? Skip dose?

rhenkt

Member Since 2021
Hello, I’m new to all this so apologies for violating forum rules, etc. I’m reading up on everything as we speak.

We received initial diagnosis three weeks ago with BG 540.

Started Lantus two weeks ago. 1u every 12 hours.

Over last two weeks have slowly transitioned from 100% dry food to 100% Sheba pate.

Haven’t done curve yet, will do that ASAP. Just have some scattered tests as I get Oscar used to everything. All numbers have been in low 300s since starting Lantus. Until today.

Today I tested for first time in five days. I got a 115 four hours after insulin, and same number couple hours later. Question is, should I skip tonight’s dose? And if so, what about tomorrow morning if he’s still under 200? Vet said continue if over 100 but I’m not so sure.
 
We are very data oriented here. Since lantus dosing is based upon how low it takes your cat nobody will be able to help you with dosing until you have a spreadsheet set up and a signature. Please post an intro on the main/health forum and get set up.

You will need to test before every shot. After you set up come back here and look at the dosing methods sticky for the two methods used here. Until all this is done don’t shoot if under 200 at shot time.

Switching to all wet food can have a dramatic effect on bg.

Are you using a human or pet meter? We prefer human meters as our methods were formulated using one but we can work with pet meters as well. Human rest strips are much cheaper.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/feline-health-welcome-main-forum.28/
 
I’m using the Relion Premier meter.

Yes I’m doing my best to get more data, spreadsheet, etc, but this is all I have right now. I assure you if time allowed me to have all that already, I would’ve by now.

Thank you for your help.
 
Brand new people on the Feline Health forum are advised not to shoot below 200 at shot time (what we call preshot test). You have a long ways to go yet until the next shot time. It's possible his numbers will go up quite a bit between now and then.

When you have the time, some suggestions in this post: New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
 
Back
Top