AMPS 231 gave a fat .25 units. I don't have any u100 syringes and just got 100 u40s, but I am comfortable with the small doses so far. I won't be here for extra testing but might check him before I leave in a few hours.
Yes, with a caveat - you can lower your no shot limit if you have test data in the +5 to +7 hours after the shot showing that it is safe, ie that the nadir remains above 50 mg/dL.
I agree with lowering your preshot number. Lower your shot number accordingly and at least the first time, on a cycle you can monitor.
If you don't get the U100s (and he might be OTJ by the time you use a few - anti jinx) then we can experiment with dosing with drops later today with water till you get it down.