do the curve on Friday, you could adjust on Saturday. No problem.

You reset the dose to 1U on Monday morning, 2/10/20 (because of that 84 PMPS test Sunday night 2/9/20)
That would give you 5 days, 10 cycles on this 1 unit dose by Saturday morning. That should be plenty of time to let the lantus "depot" fill.

One of the "inflexible" parts of any of the dosing protocols, is reducing the dose if you cat is below a certain BG range. With lantus and SLGS, that number is 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L).
 
You can adjust things to fit your time table. You want to make things as convenient as possible. It's much easier to follow a plan that fits your needs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top