Skipper is sick.

Status
Not open for further replies.

skippersmom

Member Since 2013
I'm pretty sure he has a stomach ache. He won't eat or drink and his third eye is covering part of both eyes. I had given him a few syringes of water. As I was typing this he threw up on the couch started gagging and fell backwards off the couch. He went really stiff, but has come out of it now. I only have nexium and prilosec, so nothing for his stomach ache. My husband will take him to the vet Monday.
His PMPS was 286. I can't bring myself to give him a shot though.
 
That sounds like a seizure.

Your spreadsheet doesn't seem to be up to date, unless the dates are incorrect?
 
It isn't update here are the numbers so far this month if you think it could give you some insight.
2/1 PMPS 407 1.0
2/2 AMPS 361 1.0
+6.5 297
PMPS 343 1.0
2/3 AMPS 291 1.25
+6.5 335
PMPS 364 1.25
+6.5 301
2/4 AMPS 316 1.25
+6 319
PMPS 360 1.5
2/5 AMPS 422 1.5
PMPS 338 1.5
2/6 AMPS NO SHOT and MISSED TEST
PMPS 324 1.0
2/7 AMPS 298 1.0
+6 287
+9 266
PMPS 286
 
I would take him in first thing Monday. I would discuss with them whether it could be pancreatitis. Remi has a really painful tummy when he had a flair and this affected his blood glucose levels.

May I ask what was the reason he had to restart the insulin? The numbers seem to be quite high since you restarted.

I just wanted to say that you need to be careful not giving insulin to a cat that is not eating or drinking. Are you testing for ketones? Could you continue to give him some water with the syringe?
 
It sounds like a trip to the vet is needed. Sending purr's and prayer's that he feels better soon.
 
May I ask what was the reason he had to restart the insulin?

He got sick like that back in November and that is when we realized he wasn't in remission anymore. This round though, the insulin is not lowering his BC much at all and we have had the same results whether we give him 3.0 units or 1.0 units for the most part. He does seem a little lower on 1.0 unit.
I woke up to him drinking on his own. He threw up again but then went back an drank some more. So that is good.

Were you saying that you shouldn't give insulin to them when they aren't eating or drinking? I haven't given him any since I realized he wasn't feeling good.

Thanks everyone for the care and concern.
 
Hi

I would ask them to test for pancreatitis. It's a spec fPL test that is USA
Ly sent away to an IDEXX lab. Was there any change in diet, stress levels that proceeded this bout of illness?

No I am saying that you withhold insulin, I am saying that a lack of insulin along with a lack of water and food intake can lead to the development of ketones/DK very quickly.

You need to address the appetite issue or be able to assist feed so that you can give insulin and knock those blood glucose numbers down. With pancreatitis that usually means giving supportive meds that allow the cat to overcome nausea, pain and dehydration.

Pain relief usually comes in the form of buprenex. Anti vomiting from cerenia tablets or injections, anti nasea from ondansteron, hydration from sub q fluids or oral syringe and finally food from assisted feeding and finding a diet that doesn't cause flairs. For me that meant a very high protein, low fat and low carb wet food. I think that even if pancreatitis isn't the cause giving some of these medications will help get her back on the road to recovery. Other causes should also be ruled out ofcourse and so a full blood panel may be of use as well. Remi had liver complications and required an antibiotic too.

https://www.idexx.com/files/small-a...pec-fpl-treatment-for-feline-pancreatitis.pdf
 
If the glucose is over 300 mg/dL, I would give insulin to bring it down. It is possible he is going into diabetic ketoacidosis - not eating well, high glucose, + infection is the perfect set up for that.

Pancreatitis may be in addition to that.

Have you tested for urine or blood ketones?
 
No, I don't have anything for testing ketones. He was 377 this morning so I know he needs insulin. How much food should I give him by syringe in order to give him a shot?
 
I'd give him at least half of what he'd get if eating and not wait for him to eat.
 
Hi,

I really do think you need to check Skipper's pee for ketones if at all possible.
Is there a pharmacy near you where you can get a tub of Ketodiastix (or similar)?
Here's a page of pics/basic info about testing with Ketodiasix.
http://www.sugarpet.net/urine.html

Does Skipper's breath smell like normal kitty breath? Some ketones have a smell like peardrops/acetone.

Hoping Skipper feels better soon.

Hugs,

Eliz
 
Last edited:
I did get a little food and water in him before giving him some insulin.
We feed friskies pate except country dinner and mixed grill. Is the fat content an issue for cats with pancreatitis? He definitely has all the symptoms. I have felt something else was going since this new fight with his blood glucose. He's going to the vet in the morning so if I pick up some ketone sticks today, what do I do if he does have ketones?
 
Vet sources say fat content is not an issue. It is still possible that some cats, however, may be sensitive. It may be due to a lack of lipase, an enzyme which helps break down fat; discuss with your vet if an enzyme supplement might be helpful.

If ketones, and lethargy, and not eating, and glucose is high, take him to a vet, he may have diabetic ketoacidosis, which can be fatal.
 
Whilst fat is not meant to be implicated in pancreatitis in cats after bring on the pancreatitis yahoo forum for a few years it does seem to affect some cats. Mine included. My cat first had a flair up after licking some sausage fat and again when I changed food. However it is often unclear what causes a flair up hence the need to treat symptoms.

I tend to go for a lower fat wet food and now with the diabetes low in carb too.

I am glad you got some food into him. Can you try to get a little more and carefully syringe some water into him too. Go slowly and aim the water from one side to the other rather than down the throat.
 
:rb_icon: My husband took him to emergency this evening and made the decision to say goodbye. I don't know all the details since he's only been home for awhile. I knew in my heart this would be the outcome. I was able to say goodbye before he left. I've learned a lot here. Thank you all!

I have an almost new bottle of Prozinc and 30 u40 syringes that I would love to give to someone. I would just need help with overnight cold shipping. Let me know if there is a place to post that.

Take care of your furbabies!:rb_icon:
 
Oh, (((Rae Ann))),

I am so sorry to hear about the loss of your beautiful Skipper.
I hope that the good memories you have of him will come to lighten your sadness.
Everyone here understands how you must be feeling...
Huge hugs to you, Rae Ann.

And bless your heart for wanting to donate Skipper's insulin. That's a tremendous gift to give to another diabetic kitty.

All good wishes to you,

Eliz x
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top