skip a.m. shot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Terri Lynn & Jake

Member Since 2015
I missed Jakes shot time at 9:15-9:30. His amps is 159. I was going to skip the shot and resume tonight at 9:00. I cannot shoot this late and then stay up all though the night to test.
 
Hi Terri,

It's quite a low preshot. I've just had a quick look at Jake's spreadsheet and it's a very low preshot for him and he is getting quite low mid-cycle, especially at night. If you skip this dose you should be OK to go to your normal evening shot time tonight. Note that if you do skip, it will take a few days for the depot to get back to normal which is not the end of the world. Does Jake have any history of ketones?

FWIW, I'm naturally cautious so when I couldn't monitor Saoirse properly at lower numbers I tended to skip doses, but then she wasn't ketone-prone.

Hopefully other members will also post with their opinions.
 
I try to test as often as possible for ketones. He is always negative. I think when he was 1st diagnosed I tested and he was high. I dont remember if it was a faulty test or not. I think I just took him for fluids and more bloodwork. It was very high stress time so I dont remember if I wrote everything down.
 
Hi Terri,

It's quite a low preshot. I've just had a quick look at Jake's spreadsheet and it's a very low preshot for him and he is getting quite low mid-cycle, especially at night. If you skip this dose you should be OK to go to your normal evening shot time tonight. Note that if you do skip, it will take a few days for the depot to get back to normal which is not the end of the world. Does Jake have any history of ketones?

FWIW, I'm naturally cautious so when I couldn't monitor Saoirse properly at lower numbers I tended to skip doses, but then she wasn't ketone-prone.

Hopefully other members will also post with their opinions.

I am going to see where all of his labs are so I can put on spreadsheets. 1st vet I had that diagnosed Jake would not give me a copy because he did not believe in home testing. I do have my labs from new Awesome vet. Thanks for the quick response. I will updates with his No Shot #'s lol. Hope he stays somewhat even today
 
Indeed it can be very stressful - I've been demented with worry and fear at times since Saoirse was first diagnosed.

Good news on his being negative for ketones.

If Jake were my cat and I was in your situation I'd be inclined to skip and resume at normal time this evening. My reasoning would be that he has been clear of ketones and that he should still benefit during the AM cycle period from the insulin in the depot, and then I'd post again this evening and ask for further advice if needed. Other members may have a different opinion.
-
 
I am going to see where all of his labs are so I can put on spreadsheets. 1st vet I had that diagnosed Jake would not give me a copy because he did not believe in home testing. I do have my labs from new Awesome vet.

Been there. ;) Glad you've now got a vet who's a partner in Jake's treatment. Makes the world of difference. :)
 
Indeed it can be very stressful - I've been demented with worry and fear at times since Saoirse was first diagnosed.

Good news on his being negative for ketones.

If Jake were my cat and I was in your situation I'd be inclined to skip and resume at normal time this evening. My reasoning would be that he has been clear of ketones and that he should still benefit during the AM cycle period from the insulin in the depot, and then I'd post again this evening and ask for further advice if needed. Other members may have a different opinion.
-
I am actually more than comfortable with this advice. I would rather he be high than stress about hypo today. I am sure I should be able to get a ketone test in since I separated all the other monsters until I do lol.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top