? Skye's Thread

I feel like we might be heading the right direction. Skye's blood sugar was only 211 mg/dL when I got home. We are trying the 0.25 Unit injection tonight and we will see where it will go. Fingers crossed nothing above a yellow and nothing below a dark green!
Keeping paws crossed here for the same.
 
Hello everyone... We have been doing well. Skye has been grooming better than she has in ages and is starting to get super playful again. What I thought was arthritis related may actually have been diabetes related.

So I wanted some pros to weigh in to make sure I'm doing the right thing. Skye has been around 130 mg/dL the last few times I have checked her AMPS and PMPS numbers. I haven't given her insulin the last couple of days because of this. She went down to 70 mg/dL about 5 hours after I would have given the shot. This was after eating a pretty good dinner and some freeze dried chicken treats.

Am I doing the right thing????
 
That is EXCELLENT to hear!

You seem to fluctuate a bit between 0.25u and no insulin. I'm not sure if Deb or anyone has any suggestions for doing 0.10u or just a drop, instead of 0.25 or nothing. I'm thinking out loud, I don't have experience helping kitties so close to being off the juice! We do want a strong remission though. :)
 
Elizabeth (aka @Panic ) is right about trying the 0.1U dose.

Insulin drops the BG levels, food raises it.
Those higher blue numbers you are getting are too high to consider Skye to be ready for an OTJ trial.

So if the pre-shot test is in the blue range, please test again at +3 to +4.
If the BG numbers are down into the green range at that time, then Skye's body is producing some insulin on it's own.

If the BG numbers are green at pre-shot, I think you need to skip the shot.
So you may be doing tiny doses of insulin, but not every cycle.
Either that 0.1U dose or the even tinier 1 drop dose.
 
Elizabeth (aka @Panic ) is right about trying the 0.1U dose.

Insulin drops the BG levels, food raises it.
Those higher blue numbers you are getting are too high to consider Skye to be ready for an OTJ trial.

So if the pre-shot test is in the blue range, please test again at +3 to +4.
If the BG numbers are down into the green range at that time, then Skye's body is producing some insulin on it's own.

If the BG numbers are green at pre-shot, I think you need to skip the shot.
So you may be doing tiny doses of insulin, but not every cycle.
Either that 0.1U dose or the even tinier 1 drop dose.

Ok I will try the 0.1 when it is blue.

I will to fill in numbers in between PMPS and bed time. During the week that is going to be an evening thing. I think my boy got her food this evening ‍♀️ so it might be a little lower. She’s getting a snack as soon as I am done.
 
She might need more than 1 snack. "Feeding on command", with her commanding YOU to give her more fuds.
You're using SLGS protocol, so anything <90 mg/dL calls for a dose reduction too.
But you aren't giving Skye any insulin at this point, so those readings in the 50's are perfectly fine.

That +2 BG reading can tell you which direction the BG levels are headed. More important to know that info if you decide to give Skye a bit of "juice" (insulin being the juice).

5 cycles so far, without any insulin.
Perhaps Skye has decided to start an OTJ trial without telling you?
 
She tends to do what she wants when she wants to. Just reference the food transition that never was.
I told her I would only inject her with the insulin until she could take over. She must have taken me up on my offer. We are on day 11 low carb food and treats for her now. Looks like she is responding well to it. She does tend to be lower at night too. Last night I had a BS in the 70’s just before bed for me.
I am also not so sure about her AMPS and PMPS levels. She has food left and sometimes it is difficult to tell if she has recently eaten. I will set an alarm for 5 AM to make sure it is not available for two in the AM but with work PM is hard. I am already having trouble getting all of my hours in.
 
Do you have an autofeeder? Many of us use Petsafe 5, you can set 4 meals and then set another timer for it to go off 2 hours before shot-time so no food is available.
 
I’ll have to look at that one. I have seen autofeeders for dry but the ones for wet I have seen open but don’t close. She picks all day.
 
The white part rotates, leaving only one "slot" open at a time. You can set 4 timed snacks, so you could set it 5 times, the 5th time going off two hours before. Lifesaver, both when you have to leave during the day and so you can sleep at night. :)

It was on sale but guess it's back up ... I bought mine used on Ebay for half the price.

upload_2020-9-23_22-18-8.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-9-23_22-18-8.png
    upload_2020-9-23_22-18-8.png
    332.4 KB · Views: 234
Those timed feeders always show dry food in the slots, but they are perfectly fine for using with wet food too.

This AMPS is 86 mg/dL - as in she’s decided to 86 the insulin this morning.
Well, what do you know. You now have 6 cycles in a row where you have skipped the insulin.

If Skye keeps those good low BG levels for a total of 28 consecutive cycles, or 14 full days, then she could be considered OTJ. But the numbers need to be within the range of a normal cat, which is < 100. So right now, she only has 2 cycles in OTJ trial territory.
 
Back
Top