? Skipping a Dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jennifer block

Member Since 2017
Ok, so last Mufasa PMPS sugars were 89 at dinner/shot time. And i think i was going thru the motions & gave him his shot, knowing it was low.

I remember hearing, below 150, i can skip.

So, this AM his AMPS number was 86. I didn't give him his shot.

Should I?
 
His PMPS and AMPS were pretty similar with no shot. I would skip the shot and see how he does today. He may be on his way to remission!
 
Im so excited, i have a lil bit of water in my eyes. Lol. We've been working so hard. When he tested last night at the +4 mark, i gave him a 3 oz can of gravy lovers fancy feast. Just in case.

I plan on doing a +6 today only. See where hes at. He needs a break from so much poking, hes starting to not sit still. And whimpered at me twice. Like saying "mom, stop".
 
Im so excited, i have a lil bit of water in my eyes. Lol. We've been working so hard. When he tested last night at the +4 mark, i gave him a 3 oz can of gravy lovers fancy feast. Just in case.

I plan on doing a +6 today only. See where hes at. He needs a break from so much poking, hes starting to not sit still. And whimpered at me twice. Like saying "mom, stop".
Did you give him insulin last night? you left it blank so I figured you knew to skip. What was his +4... You didn't put it in.
 
Yes, definitely no shot. What number did you get for the +4 last night?

I certainly join everyone in hoping that this is a good sign, but if you shot on a low number like that last night, it may be that this morning's number is simply being held down by the overdose. Mufasa is heading in the right direction, but he's going to have to be a good boy for a little while longer with the testing. So give him some love, and reassure him that you're doing this to help make sure he gets healthy.

If he does give you a higher number this evening (over 150), please lower the dose. It looks like one unit may be too much now.
 
Did you give him insulin last night? you left it blank so I figured you knew to skip. What was his +4... You didn't put it in.
Ok, so last Mufasa PMPS sugars were 89 at dinner/shot time. And i think i was going thru the motions & gave him his shot, knowing it was low.

I remember hearing, below 150, i can skip.

So, this AM his AMPS number was 86. I didn't give him his shot.

Should I?

I gave him insulin at 5:20.
 
1 unit is definitely too much. 120-150 just give a 0.5 shot. 110-120 0.25 under 110 no shoot. If you aren't there to test don't shoot at all under 120.
 
1 unit is definitely too much. 120-150 just give a 0.5 shot. 110-120 0.25 under 110 no shoot. If you aren't there to test don't shoot at all under 120.

Got it!!!! Thanks, @JanetNJ !!!!

This is very exciting!! Thanks to EVERYONE here for all your help & support!!! #crazycatpeopleunited
 
Great numbers! I agree with Djamila that 1 unit may be too much.

You give a treat with each test right?
 
I was able to get the +7, but didn't post until now. Ive been trying to relax & got my first massage & sauna visit.

Good news, hes at 69. Bad news, my therapist said after the 60 min massage, im still tight!
 
Wow! a 69 with no shot is good news indeed! Maybe that will help you relax at least a little? ;)
 
I look at Mufasa's SS and this is all I hear-

Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase

Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze

It means no worries for the rest of your days

It's our problem-free philosophy

Hakuna Matata!
:cat::D:cat::D
 
I look at Mufasa's SS and this is all I hear-

Hakuna Matata! What a wonderful phrase

Hakuna Matata! Ain't no passing craze

It means no worries for the rest of your days

It's our problem-free philosophy

Hakuna Matata!
:cat::D:cat::D

I love it. My sweet boy is napping after dinner.
 

Attachments

  • 20170812_165056.jpg
    20170812_165056.jpg
    41.9 KB · Views: 150
Very good. And definitely skip the shot again. I like this trend.

ETA: I just realized what time that was. Nevermind. I'm a little late to this party...:rolleyes:
 
Morning, this morning we had 82. I skipped his shot.

Just to be clear, if its under 150 i shouldnt give him a shot, right?
 
That's correct for now anyway. There are times when we shoot under 150, but there is risk in doing so, and it requires the owner to be around to get extra tests in to be safe. Usually shooting on lower numbers is something that only longer-term diabetic kitties need. Since Mufasa isn't even a month on insulin at this point, the risk is much higher.

Anything under 120 is a healthy, non-diabetic number. So right now, Mufasa seems to be running under the power of his own pancreas and not needing additional insulin to stay in good numbers. Fingers crossed he keeps at it!
 
Thanks everyone!!! We have our doctor appt for 6pm tomorrow evening. I hoping he wont freak out, and test a higher number. Im excited for the visit!!!
 
Keep in mind that stress most likely will inflate his number, and also that the vet will probably be using a meter designed for pets, and those do run higher numbers. So on a human meter, we say 50-120 is normal. On a pet meter it's 68-150.
 
Keep in mind that stress most likely will inflate his number, and also that the vet will probably be using a meter designed for pets, and those do run higher numbers. So on a human meter, we say 50-120 is normal. On a pet meter it's 68-150.

This is good to know. :);):bookworm::cat::cat::cat::cat::cat::cat::cat::D
 
Hi Jennifer! I just noticed the 47 on your spreadsheet. Some cats will naturally run a bit low on occasion. As long as you haven't given insulin, they can't actually go dangerously hypo, so you don't need to give high carb food if you see a number in the 40's like that. Mufasa is looking good these days. Fingers crossed he keeps it in those ranges! You might look at @Caitlin M 's spreadsheet to see another kitty that goes low once in a while all on his own.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top