Simmie amps 359, now +5 89

Status
Not open for further replies.

LydetteSimmie (Iceman)

Member Since 2014
Hi my family,

Simmie is either bouncing like a red rubber ball or I am doing something wrong. I know that I should have given his full 3u yesterday at his normal time but I was scared. But he seems to be doing really well though I am having hi highs and reasonable lows, until just now after our test. He is not as what I assume is his nadir yet so I will continue testing and watch for a hypo event.

Anyone want to comment or help. :sad: please.

Love to all

ps - when you look at his ss please remember that the lack of testing is because my vet won't test like we do. That period was from 8-14 through to 8-22. We have to take Simmie back to the vet tomorrow for another long weekend (Friday at 5 am until Tuesday am).
 
Hi Lydette - Simmie is looking great. :mrgreen: I'd feed him a tsp or two of his regular low carb food. That can often help them get surfing the greens longer. Those greens are what helps to heal the pancreas. I'd also test in an hour from now to see if he's still surfing away.
 
Hi Lydette,

Check out Clare's spreadsheet. It looks a bit strange because I was switching glucometers. But in general: It seemed to me early on that her nadir was at around +7, kinda late. But when she started having regular "green" sessions (followed by bounces, darn!) her nadir seemed to move up to about +4.5 or so.

Go Simmie!

Georgette
 
Hi All,

Simmie seems to have stayed at the 88bg right now. That's for 2 hours. He seems really happy and active. I am so upset that I have to bring him back to the vet tomorrow for a 5 day stay. If I reduce his insulin requirement because they do not test regularly and are not around 24/7 he loses the ground he has made up, which makes everyone, especially him, unhappy. If I keep him at his current insulin units it can be possible that he could go hypo while he is in their care. There is also the factor of stress though when boarding. Ok, keeping in mind that this is a marathon and not a sprint, I probably have my answer.

Once I get through this current situation I am leaning toward reducing is insulin reqs to 2 units (I don't have 1/2 unit markings and I am not sure I trust the tech staff with all of this) while we are away. This was one of the options from my post yesterday from kind members. What does anyone else think?

Love to you all
Lydette and Simmie
 
I guess I should let my own good judgement carry me forward. I'm going to test again but because we are going away soon it would be good to get some ideas from all.

I am not sure how I am supposed to label my posts. When I have a situation like this morning I do not believe it is an emergency, like a hypo event and I don't think it is a general critical issue or more global question. I just need some guidance. Do you guys think we need another key, similar to the ones we have for Q (questions), OTJ (for obviously off the juice), et al? I hate to think I might be using the resources of the site inappropriately but I am not sure how I get the attention of the experts and friends as I am trying to move forward in my FD education.

Have a good night all. I am going to test the iceman now.

Love you
L
 
Hi there :cool:

I have never left BK in anyones care or boarded him (he is FIV+ and has never been vaccinated). There are plenty of folks here who have experience and strategy to share.

What I will say is that it's best to err on the side of caution for Simmies safety and your peace of mind. I agree that keeping the dose at a whole number may be best.

Regarding the daily 'condo' header conventions here in LL -
mm/dd - Kitty Name - AMPS 65 is how to start off. If you have a question use the question mark post icon. Folks who are willing to help look for that.
If there is something urgent but not life threatening you can always add "Eyes Please" or 'Input needed' to your header. :cool:
 
Thanks so much. I am just a bit overwhelmed right bow.

Everything is ok but I am really concerned about the next week - it was quite kind of you to respond.

I just posted his current numbers - I wish things went were better today.

THANK YOU!

Hugs
L
 
If you can't get the syringes with half unit markings, then you're going to want to go with the 2 units at the vet

It's hard enough on us to get the exact same dose even with the markings, although I think we get better the longer we do it, but at the vets office, different people could be drawing the dose and giving the shot, so they never get to the point of being consistent with it

It's much better for Simmie to run a little too high for a few days than it is for him to run too low even a few minutes while nobody is around to watch him
 
When I travel, I use a pet sitter. Basically she's here twice a day. Gabby doesn't permit anyone except me to test her. As a result, I lower her dose. Frankly, she makes up whatever ground she's lost within a few cycles. I'd much rather have her in higher numbers than be worried side that she was taking nose dives. If you look at Gabby's SS, you'll see what I mean.

I think lowering the dose to 2.0u is a reasonable safety measure.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top