hi,
i am off for a while as siujim has been fluctuating a lot.
the vet suggested something 3 days a go:
feed (15-30mins) after the shot. as her +3 to +6 BG usually higher than the pre shot.
less meals, only 3 meals per day
siujim use do have 3 meals and 2 small ones, i think leaving no food for a diabetic cat at night time is not reasonable.
to play safe, i fed a bite of food before the shot, then fed after 20-25mins later.
and her BG goes up and she always asks for food. i guess after 7 months, she is NOT used to this kind of pattern.
here are the results:
15th july:
amps 239 (relatively good figure). pm pre shot urine 100-150mg (ok figure at pre shot).
at pm shot, THE FIRST TIME to feed after shot *but only 5 mins gap, just wanted to see how she reacted. perhaps it's only 5 mins gap, so it's more or less the same as before, so she was quite normal.
16th july:
amps (285) pmps (311)
meals at am --> 10mins later; pm--> 15mins later
17th july
meals at am -->20mins later; pm -->20min later
** (+3 and mid day lower than pre shot but the range is higher)
amps (365) +3 (347) +6 (256) +9 (282) pmps (351). pm +4 urine 50-100mg
leave less food at night time as suggested.
18th july (vomited in the morning)
meals at am -->20mins later; pm -->25min later
amps (316) pmps (333) +3 urine 150mg (no ketones)
leave less food at night time as suggested.
19th
meals at am 15mins later (she is super hungry)
amps (443) ** this is one of her history high...
=================================
she is on lantus for 7 months and since april, i hope to try a new one. but vets kept on not willing to do it...
she is on 4.5 unit with just 2.7kg.
and with BG still not regulated.
last month, when we first started supplements for her pancreatitis and she was better but just for 1-2 weeks. then later, fluctuate a lot.
pls note spreadsheet.
may i ask what is your opinion? change to another type? if yes, which type?
or what should i do further?
pls help, i am totally helpless.
my cat is trying alternatives lately (homeopathic remedies since last week) and still i hope to deal properly with the insulin treatment.
thxxx.
anson
i am off for a while as siujim has been fluctuating a lot.
the vet suggested something 3 days a go:
feed (15-30mins) after the shot. as her +3 to +6 BG usually higher than the pre shot.
less meals, only 3 meals per day
siujim use do have 3 meals and 2 small ones, i think leaving no food for a diabetic cat at night time is not reasonable.
to play safe, i fed a bite of food before the shot, then fed after 20-25mins later.
and her BG goes up and she always asks for food. i guess after 7 months, she is NOT used to this kind of pattern.
here are the results:
15th july:
amps 239 (relatively good figure). pm pre shot urine 100-150mg (ok figure at pre shot).
at pm shot, THE FIRST TIME to feed after shot *but only 5 mins gap, just wanted to see how she reacted. perhaps it's only 5 mins gap, so it's more or less the same as before, so she was quite normal.
16th july:
amps (285) pmps (311)
meals at am --> 10mins later; pm--> 15mins later
17th july
meals at am -->20mins later; pm -->20min later
** (+3 and mid day lower than pre shot but the range is higher)
amps (365) +3 (347) +6 (256) +9 (282) pmps (351). pm +4 urine 50-100mg
leave less food at night time as suggested.
18th july (vomited in the morning)
meals at am -->20mins later; pm -->25min later
amps (316) pmps (333) +3 urine 150mg (no ketones)
leave less food at night time as suggested.
19th
meals at am 15mins later (she is super hungry)
amps (443) ** this is one of her history high...
=================================
she is on lantus for 7 months and since april, i hope to try a new one. but vets kept on not willing to do it...
she is on 4.5 unit with just 2.7kg.
and with BG still not regulated.
last month, when we first started supplements for her pancreatitis and she was better but just for 1-2 weeks. then later, fluctuate a lot.
pls note spreadsheet.
may i ask what is your opinion? change to another type? if yes, which type?
or what should i do further?
pls help, i am totally helpless.
my cat is trying alternatives lately (homeopathic remedies since last week) and still i hope to deal properly with the insulin treatment.
thxxx.
anson