SKIPPED AMPS Dose +4 198

Edye

Member Since 2019
Switched to a human meter-because low on AT strips.

I skipped this AM dose because Orson was (1) PMPS 125, retested in 30 he was 121
Current 60 minutes after eating he is 145.

+4=198


Confused-and how will this effect PMPS tonight?
 
Last edited:
Switched to a human meter-because low on AT strips.
AMPS 125
Chris-thinking I'm not up for another day of madness with Orson:banghead:

*Its now 30 minutes since the stall just tested again 121-what do I do? I need to feed him and
the other cats-do I keep stalling

UPDATE:
It's been 1 hour
Due to him dropping last night he was eating food at 1:30am
So he isn't very hungry and only ate about 1/2 his breakfast if that.
I am going to skip his dose-because I'm not sure what else to do.
Bumping you to the top. Change your thread to “911” status - maybe that will help
 
Hi Edye!

I think you did the right thing to skip the morning dose since you don’t have a lot of information on how Orson reacts at these lower numbers. Eventually, with time and data, you will have more experience and confidence to shoot some lower numbers but for now I think it was a good instinct to skip.

When you skip a shot, typically the effect is that Orson will see higher BG values by the end of his cycle. There is a saying around here: Better too high for a day than too low for a minute.

Great job keeping Orson safe :)
 
Switched to a human meter-because low on AT strips.

I skipped this AM dose because Orson was (1) PMPS 125, retested in 30 he was 121
Current 60 minutes after eating he is 145.

Confused-and how will this effect PMPS tonight?
Edye... left of title bar on top there is a drop-down click that and highlight 911.
 
Hi Edye!

I think you did the right thing to skip the morning dose since you don’t have a lot of information on how Orson reacts at these lower numbers. Eventually, with time and data, you will have more experience and confidence to shoot some lower numbers but for now I think it was a good instinct to skip.

When you skip a shot, typically the effect is that Orson will see higher BG values by the end of his cycle. There is a saying around here: Better too high for a day than too low for a minute.

Great job keeping Orson safe :)

Thank you Amanda-I feel better. This is so stressful AND to top it off I didn't get my AT strips last Thursday so switching to the human meter screwed this up as well. But either meter (last night) he would have been low. I am hoping he is working on a reduction.
 
Thank you Amanda-I feel better. This is so stressful AND to top it off I didn't get my AT strips last Thursday so switching to the human meter screwed this up as well. But either meter (last night) he would have been low. I am hoping he is working on a reduction.
I think he is working his way towards a reduction ;):joyful:

I don’t think you need the 911 in your title anymore, you’ve done a great job taking care of Orson and he is in safe numbers. I think it would be a good idea to grab a +4 and just make sure he’s still on the way up.

While it is scary, it’s so good to see Orson take so well to insulin and see some blues already in his journey :D

Just a question: have you chosen which dosing method that you’d like to follow yet? If you have can you add it to your signature so that you can get better insight from members?
 
I think he is working his way towards a reduction ;):joyful:

I don’t think you need the 911 in your title anymore, you’ve done a great job taking care of Orson and he is in safe numbers. I think it would be a good idea to grab a +4 and just make sure he’s still on the way up.

While it is scary, it’s so good to see Orson take so well to insulin and see some blues already in his journey :D

Just a question: have you chosen which dosing method that you’d like to follow yet? If you have can you add it to your signature so that you can get better insight from members?
Dosing Method-TR if that is what you are referring too. I'm new to this so the lingo is getting by me ;)
PS
I had planned on a +5 (is +4 better)
 
Dosing Method-TR if that is what you are referring too. I'm new to this so the lingo is getting by me ;)
PS
I had planned on a +5 (is +4 better)
Either works! You just want to get a good impression of how he’s trending :)

TR is a great dosing method! If you just put a TR at the end of your signature members here will be able to give you method specific feedback :)
 
Either works! You just want to get a good impression of how he’s trending :)

TR is a great dosing method! If you just put a TR at the end of your signature members here will be able to give you method specific feedback :)

I don't really understand how to do TR-as Chris has been helping me. I am not confident to make any adjustments or changes on my own.
 
I think he is working his way towards a reduction ;):joyful:

I don’t think you need the 911 in your title anymore, you’ve done a great job taking care of Orson and he is in safe numbers. I think it would be a good idea to grab a +4 and just make sure he’s still on the way up.

While it is scary, it’s so good to see Orson take so well to insulin and see some blues already in his journey :D

Just a question: have you chosen which dosing method that you’d like to follow yet? If you have can you add it to your signature so that you can get better insight from members?

10:25am-just grabbed a +4 198
I know I will do a PMPS tonight-and I assume his BG will be high. Would I give a regular dose or am I looking to reduce his dose down from 2U Lantus?
Last night he dropped pretty low and fast after his evening dose. I don't want to repeat that-but not sure if skipping AM-is it even possible he will drop tonight.
 
10:25am-just grabbed a +4 198
I know I will do a PMPS tonight-and I assume his BG will be high. Would I give a regular dose or am I looking to reduce his dose down from 2U Lantus?
Last night he dropped pretty low and fast after his evening dose. I don't want to repeat that-but not sure if skipping AM-is it even possible he will drop tonight.
it’s nice to know that Orson is on his way up :) and you’re right his levels will be higher than normal at PMPS because of the slipped shot.

Yes shoot the full dose, Orson doesn’t get a decrease until he goes below 68 on the alpha track :)
 
it’s nice to know that Orson is on his way up :) and you’re right his levels will be higher than normal at PMPS because of the slipped shot.

Yes shoot the full dose, Orson doesn’t get a decrease until he goes below 68 on the alpha track :)
AmandaE- I think she’s using a human meter today
 
Just an FYI.....we like to have the link to the previous day's thread in the new one....that way people can easily go back and see what's been going on with Orson and the advice you've already been given.

Here's the link to your Previous Post
 
Back
Top