Skunky AMPS 284, +9 322. Still wonky?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Skunky's Mom

Member Since 2014
Hey all. This morning was Skunky's sixth cycle of an increased dose. The increase doesn't seem to be doing much.

I was excited by her AMPS, and her +1 was 255. But when I got home, her plus 9 up to 322.

From what I read of New Dose Wonkiness it only lasts a day or so. So that should be over. The depot should be filled. Grrr. Instead, things just don't seem to be improving. In fact, things looked better last week.

How long should I hold this dose? Thoughts? I know I need to get a plus 6. Which I should (hopefully) be able to do tomorrow. I may get up in the middle of the night tonight to get one.

I'm just kind of bummed out because things aren't improving. She's still peeing ridiculously.

On the flip side, last night she was actually playing with a toy. She hasn't really done that in a few years. I found one thing (a whistle) that she started playing with a few months ago, but last night she was very playful. Which is good!
 
Well, you might try the TR forum for a bit since you are testing enough to follow that, and increase the dose a tad faster than weekly until you're close to optimized. On TR, after 3 full days at a dose with higher nadirs, you can increase when you are testing mid-cycle and especially when nowhere near really low numbers.

Its an option, not a mandate.
 
Depending on which protocol you decide to follow dictates when you raise the dose again. TR raises every 3 days as long as the cat is flat. SLGS holds for one to two weeks because of the lack of testing normally. In Skunky's case as high as she is you should be safe to take her to 1u whenever you feel comfortable doing so.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
eh, I was thinking just follow it until you get down below the 200-300 ranges for pre-shots and start getting more 100s for mid-cycle.

I never got to "shoot low, to stay low" myself, as Spitzer had other problems. And Dusty's owner wasn't testing, so when I went over was the only time he got tested (and thank goodness I did! he went OTJ in between visits!)
 
Thanks y'all!

I will increase her either Wednesday morning or Wednesday night. I want to get at least one +6 or plus +7 reading. Maybe I will get up in the middle of the night (well, 7 a.m.. . . ) and check her in the morning. I want to see what her nadir is, just in case.

I'll be away from the house most of Saturday and Sunday so I want to see the effects while I'm at home. i work from home on Fridays so that would be a good time to get a curve.

yes, BJ, it's that shoot low stuff that scares me, but now I see what you mean. Thanks for that.

I'm so scared of hypos!!! And terrified they will happen when I can't be home to check on her. But as we've only ever been below 200 once, and that was a fluke. . probably nothing to worry about just yet!

I wonder if part of my problem is she's not getting the full dose because I always - always!!! - get an air bubble. I can't seem to get rid of it. I'll try to squeeze it out into the air like they do on TV and that doesn't seem to work, either.

Once we get to 1u I may go back to the higher quality syringes I have that don't have 1/2 unit markings. They also have longer needes. . I may have forgotten how to use those! :o
 
I press the plunger in firmly, and draw the insulin from the vial/pen with the end pointed down. If needed, fatten up to account for any air bubble.

If an air bubble is big enough, you may be able to suck some of it out with the container pointing up.
 
Thanks for the tip, BJ!
I've been doing it right, but it still gets the air bubble.

So I tried to draw some air out and it seems to have helped. The dose had a much smaller bubble. Then I tried to draw some more air out. The plunger in the pen has moved but I guess it is supposed to?

Since her +6 this morning was 246, I started with one unit today. Now I worry that it's a bigger increase than intended because of the air bubbles. Yikes! Oh well, maybe we'll start getting some good numbers.

thanks y'all for all your help.
 
If you're using a pen this is the trick I use and seldom have a problem with bubbles. Use the dosing dial at the top. Turn it to 2, push the button, repeat until the button doesn't push easily. That pressurizes the pen and you'll see the little rubber piece where you stick the syringe bulge out slightly. Then insert the syringe as normal the plunger in the syringe will move back by itself just keep enough pressure on it to guide it to slightly more insulin than the dose you're planning on giving. If you have any bubbles they'll be tiny and easy to flick out as you're adjusting the dose to what you want to give.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top