Sir Maximus | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

Sir Maximus

Hi Suzanne, I had to increase too 1 unit today. He has been running a little high last 48 hours. I also sent you a private message.
Thank you
Hi again, Shawn. I know I answered most of your other questions in the direct message, but about the dose increase, I would not have increased by .5 all at once. We usually recommend increasing by .25 units at a time (unless nadirs are over 300 or ketones are present, etc.) And remember, we don’t choose the dose based only on the preshot numbers, but need to know the nadir for each dose. I know you aren’t used to getting mid-cycle tests much anymore, but especially if you’re increasing his dose, you will need to get one or two mid-cycle tests around +6.
 
I just thought of something else we didn’t talk about. Has he been showing any signs of a urinary tract infection like squatting for long periods of time or passing only very small amounts of urine?

Also, what about bowel movements? He’s not constipated is he? Has he been going regularly?
 
I just thought of something else we didn’t talk about. Has he been showing any signs of a urinary tract infection like squatting for long periods of time or passing only very small amounts of urine?

Also, what about bowel movements? He’s not constipated is he? Has he been going regularly?
Yes bowel movements etc are normal
 
Back
Top