ppp
Member Since 2017
This a.m., Tut's pre-shot # is 194. Until last night, he's always been above 300, so I am thinking of skipping his (lantus) shot (now due), per recommendation quoted below. Does anyone else have experience/advice with a large drop in pre-shot #? Any insight on what this is indicating. He is eating a lot.
I am going to try the every two hour testing that is also recommended here. Data so far is slight. Lowest mid-shots reading I've gotten was 167, yesterday. Near the same time on 11/21, it was 287.
4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
I am going to try the every two hour testing that is also recommended here. Data so far is slight. Lowest mid-shots reading I've gotten was 167, yesterday. Near the same time on 11/21, it was 287.
4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
- Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
- Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value.
- Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
- In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
- Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher