Skip one cycle of Pro Zince before changing to Lantus?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I don't think you really have to when switching from Pro Zinc to Lantus. You might be recommended to skip a shot if switching from Lantus or Levemir as that is a depot drug (some stays in the system for up to 3 days). Pro Zinc isn't like that is it?
When you start Lantus is can take a few days to see the effect of the insulin as it has to build up that depot in the system.

My experience wth Pro Zinc is very limited. Maybe you should try to ask your question on the Main Health Forum.
 
There's really no need to skip. Just keep in mind that you will not see immediate results with Lantus since it needs to build up in the system. It's a very different insulin than ProZinc.
 
Your cat pictures are so cute. Thanks for the input. do you think 1 unit is a good starting spot or about 1.5.
 
I saw your answer on the other post. thank you for your input. That sounds good and I will test.
 
I read on the notes from the university of Queenland and stickies to increase dose by .5 if nadir blood glucose if greater than 300. Should I use this? Or do you suggest waiting for the insulin depot? If the nadir is between 200-300 , increase by .25 for a low dose cat every 3 days.
Is it normal for the nadir to be so high in the first few days?
If nadir is less than 200 but peak is above 200 increase by .25 every 5-7 days.
 
I don't think you have enough data yet to know just where Lovey's nadirs are. You're seeing some low points in the cycle that are under 300. IMHO, until you are more certain of just what the numbers are, being conservative with the dose is safer. In other words, increase by 0.25u. You may also find that the modified version of the TR Protocol (i.e., the one from University of Queensland) is easier to understand.
 
Actually Lantus is a very gentle insulin, and we'll be here to guide you if you ask.
 
No need to be nervous Catherine.

I haven't read the other threads you posted recently, but wanted to make sure of one thing...
When the vet switched you to Lantus, you got new syringes, right? You should have U100 syringes with an orange cap on them. If you still have the U40 ones, with the red caps, hide them someplace or donate them or something. You want to be sure the syringes match the insulin.

Any questions, don't hesitate to ask. This forum is busy around the clock.
 
hi, Bob,
Thanks for checking in.
Yes, I have u-100 syringes. I have the monoject with half unit marks. Yes, I will have to get rid of the red cap u-40.

the vet gave me some too without the half unit markings. thanks Bob I was asking people' s opinions for a starting dose for Lantus.

I am deciding between 1 unit and 1.25 units.
 
Bob thinks he's pretty intelligent. ;-)

It's not easy to tell how Lovey's been responding to the Prozinc. At times, it looks like 1.5u did okay, and so did 1.75u, but nothing consistent that says "that was a good dose". But I know that at the beginning, you found out that the dose you started at was too high after only a couple of days.

Just me, but I think I'd just start at 1u of Lantus, and then give that 4-5 days to settle. If an increase makes sense, then bump it up to 1.25u. Just from watching a lot of cats on various types of insulin, it seems to me that it's always easier to start conservative, and go up if needed. Plus you don't know how she'll respond to the Lantus yet. Some people, especially when they first appear on the board after getting questionable dose advice from their vets, find out the dose was too high to start, and it just seems easier to go up as needed than to go through the exercise of having too high a dose and then having to start over again at a lower dose.
 
Carl and Bob,

I think that is prudent for me right now. I will get midcycle readings on weekends and nights. I can't them when I am working so a lower dose seems to make sense right now.

Thanks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top