Simon PMPS 360 last night, AMPS 94, +13 @84

Yvonne & Simon

Member Since 2021
Previous post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...6-88-7-97-9-203-pmps-319.246359/#post-2779671

Brief synopsis: Diag with diabetes Mar 22 induced by Budesonide which was started for IBD (he'd only been on it 6 weeks). It was stopped then. Vomiting started within a week or so, so chlorambucil started. Didn't go well and he became profoundly anorexic.

Budesonide restarted approx 2 weeks ago, and of course with this BG began to rise. Were hoping part dose budesonide would hold him but nope. Still vomiting so dose of Budesonide inc back to full 1 mg dose May 7.

Because of steroid, BGs have increased, so I have gradually been titrating insulin up. Have tried to leave dose consistent for 1 week at a time to allow to stablize.

BGs still high all week so incr to 2.5 u lantus last night. This AM his BG is 94. I know he ate last night about 4 AM. Looks well, very perky and alert.

Now not sure what to do insulin wise. Don't want to skip as I know he'll go high. Just trying to figure out how much to give him. Leaning towards backing off but still giving him 2 units. Just don't want him to drop too much!

Spreadsheet updated.

Tested again at +13. Now down to 86. I think I may just skip especially since I have to leave later and can't test all day. Pretend it was a "fur shot".

Thanks!
 
Last edited:
Hi! If I interpreted your SS correctly, you stalled and he was even lower?
Given this a very unusual value perhaps make sense to reduce the dose, since there is no data to judge what would happen?
 
At some point, if things go well, "we shoot low to stay low". However, it is a learning curve, knowing how to manage low values, and different people feel more confortable than others :)
There is a very good chance he will bounce back up, but again given you haven't seen this situation before, is hard to be sure.
Sorry I cannot be more helpful!
 
The two tests are within meter variance. With SLGS a reduction has been earned. Some night tests are really needed. You only have half of the picture and many cats drop lower at night. You need to skip as he’s under 90.
 
Just retested again now. So would be +13.5 and he is at 79. Still dropping so will definitely skip morning shot.
Thankfully he's eaten 1/2 can FF seafood feast (yay!) - amazing for a guy that refuses all canned food! And about 15 temptations.
 
Back
Top