skipper 1/25/14

Status
Not open for further replies.

skippersmom

Member Since 2013
AMPS 133 cat(2)_steam
No shot

If he goes over 150 at +6 then I will give him a teeny tiny amount of insulin.
He had been in the 60s eating the Friskies turkey&giblets which is only 2 carbs lower than the mixed grill so it is hard to believe that was all he had. I can't rule out dog food or the the kid's Goldfish and popcorn either. Regardless, the two big cana of mixed grill that I have left will be going to my mom's cats.

Starting the countdown over tomorrow
 
Re: skipper 1/26/14

Keep in mind the carb % are estimates from a single point in time.

The manufacturers adjust the mix depending on what is most cost effective for them on a regular basis. One day the batch might be 6%, the next batch could be 9%.
 
Sounds like Skipper is following in RumpelT's pawsteps. Her OTJ trial actually took 23 days. :roll:

RumpelT sends OTJ vines to Skipper.
And I send Be Patient vines to you. :mrgreen:

Shall I put in a request for another pair of patience pants???? :lol:
 
Have you tried friskies special diet? I feed special diet turkey and giblets and beef and chicken. No more fish flavors around since they made my fur kids sick. They are lower carbs. The two flavors I feed are 5% I believe. Avoid chicken and gravy since it's like 11% I think. Salmon is 7%. The others are 5 of under.

I switched to special diet since Gypsy was so sensitive to both carbs and insulin changes. I thought it would help regulate her. It did bring her down some. Still same price with lower carbs! It's an option. :smile:
 
Simon has been as high as 180+ while OTJ (only once) and I still did not shoot because after he ate and I tested him, he was at 77 at +3! He had a test at the vet and he was in the normal range there, even with stress. He is a definite enigma in terms of his BG readings since he has been OTJ. He is a little higher than average in the AM before he eats. His evening readings are usually in the normal range under 120. I can't seem to stop testing him due to the weird numbers but soon I am going to start testing once a day and then once a week and then randomly. Soon...
 
See RumpelT's condo for today to see what high-carb contraband can do. ohmygod_smile

Crazy stuff it is. @-)
 
+6 152
I gave a very small amount of insulin.

+8 124

My son said my daughter at popcorn in the game room and led her spilled pieces on the floor. I'm pretty sure Skipper ate them. The kids got a lecture frm Dad about how they could end up killing the cat...


I'll have to look into the special diet. I don't think I've seen. I like buying those dog food size cans of friskies from Walmart. It needs to be in a price range that I can feed it to all of them.

So no more popcorn for the kids until Skipper's numbers are back down and it may be banned permenantly if this happens again!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top