Skinky update. Not good. Tremors...

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by skinky44, Feb 21, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. skinky44

    skinky44 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Skinky is not doing well. Blood work came back from earlier this week and I had to run in to switch SubQs (bag I was using had added potasium, turns out Skinky's blood work showed elevated potassium). I should've brought her in and PTS, I just think we are going to turn a corner...that being she magically gets better or she peacefully dies in her sleep. Difficult to accept the increasing likelihood that neither of those scenarios will present themselves.

    She is trembling very much right now. Her BG w/ Arkray tested 315 at 8:17 pm. Her blood work BG tested about 675. She might be showing some signs of kidney failure as well as pancreatitis. I am so so sad to say that right now I do truly believe she is in pain. Plan now is to bring her in tomorrow to possibly PTS. Past times I've planned this she's always been so much better the next day, so don't hold me to this, although I think the time has come.

    In the meantime - does anyone have any suggestions/ thoughts about these tremors?? It is SO difficult to watch, I can only assume she is in pain. She is on Butronex for pain. She will not drink water (again) and she cries when I've tried to give her SubQs...

    She got 1.5 units of Lantus earlier (although the insulin might be weak)
    2 shots of Butronex
    dexamethasone
    Mirtazapine
    celenia injection
    SubQs w/ potassium earlier (before vet called)
    DCA and thiamin (to treat possible cancerous tumor)
    Zithromax
    has had only minimal Hills AD syringed this morning, mixed with B12 and some immune boosters for cats.

    As I finish typing and uploading, her tremors have calmed down. I don't know what to do for her other than bring her in for sleep tomorrow... are these tremors as painful as they look?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Hugs, big huge hugs, Laura.
    Of course you can see her and I can't, but what you've written sounds like it could be her time. I hope you know how hard it is for me to type that. In 2013, I had to make that decision twice in a matter of a few months and said Goodbye to Mullet (15) and sweet Bob (14). It ripped my heart out. I would give ANYTHING for one of my kitties to take "the decision" out of my hands - to just fall asleep and pass peacefully. In 35+ years, it hasn't happened that way once.

    No matter what, you love her, and she knows that. Trust yourself.
    Prayers for peace in your heart,
    Carl
     
  3. skinky44

    skinky44 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Thanks Carl. I needed to hear that last part....because mostly today when I approach her, she runs away from me. I had even asked the vet about the possibility of removing her eye to access and clean out whatever is in her nose. At this point, the vet said she is even hesitant to sedate skinky. I guess that's it too - I don't want the decision. I don't want to hold her and look in her eyes while she fades away. But I don't want to come home after several hours and find her dead on the floor wondering if she was having convulsions and suffering for a long time either. I always forget that she's 16...she's just my little baby...
     
  4. Laura,
    I will say that holding Bob and Mullet, and singing them to sleep was extremely helpful to me. It was very peaceful. I sure did cry the whole time, but it really helped me to deal with the aftermath by knowing they felt loved and safe in my arms.
    Not now, but when you feel able to, visit the Grief forum and look at the tributes I posted, and the videos I made in their memory. Do you and Skinky have "a song"? For me, music holds almost magical healing power. It has gotten me through some tough stuff. I can't watch the videos without tears even now. But now they don't hurt like they used to.

    Peace,

    Carl
     
  5. rhiannon and shadow (GA)

    rhiannon and shadow (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    I'm so sorry.
    I had a dog (Pomeranian) that started the tremors having midnight and she was gone by 4:06 am.... that horrible number is forever burned in my brain.... and of course, it seems I always look
    at the clock and see it over and over.....

    wish we could be with you ....
    it's hard, I know.... but it's a gift you can give to her.....
     
  6. phlika29

    phlika29 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    I am so sorry skinky has taken a turn for the worse, you have been through so much together. My thoughts are with you both.

    I am not sure quite what your tremors look like but remi gets head twitches when he is poorly. The closest I have managed to pin it down to is possibly low potassium. But these are just head twitches.
     
  7. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Oh, Laura ... :bighug:

    I am so sorry to hear about Skinky's tremors. I've no experience of anything like that. All I can do is keep you both in my prayers.

    ((((Laura and Skinky))))
    .
     
  8. terriy

    terriy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    I am so very very sorry that you and your baby are going through this. Sending purr's and prayers
     
  9. Peg and Toby

    Peg and Toby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Sending hugs and Prayers for you and Skinky. You both have fought a good fight.
    Take Care of yourself Laura. Peg and Toby
     
  10. Elizabeth and Bertie

    Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    (((Laura))),
    I am holding you and Skinky in my heart.

    Not so long ago I lost two kitties to cancer.
    I didn't want to foreshorten their lives and spent a long time trying to make their lives comfortable. With one of those kitties, I twice made an appt to have him PTS and then cancelled it because he seemed to perk up. But then, one afternoon, there was a sudden and definite change in him. He no longer enjoyed being stroked (something he had always loved). And in that moment of realisation I shifted in my mind from 'trying to keep quality of life going' to 'wanting to end suffering'. Later that day he was put to sleep in my arms.
    It still breaks my heart to think of it. But it was the right thing to do.

    I do not know if you've reached that point with Skinky. Only you know that.

    Wishing you courage and strength, dear Laura,

    Eliz
     
  11. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Hi Laura,

    How are you and Skinky doing today? Sending more prayers for you both.

    ((((Laura and Skinky))))
    .
     
  12. Maggies Mom Debby

    Maggies Mom Debby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I'm so sorry Skinky isn't improving Laura.

    She knows you love her. If this is her time to leave, she knows you are doing it out of love. You will cry and mourn when the time comes, but you shouldn't feel guilt. You have loved her and tried to save her. I truly believe that helping to end pain and suffering is a gift we are allowed to give our loved pets.
     
    javasfambam likes this.
  13. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Laura my heart just goes out to you. Praying for guidance and strength.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  14. Dusty Bones

    Dusty Bones Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Prayers, love and guidance for you!
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  15. Hillary & Maui (GA)

    Hillary & Maui (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Many of us have had to make the decision for our cats. It's never an easy decision and there are always the nagging questions: but, what if, how, am I sure? you can fill in the rest - you know these questions.

    The thing you need to focus on is her quality of life. I've been following this on and off for quite some time and I know you are and have done everything you can for her. But there comes a time when it is time and you need to have the courage to make that final decision, because you don't want her to suffer and have to do it on her own.

    You may think if she goes on her own it will be easy and peaceful, I'm here to tell you that in many cases it is just the opposite. Helping them is the more humane way of doing it. It's hard for you, of course, but it's the more peaceful way for them.

    Only you can decide what to do, but remember - she is a very senior cat, with a lot of issues that will not magically get better and maybe now it is time to help her and say that final goodbye.
     
  16. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Hi Laura,

    Checking in to see how you're both doing.

    ((((Laura and Skinky))))
    .
     
    Jeanne likes this.
  17. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Dear ((((Laura)))),
    Helping our kitties cross is so difficult for all of us, but for our kitties it is the final act of love. Please don't put Skinky's hour off any longer. Your girl is suffering and, from your descriptions, in great pain. She knows that her time has come and she needs you to be with her and to help her cross so that she can begin her new adventure. She has been so brave, and, truly I believe, she has held on so long because of her love and her concern for you.

    Thinking of you and of your beautiful girl. She will be your Guardian Angel forever.

    :bighug::bighug::bighug:

    Ella
     
  18. Nancy and Scotty

    Nancy and Scotty Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Laura, I hope things have gotten better but if not I hope you know that no one could have tried harder and loved their cat more, I am sure she knows it too, I think you are probably right that the time has come, I am so sorry.
     
    Maggies Mom Debby likes this.
  19. bsmith

    bsmith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Laura, I'm so sorry to hear about the difficult time you and your kitty are going through. Letting go of a good cat is one of the hardest things to do, but sometimes it is the most merciful thing to do. I wish the best for you and Skinky, no matter which decision you two make.
     
    Maggies Mom Debby likes this.
  20. skinky44

    skinky44 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Thanks for all the responses. I was actually posting about thoughts on the tremors and blood work, which is why I uploaded the recent blood work...and if anyone thought the combination of drugs I was giving might be causing the tremors. I was hoping to get some timely input about the tremors/drug combo/ blood work results back on Sat when I posted...

    but thanks anyhow...
     
  21. phlika29

    phlika29 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    You have a few things going on there. Kidney and liver levels are high and so is the glucose. I see that potassium is very high and wonder if that is causing the tremors. You aren't supplementing with anything are you?

    I don't know enough about blood tests to know what to suggest. I think one is probably having a knock on effect on the other. Can you get better control of the glucose? Are you feeding enough to be able to give it regularly?
     
  22. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    The trembling could be a sign of high potassium. Have you talked to the vet about them?
    I too, would try to get the glucose in better control, and I hope she is getting enough food.
     
  23. skinky44

    skinky44 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    I think it was, at least in large part, to the potassium. The fluid bag the vet gave had potassium in it and after i switched it out on Sunday she got better.

    Thanks
     
    Maggies Mom Debby likes this.
  24. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    So glad to hear that Skinky's doing better. Sending more prayers.

    ((((Laura and Skinky))))
    .
     
    skinky44 likes this.
  25. Nancy and Scotty

    Nancy and Scotty Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    I hope that you and Skinky are doing better today, just wanted you to know that I am thinking about you and sending good wishes your way.
     
    skinky44 and Critter Mom like this.
  26. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Hi Laura,

    Checking in to see how you and Skinky are doing today.

    ((((Laura and Skinky))))
    .
     
    skinky44 likes this.
  27. skinky44

    skinky44 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Thanks Nancy and Aine. She's doing very well today. Probably coz she just got another convenia shot and some B12. She has a couple of toys she is playing with - like a little kitten. Just enjoying the time I have with her..
     
  28. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Awww. I'm really glad to hear that she's enjoying playing with her toys and that you're having a good day together. :)

    ((((Laura and Skinky))))
    .
     
  29. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Playing is a good sign.
    Keeping you and Skinky in our thoughts and prayers,

    Ella & Rusty
     
    skinky44 and Critter Mom like this.
  30. Elizabeth and Bertie

    Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Yes, absolutely it is.:cat:

    Hugs to you, dear (((Laura))),

    Eliz
     
  31. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Thank you for the update. I may not post but please know you and Skinky are in my prayers.
    jeanne
     
    skinky44 and Critter Mom like this.
  32. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Sending prayers for you both. I hope that Skinky is enjoying her toys again today.

    ((((Laura and Skinky))))
    .
     
    skinky44 likes this.
  33. Nancy and Scotty

    Nancy and Scotty Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Laura, Just saw your reply, I am so glad and hope she is still doing better.
     
    Critter Mom and skinky44 like this.
  34. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Keeping you both very much in my thoughts and prayers.

    ((((Laura and Skinky))))
    .
     
    skinky44 likes this.
  35. skinky44

    skinky44 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Thank you!! :)
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  36. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I also, am keeping you both in my thoughts and prayers :bighug:
     
    skinky44 and Critter Mom like this.
  37. tibbs5

    tibbs5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Sending big giant hugs to you and Skinky.
    ((((((((Laura & Skinky))))))))
     
    skinky44 and Critter Mom like this.
  38. skinky44

    skinky44 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Thank you Tibbs5. :)
    Awaiting blood work from vet visit to see how she's fairing. She's very clogged up...
     
  39. Elizabeth and Bertie

    Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Holding you in my thoughts and in my heart, dear (((Laura and Skinky))),

    Eliz x
     
    skinky44 likes this.
  40. Karen & Rudy

    Karen & Rudy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    hugs! hoping things are improving
     
    skinky44 likes this.
  41. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Laura, I'm so sorry. The kidney levels are not bad but the high phosphorus would likely make her not feel too good. I think it is the cancer. I've lost two to that rotten disease and had to make the decision both times. Difficult as it is to do, often going on their own terms is not so great either. It becomes our last gift of love to set them free when we can no longer make them feel better. :bighug: I wish you strength.

    I need to add keep doing everything you can until you feel that nothing helps so you never have any second guessing yourself. I know that is what you are doing. If the convenia is helping that sounds like infection. Or did she get a shot of "Cerenia" for nausea?
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2015
  42. Nancy and Scotty

    Nancy and Scotty Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Just wanted you to know that I am thinking about you and Skinky.
     
    skinky44 likes this.
  43. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Laura. I'm glad you got your spreadsheet up and linked to your signature.
    When you got that 37 on March 1st, that meant she was getting too much insulin. I would have lowered the dose to 1.00 then. Lantus dosing is not based on the pre shot test but on how low it took her. Lantus likes consistancy and the depot takes time to build up and deplete. It can take 3 days or more for this to happen.

    I'm glad you skipped the shot this morning.

    Sending feeling better and clear out that mucus vines to Skinky.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  44. skinky44

    skinky44 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Hi all,
    I got skinky's blood work today, i requested it BEFORE vet called to discuss as i wanted to prepare my questions...

    if any of you are somewhat knowledgeable about blood work and could take a look at it and let me know anything in particular i should ask vet about, i'd like to be prepared as much as i can with my questions before she calls..
    it's linked to my signature, lab tab. but also am uploading files here...

    thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  45. rhiannon and shadow (GA)

    rhiannon and shadow (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    I'm not one of our bw gurus.... but the abnormal highs go with inflammation and cancer.


    still praying.....
     
  46. Meya14

    Meya14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    I'm still thinking there is infection present. The elevated WBC was the only blood abnormality last time and this time (with cancer, you'd see abnormal values in the other cbc areas - like platelets/rbc). The elevated calcium on these labs and phos on other labs could be from electrolytes in fluids (are you still giving?) or more likely, bone loss from what ever is going on.

    If they haven't done x-rays of her upper jaw yet, you should ask for these, then take them to a dental specialist or even find someone you can email copies too, to get an opinion. The fact that her kidneys and liver look good is promising. Kidneys usually have issues at end of life. The amalayse can indicate pancreatitis, but it's probably unrelated to the other stuff going on. This might be affecting her appetite. I think there are a lot of people here who can guide regarding pancreatitis, and managing the symptoms/food.
     
    skinky44 likes this.
  47. skinky44

    skinky44 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Hi Meya, definitely infection going on. if it was cancer, would that show up as infection as well? she has - for a while now - LOTS of mucus in that nostril where the "tumor" is. just keeps flowing out. when i ask doctors about it, they say it's the tumor perhaps causing malfunction. I've tried combos of different antibiotics. I had feared chronic kidney failure - what in her blood work indicates that her kidneys are ok?

    The issue with dental xrays has been, finding a place that does DENTAL xrays, as opposed to just using a regular xray machine, and anesthesia, which no one wants to do on her due to weakness. for so long I was just hoping to get her strong enough through syringe feeding so that someone would be willing to give her anesthesia for xrays, as opposed to ct scan, but it seems like it's a losing battle. the more i try to force feed her, the more stressed out - and consequently sick - she gets.

    and yes - she is still getting lactated ringers. previous ringers had added potasium but then her potassium looked high, so we eliminated that. this subq sack and the last were w/o potassium
     
  48. Meya14

    Meya14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    The indicators for kidneys on these labs (Urea nitrogen, creatinine, bun/creat ratio) are all normal. They really shouldn't have to put her under anesthesia to do x-rays. If she is really that uncooperative, perhaps you could ask if pre-dosing her with an anti-anxiety medication might make her groggy enough to get them done.

    Root infections can get REALLY huge, and are treatable, but the longer an infection is there, the more bone loss there is, and it's harder to fix. Antibiotics won't cut it, it's really got to get drained. The first step is figuring out if it's just the teeth, or something else. It's not fair to you both that you don't have answers.

    Also, if there is drainage, this is a good time to ask for a culture of that. It would help her feel better to get the correct antibiotic on board, and might help her get stronger if she has procedures. Many bacteria are resistant to antibiotics, so getting the right one is important.

    There is calcium and sodium in the lactated ringers (elevated in the labs). It's probably not helping the electrolytes, so you and your vet will need to keep an eye on those values. It's a balancing act with hydration.

    With bone cancer or hard tumors (sarcoma, carcinoma) you may see high calcium and phos, as well as elevated ALP. You likely see chronic elevations in potassium when the tumor is large. Also changes in platelet levels are common. With lymphomas blood counts are all over the place. You'd have significant anemia. Early cancers might not have a lot of changes to bloodwork.
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2015
    skinky44 likes this.
  49. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Skinky's spreadsheet is now up and running and she's getting some low numbers.

    Is there any chance some experienced members could have a look at Skinky's spreadsheet as well, please,
    and perhaps give some comments on Lantus dose?

    Laura, I hope you don't mind me making the above request. I think it would be helpful for you. :)

    Thinking of you both and keeping you in my prayers.

    ((((Laura and Skinky))))

    .
     
    skinky44 likes this.
  50. Larry and Kitties

    Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  51. skinky44

    skinky44 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
     
  52. skinky44

    skinky44 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    oh she is VERY cooperative. SUCH a sweet kitty. unless i'm feeding her and she doesn't want it. then she's a feling cujo. my vet has xray, but not dental xray, which goes in mouth. she had referred me out for that. I spoke w/ someone at north shore animal hospital weeks ago who said they would work w/ on dental but first i had to see one of their vets. I schlepped all the way up there, to this no kill animal clinic that had dental, and the vet basically would not approve to go forward to see vet dentist and said i should consider putting her to sleep. another dental place in NJ quoted about 4k for dental, cleaning xrays...would include cost of whole anesthetic team. i don't want to rehash it all, it's been time consuming and frustrating. maybe it's because i'm in manhattan. the consult for a manhattan dental vet at blue pearl is about 200, just for the consult.

    the "bubble" is in the middle of her nose bridge. she has a ton of mucus - even her lower gums get slimy. I will ask about a culture of the mucus...

    Her hind legs are very weak, the weakest they have ever been. she is very dehydrated. been giving her the methy B vitamin..course she really doesn't want to eat, so getting enough into her has been challenging...but the weak hind legs of course has appeared in conjunction w/ peeing everywhere. ...which is what led me to vet to request a urine analysis..
     
  53. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    How much fluids is she getting, Laura?
     
  54. skinky44

    skinky44 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    hi dyana, fluids seem to make her uncomfortable. but i'm advised to not give her more than 100? i try to give her two 50's, break it up. sometimes i give her a little more if she'll take it. she's not drinking water...
     
  55. Meya14

    Meya14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    I think if you could at least get the imaging done, then you can e-mail vets in your area with pictures of her, the xrays, labs, history, and see what they can offer. Then you won't have to go treking all over the place, and spending money for nothing.

    Here are some dental specialists in your area:
    http://www.vcaspecialtyvets.com/katonah-bedford/departments-doctors/departments/dentistry
    http://www.vmcli.com/veterinarians-dr-carmichael.html

    Might be worth calling and telling them the whole story and see what they think? Anything is probably going to be pretty pricy in your area, but you never know.

    Also, the hypercalcemia is going to make her pretty lethargic.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  56. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Nice high green last night. :D
    She very possibly could have gone into the green numbers the night before last too, and that's why she was 456 yesterday morning because of the bounce. Lantus likes consistancy. I would just try to keep the dose the same as long as she is eating and she doesn't go too low and you are testing regularly, and you have high carb food or syrup for just in case. High greens are fine, and healing to her pancreas. Just, as I've said over and over, be careful with the insulin. Bounces happen. That's why she got those black numbers after that 37. Please don't adjust the dose according to the high numbers that are just bounces. The dose should be kept as steady as possible, and adjusted according to how low it takes her.
    I hope others will chime in.
    Hugs.
     
    skinky44 and Critter Mom like this.
  57. skinky44

    skinky44 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014

    Thanks Dyana,
    gave her 1.25 last night, on minimal amount of food....she just would not eat. she might have gone very low at peak. this morning she tested 66...so no insulin...still waiting on vet, called and left message...

    I'd been keeping numbers on her for a while, just haven't entered on spread sheet, kept in a word doc. have gotten different input from vets, such as not to give insulin unless she's over 300, etc... but where she's not fairing well and i have diminished expectations for her, i've hoped that more regulation of her high numbers could help her fight off whatever infection she has and help with her appetite/pancreas...so i guess i'm using 200 as my threshold now...

    the first two rows of the spreadsheet take with caution...although she def. did have those high's and lows...it was a bad time as I was leaving for 2 or 3 days and didn't feel comfortable with vet tech giving insulin as she's not really regulated and he was only popping in an hour here, and an hour there. my shots for her are noon and midnight, so it was really three shots that she missed while i was gone...
     
  58. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Hi Laura,
    I'm sorry I can't help with the blood values, but I echo what Dyana says about the insulin dose: try to be consistent in dosing and don't jump around in dose.
    I hope that Skinky is finding some joy in her life and that she is not in terrible pain. I pray that you will know when she tells you that her time has come. It is one of the most difficult things, saying farewell to our companions, but it is an act of love to help them pass.

    Thinking of you and your girl,

    :bighug::bighug::bighug:

    Ella & Rusty
     
  59. Nancy and Scotty

    Nancy and Scotty Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Hoping you and Skinky are doing well today.
     
    skinky44 and Critter Mom like this.
  60. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Laura, please reduce Skinky's dose of insulin. That LO means she was below 20. That is so dangerous. Please do not give her 1.5 units again. You may even want to go back to 1.00 unit.
    I hope Skinky is doing fine. She will probably bounce way up from this LO. A bounce is natural. We base adjustments to the insulin dose on how low they go in a cycle. When she got that 37, that was an indication that her dose was too high. Just please please reduce her dose.
     
    Jill & Alex (GA) likes this.
  61. Amy&TrixieCat

    Amy&TrixieCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    I agree with Dyana - Skinky definitely needs less insulin. Remember that dosing is based on the nadir - the lowest point in the cycle. So regardless of what her preshot values are, Skinky needs less insulin! I hope she's eating better for you today...
     
  62. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Dyana's absolutely right. The risk to a cat from going too low is huge. You don't want to continue giving any dose that gets Skinky below 50.

    I see the 37 on 1.25u and then a dose increase, and then the LO today. I would decrease her dose to 1.0u immediately.

    To some extent, Laura, you want to ignore the higher numbers. It's FAR more dangerous to her to go too low than it is if she has some higher numbers. Focus on the low numbers for dosing in order to keep her safe.
     
    Marje and Gracie likes this.
  63. Kitty mom

    Kitty mom Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    I'm so upset as I write this and this my get me banned from the site but I can and will not hold my tounge any longer .
    I'm reading about now doing dental on this poor helpless cat. I read "she will let you know when she ready"....she's been ready for some time now but is being put through needless poking and prodding. She is in pain and has no quality of life , how can people support these treatments at this point?
    I'm not trying to be cruel but someone has to stand up for Skinky . I do know how horrible it is to loose my sweet kitty as I've been through it......she's suffering ! I'm sorry for upsetting you but you seem to be lost and can't see clearly .
    I love this board and people her have stood by me and were of great support for me and my kitties.
    I pray that Skinky finds peace and her suffering stops , I also pray for you to find strength to do the right thing.
    I know you've done your best and I applaud you for your commitment but you need to know when enough is enough.
    Take care❤️
     
  64. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Hi Laura,

    I know from personal experience how hard it is to look at the glucometer and see the high numbers. My heart used to sink when I saw them on Saoirse's meter. That said, I gritted my teeth and got through them and g-r-a-d-u-a-l-l-y they came down.

    I don't usually make any posts about dosing because, although I managed to treat Saoirse successfully, I don't think I've sufficient experience to make comments about other people's cats. I may have a view but I wait for other experienced members to review how a cat's doing. Now that experience people have reviewed Skinky's progress I feel more comfortable about making a comment. I agree with Dyana. I also think her suggestion about dropping down to 1.0 unit of Lantus is a sound one. It can be a bit tricky (and frustrating) seeing the high numbers after the low ones, but these tend to clear after a few cycles (when a cat's system calms down) and then the numbers get better again. Raising the dose to try to bring 'bounce numbers' down ain't the way to go, no matter how tempting the thought. We all want to help our little ones as fast as possible but their little bodies take time to adjust, and there's no way round that. (We do a roaring trade in patience pants here! :) ) All going well, keeping to the lower dose through the bounce will hopefully see Skinky's blood glucose settling in better, safe numbers.

    Keeping you both in my prayers.

    ((((Laura and Skinky))))
    .
     
  65. skinky44

    skinky44 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Robin-S -- Seriously - WHO DO YOU THINK YOU ARE to say this? ARE YOU WITH MY CAT? To see her when she plays? or cuddles? or walks in the hallway so curious to see my neighbors and listen to all that is going on? You don't know JACK about my cat. You might THINK you're being "helpful" but you're just being ignorant and cruel - and let me emphasize the IGNORANT part. Even dangerous. Comments like yours make me think twice about even coming to this forum for any suggestions. I"ve been posting less and less because of the sometimes well intentioned "please stop her suffering" comments from people who are not with her, but your comments here really take the cake. This should be a forum where I can come for advice about her diabetes and get helpful suggestions from people who have experience with cats who might have some of the same issues my cat is experiencing and I can get their input. IGNORANT, CRUEL and DISRESPECTFUL comments like yours will definitely make me think twice about posting her and asking for suggestions. You're really out of line in posting your cruel and dangerous comments.

    Let me repeat - YOU DON'T KNOW JACK about my cat and I wish you had just kept your petty, inappropriate and judgmental comments to yourself.
     
  66. Kitty mom

    Kitty mom Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Please don't stop utilizing this board on my account as its a great help and you need the support.
    I've said my peace and don't worry I won't comment or read this topic again as its too heartbreaking for me. My heart goes out to Skinky.
     
  67. Maggies Mom Debby

    Maggies Mom Debby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Laura, please don't stop posting and asking questions. We are all worried about both you and Skinky.

    Part of the problem IS that we DON'T see Skinky. So you are right, we don't know jack about your cat. All we know is your descriptions of her. But all we are hearing is the bad stuff, and we really need to hear about the good stuff too. I for one am thrilled to hear that Skinky is cuddly, playing and interested in life. Here at FDMB we always try to emphasize that our cats are not just tests and numbers. Those all are important, but their attitude and behavior matters too.

    So please keep posting and getting help, because we care about you both. But also let us know how good Skinky is doing. It will paint a better picture of the whole cat, not just her problems.
     
  68. Linda and Bear Man

    Linda and Bear Man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Laura, I hope that you keep posting. I don't think that it is advisable to try to talk someone into euthanizing their pet. It is so important that the caregiver be at peace with a decision like that. Like many people here, I have cared for my very sick kitties, even when others thought it was too much. I think that only the person who is with the cat every day is in a position to decide what is best for the pet. I know that many here have posted about knowing about when it is time to let go, but I think that they just want to show their support and empathy for what they know is a very difficult decision. I know that you make every decision for Skinky out of love. You have many supporters here. I hope you know that.
     
  69. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    I agree completely. It's a decision that can never be taken back. Only the caregiver has full visibility of how their cat is doing overall.
     
    skinky44 likes this.
  70. Nancy and Scotty

    Nancy and Scotty Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Laura as I have said before maybe I am over optimistic but I cannot help thinking that Skinkys problem is infection, either dental or sinus and even if she is an older cat if you could get the infection cleared up she might make it so I keep cheering for you guys, if you ever decide it is too much for her I would understand but until then I will keep feeling great every time she has a little victory so hang in there, I am an old lady who really does not get into social media and I have spent more time in my whole life replying to yours and Skinkys thread because I want to see her make it so badly so please keep letting all those of us who care so much know what is going on.
     
    skinky44 and Critter Mom like this.
  71. Nancy and Scotty

    Nancy and Scotty Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Laura just wanted you to know I am thinking about you and Skinky and wondering how things are going.
     
    Critter Mom and skinky44 like this.
  72. Peg and Toby

    Peg and Toby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Laura hope you and Skinky are doing well.
    Take Care, Peg and Toby
     
    Critter Mom and skinky44 like this.
  73. Tuxedo Mom

    Tuxedo Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Those of us who devote our waking time and life to our furkids know far more about how they are doing than anyone else. I have been through hell and back with my Tuxie over the last 4 months and he is still here with quality. Those of us who are SO close to our kids know the signs..good or bad...in the meantime we keep fighting with all we have to give quality and time to our kids. My prayer go with you and each day is a new chance of hope!
     
    Critter Mom and skinky44 like this.
  74. Squeaky and KT (GA)

    Squeaky and KT (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    @skinky44
    - HUGS, thoughts and prayers continue...
     
    Critter Mom and skinky44 like this.
  75. skinky44

    skinky44 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    thanks everyone. she's doing fine. :)
     
    Dyana, bsmith and Critter Mom like this.
  76. tibbs5

    tibbs5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Hi Laura
    So happy she is doing well. Her picture looks great. Is it a recent one? She looks awesome- so much better !!!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page