Simmie - first time in this group

Status
Not open for further replies.

LydetteSimmie (Iceman)

Member Since 2014
Hi Everyone!

I do understand the posting protocol for this forum but this is my first time here and I am having a bit of a problem with my ss (I did get some great advice from Squeaky but haven't had a moment to implement her suggestions yet) but I wanted to say howdy as I am trying to stay up for another hour or so to get another test in this evening.

I have tons of my own physical issues that make me either stay up all night long or want to sleep all night. It's a crap shoot! But we all have our own issues, no one is immune from life!

So, I wanted to say HI in case anyone was up and a little bored. I'll do Simmie's profile tomorrow and fix his ss, etc but for now I just felt a bit lonely while I am waiting for the next hour to pass. Hee. Maybe I should have posted in the Community forum...but I think I have heard that it's not all that busy.

Anyway good night All! Love ya, Lydette and Simme!
 
Hi Lydette! welcome to you and Simmie!

great job getting the spreadsheet going. that really helps us. i'm really curious - did the vet start Simmie at 4u, or how did that dose get chosen?

Take a peek at the yellow starred posts at the top of this page. There's lots of good information there. I always flag the Tight Regulation Protocol for those with newly diagnosed cats - look at that post, about 5 paragraphs down and there is a PDF called "Management of Diabetic Cats Using Long-Lasting Insulins." It's the most recent version of the Tight Regulation Protocol. In that most recent study, over 90% of cats who get tightly regulated soon after diagnosis, can have their pancreas heal, go off of insulin, and become diet-controlled. We never know which cats it will be, but that's the reason people dive into Tight Reg with gusto - it's a pretty great motivator.

Hopefully your sleepless nights will coincide with nights that Simmie needs your attention and your sleep-filled nights will be when he is high.

when you get a chance, it'd be helpful if you'd tell us a bit about him. Any special medical issues besides the diabetes?
 
Hi there and Welcome !

If you are suffering from insomnia, have a look at the starred posts located at the top of this message board.
Lot's of important information to help you and your kitty make the most of years of accumulated FD and Lantus knowledge.
 
What a wonderful group of folks you are!

Tomorrow I'll do all the stuff that this forum would like to see, profile, updated ss, and a condo.

Tonight I want to be asleep but I've decided to stay up with Simmie so I can get a good poke in before going to bed. I wish it were one of those nights where I could just drink some tea and crack some jokes but I di not see that as happening,

Simmie was diagnosed about a year ago but I only discovered this site last month when I did a search on Neuropathy in diabetic cats. What a wonderful discovery. You guys are incredible. I've learned so much already and Simmie has truly benefitted from all of you recommendations and ideas. I'm not even sure that you all know the good that you do.

I'm really getting very tired so I have to find my iceman Simmie - and get that last test of the day in! Wish me some poking luck!
:RAHCAT
Love Lydette and Simmie
 
Hi Lydette and Simmie

Welcome to Lantus Land. We have a lot of experienced members here ready and willing to help you. There is someone around most hours of the day. We west coasters are going to bed just a little before the east coasters are getting up so there's not a lot of time the board isn't covered by someone. It's the best place you never wanted to be :-D

You are doing well with Simmies dosing right now. Just ask questions. Flag one of us down if you have questions by clicking on the "?" Button above the test box (just go to your first post of the day, click edit, click the button, hit submit).
 
Oh gosh, Simmie just vomited - I was getting ready to go to bed as I had gotten a reading...which I thought was a little high based on his trending.

I think he vomited because I gave him a little Fancy Feast Pate as a special treat - I have him on Tiki Pau Pau as his every day food now and maybe the Fancy Feast was a little too rich? What do you think?

I'm kind of sleepy. Thanks if you are up and about and can comment on what I should do since he just puked.
 
Did he scarf and barf or had it been a while?

I'd try to feed him some of his regular food.....just a little to make sure he keeps it down.
 
Definitely a scarf and barf, Simmie LOVES food, any food, I probably gave him a little too much. I gave him about a 1/4 of small FF can of food.

Thanks for being there for us!
 
Well, we're well rested after 5 hours of sleep! :-D

Got my spreadsheet fixed (thanks Squeaky) and I'll do Simmie's profile in a little while. Thanks everyone for staying up with me last night and the warm greetings.

I LOVE Gracie's Tiara BTW!

:RAHCAT Lydette and Simmie
 
I'm sorry I fell asleep before you came back :roll: :oops: shame on me!

I'm glad it was just a scarf and barf and I hope Simmie kept the rest of his food down.

Thank you....Principessa Gracie loves her tiara and had a lovely LL birthday party yesterday. :-D

My best advice for you......sleep when you can! And as much as you can.
 
Hi Lydette! Happy to see you over here in Lantus Land!

Just for others, here's some of her earlier posts from Health
Post from 7/20 on Health
Post from 7/22 on Health

Sorry to hear Simmie was sick last night...if he's a big "scarf and barfer", you can try spreading his food thinly onto a plate instead of in a bowl...it will force him to slow down when he eats.

Looks like you're gradually moving his shot time earlier....hopefully that will make it easier for you to get at least a "before fed" test in on the PM cycle (on those nights you CAN sleep!)

It's really important to get at least that one test in at night because most cats go lower at night. Great to see you got one last night! :-D

Again, welcome to the Lantus Land family and we look forward to helping you and Simmie!!!
 
Hi All,

I have yet to complete Simmie's profile so I am just going to add to this post and hopefully some folks will see it. I had some technical problems with creating his profile hence the delay.

Simmie seemed to be doing fairly well, though still running too high, and I'm not planning to change his dose right now, not until I get more testing in, but I'm pretty worried. Could someone take a look at his spreadsheet and let me know your thoughts? My vet was adamant that I not change his dose before calling her and before I do another full curve but she did say she assumed he would have to go to 3 units from the 2.5 I have him on now. If you read my note about the last 'discussion' I had with the vet it was pretty rocky and Simmie still loves her so I don't want to tick her off but I think he needs another adjustment and shouldn't wait until next Thursday, when she wanted to talk again.

Thank you Sweethearts!
 
from the guidelines on the Tight Regulation Protocol page:

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.

if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

So looking at Simmie's spreadsheet, he's had one blue number (in the 100's) on this dose, and 4 shots at the same dose after. Applying the guidelines above, it would suggest that you hold the dose for 8-10 cycles after you first see nadirs under 200. I'd give this dose 4 more shots (so a total of 8 at this dose) and then increase by 0.25u if you're not seeing nadirs under 100 by then. i doubt you will be, so i'd just mark your calendar for Tuesday night to increase if nothing changes.

I would definitely encourage you to move to making smaller increases now, however. It seems like a 0.25u increase is both difficult to measure and not enough to make a difference, but it is. Making too large of increases can be counterproductive and might mean that you miss the "just right" dose. If it were me, regardless of what the vet said I'd make 0.25u increases now unless the numbers told me otherwise.

I'd encourage you to start a new thread (condo) tomorrow morning. Everyone has one condo per day - that keeps the length of the posts manageable and keeps everyone posting on the front page so no one gets missed.

As far as a profile goes, instead of doing a separate document, you could edit your signature line and put any important medical info there, any concurrent diseases (many diabetic cats have pancreatitis, hyperthyroid, etc.) so we can see at a glance what might be important with Simmie.

Looks like you're doing a super job of getting tests in, lydette. well done!
 
Welcome to LL. This is a great group with a lot of knowledge. Ask any questions you have, but make sure you click on the ? mark icon in the subject line of your first post so people can see you have a question.

Also, it is best to start a new condo each day so people will know you've added new information.

I'm glad it was just a scarf n barf and Simmie is okay.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top